We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Stunning luxury hotel off the Bosphorus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Ranked #77 of 1,111 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stunning luxury hotel off the Bosphorus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stunning hotel with breathtaking views of the river from our room. Great service, concierge extremely helpful in tracking down our lost luggage, suggesting and booking an amazing dinner cruise on the Bosphorus and helping us with car service to the old city. Rooms -very nice and they fulfilled our request for Bosphorous facing. Pool - decent size and good bar service. Traffic could be a bit bad to the old city so do account for this . I have stayed before at the four season Istanbul but do prefer Ciragan.

Will stay there again !!

Room Tip: Request Bosphorous facing and if occupancy is low, they could fulfill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller1439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    254
    64
    29
    27
See reviews for
326
560
55
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Had a great experience.
Great service.
Best location.
Great places to chill close to the bhosphorus.
2 sections of the hotel. 1 is the old palace with 12 rooms. 2nd is the new wing.
Many great restaurants.
My wife and kid had a great time !
Negotiate well :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Siddkulish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
290 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were choosing between this and the Four Seasons in the old town. We picked this because of the water view and weren't disappointed; the views are spectacular. This doesn't have the character of the Four Seasons (it's a bit generic), but the location can't be beat. Service was excellent, our rooms were spacious and well appointed. We didn't dine at the hotel other than breakfast, but that was excellent. Traffic is terrible in Istanbul,. so it can be a long drive from the hotel to the old city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davemh333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opio, France
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I live in the S.France and as a senior executive for a multinational have travelled to many fine hotels. In my view this is the best as it offers 5***** luxury, service and amenities on one side and then you have the Bosphorous ! The hotel boasts a spectacular view in front of the hotel where you see boats of all types passing day and night. Besides the setting and location you also have the historic element as this new hotel full of high tech modern comforts actually adjoins what was a palace and the old building part boasts a glass staircase in the Lalique style that takes you to a classy restaurant with Russian caviar etc at reasonable prices.

The modern part of the hotel has a coffee shop near the pool for a snack, and there is authentic Turkish cuisine at the bar area ...the place has everything and is truly charming

Room Tip: They have rooms at different prices ..I have stayed here in a cheap standard single and have also ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed last month for two days. Great arrival procedure with a personalised service. Changed rooms on seeing the Garden view room we were giving and swapped to a Bosphorus view which was far better. Great service and feeling of grandness about the place but food and drink were very high priced and based on the view rather than the food itself. I'd go again. Definitely one of the best in the city and I can't imagine Kempinski will allow the place to decline. But it does need freshening up in places. The staff were fantastic and made the stay very welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cromagnumal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortemark, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We only have short holidays, so we always go for the best. Well, believe me, this was one of the best hotel experiences we had untill now : great location, service, friendly and helpfull staff, excellent restaurants, etc. Better than other Kempinskis, altough this one isn't so new anymore. They also have a good hotel taxi-service with decent drivers and correct prices, otherwise we maybe woudn't have seen Istanbul at all, because we would have stayed at the hotel. (Most of the city cab drivers are real joy-riders!) The rooms are rather classic, but with all the modern luxury and very comfortable boxspring beds. Of course such a kind of service has its price! We stayed at the hotel itself. Next to it is a beautiful Ottoman palace, where the suites are for the rich and famous, as you can see on the hotels wall of Fame. The nice garden and infinity-pool are situated along the Bosporus: nice cool breeze and fantastic view.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stefaan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with this hotel in 2012, and I was expecting same zeal, and wariness this time. But I was terribly wrong, it was a complete waste of money - no warmness in staff, terrible rooms and the only best thing left is the view (Bosphorus) and the Bosphorus Grill restaurant. I do not suggest this property for stay till it undergoes complete renovation.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gurvender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay.
We deeply regret that we were not able to meet your expectations and are thankful for receiving your feedback, as this is the only way we can truly assess our guests’ needs, and continuously improve the luxury service we aim to provide. Please rest assured that we have taken note of your comments, which we regard as very serious, and would like to discuss them with you in detail at your convenience if you could, when you have the time, kindly contact our Hotel Manager, Mr. Leon Baum directly at (leon.baum@kempinski.com) referring to this review in the email title.
Thank you once again for your constructive feedback.
We wish you a nice day,
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#59 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#52 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#105 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 1,561 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#134 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 2,162 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Property: Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Address: Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#29 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#43 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#50 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cıragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul offers the ultimate in luxury and glamour of a genuine Ottoman Palace with its 313 rooms including 22 suites in the hotel and 11 suites in the historical Palace. This 5-star luxury Imperial Palace hotel is located on the shores of the magnificent Bosphorus overlooking the ancient city of Istanbul, provides a one-of-a-kind experience with its historical ambiance and excellent Kempinski service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ciragan Palace Kempinski
Kempinski Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing