We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Service--Insane Prices!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Ranked #56 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Terrible Service--Insane Prices!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

We stayed at the Kempinksi-Ciragan in late May of 2008. Luckily, our hotel room itself was paid for by a business client for an event they were hosting.

The building itself is nothing special: very concrete and drab. The location of our room was good with a nice view of the pool and then the Bosphorus beyond. Check-in was fine and cordial.

The console phone system in the room--which also controls the lights--kept going off and on all day and all night so it would light up in the middle of the night, sometimes waking me up with light and the clicking sound it made. The TV only worked a percentage of the time, usually corresponding with when the phone was acting up. And literally, someone was moving furniture in the room above us at 3:30am the 2nd night we were there for nearly an hour! I don't know if it's a conference room they were preparing or what, but it was terrible trying to sleep with all the lights and noise.

The prices were ridiculous. By the pool, a coke cost about $16 USD. A sandwich (very average tasting, and I'm not picky usually) was about $35. We ate at one of the restaurants one night and for those similar prices (about 5 times what you would normally pay for anything), the food was OK, but not special. I'm not against paying for luxury when the experience corresponds, but in this case, there was absolutely nothing to justify the prices.

Last, the service in general was terrible. Anytime you needed something from the desk, they seemed bothered, or promised it and it never materialized without follow up. The last day, I stopped at the desk to ask for someone to come get the luggage. Then I went to the room to wait. 20 minutes later, I called because no one showed up while I was sitting doing nothing, so I called down. They apologized and said they would send someone immediately. 10 minutes later, another person called ME and said it was past checkout time and when was I planning to check out! Still no one had come to collect the luggage!

In my opinion, for these prices, the customer should be treated like royalty. Again, I am not hugely picky and really never stay in 5-star hotels, so my expectations were that we would have a quality experience for that level of hotel. It did not materialize, and I would NEVER pay to stay there. I have had equally pleasant and much cheaper stays at far lesser hotels. After 2 days, our cost for food and amenities alone was $1000 USD and we had little to show for it but a nice few hours by the pool--which we could have done elsewhere.

Last, the hotel is nice on the Bosphorus as it is, but it is not conveniently located in Istanbul and a 15-40 minute dizzying taxi ride in traffic is required to get to most areas of town where you would want to visit.

  • Liked — the pool and view
  • Disliked — the prices and the poor service
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank b-squared555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,382
    261
    66
    29
    28
See reviews for
352
591
59
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

Really enjoyed our weekend in cold Istanbul at the amazing Kempinski! Not cheap but well worth spending a bit more....this is a bit of an uninteresting review but we really couldn't find flaw with this hotel, clean, chique, friendly, great service etc everything was high class. Would be nice if it was a bit cheaper, then we would stay there every month!

We'll return very shortly!

  • Liked — checking in
  • Disliked — leaving......
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locarnelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2008

Please DO NOT waste your money staying here. It was such a dissapointment. One would imagine the hotel is actually in a palace but its not - its connected t the palace. The palace grounds are beautiful but the inside was rather boring and theres nothing going on there - its really dead!!

The hotel itself - is very average for a 5 star hotel that boasts of such beauty and splendor. The rooms are really small and not luxurious at all. The bathrooms are dated - they really need to put some money into their rooms considering the amount they charge.
We spent 2 nights here and then moved to the Hyatt which was spectacular.

Honestly - its nice being by the Bosphosrus but I would think if you just came and ate a meal here - its enough. Try out otehr hotels liek the Swissotel or the Hyatt which, in my opinion, as far as rooms and service, beat the Ciragan hollow

Also the Concierge at the Ciragan is positively dislikable. So snooty and really unhelpful. We asked for him to recommend a really nice, local restaurant - he sent us to a really high end, snooty place with terrible food and service. The concierge at the Hyatt was fantastic!

  • Liked — the grounds
  • Disliked — the rooms suck!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank RestaurantFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2007

A beautiful, elegant and peaceful hotle! I was only there for a weekend on a work trip but the hotle is sheer elegance!

Situated right on the Bosphorus seperating Asia and Europe, you can sit by the pool and watch the ships and boats sale by at the waters edge!

The turkish baths are a must!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank katiewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2007

I stayed at the Ciragan Palace for three days to attend a business meeting at the hotel.

Overall the hotel is very traditional, and my room had a very large terrace overlooking a courtyard with a pool and an amazing view of the Bosphorous. The room was impeccably clean and well decorated. There was comfortable seating, lots of storage and a very comfortable bed, as well as a very large full bath.

The turndown service was truly amazing - right down to the mat and slippers placed at the bedside, and complementary sweets were left in the room every day.

The room was relatively pricey, and extras like minibar items were unusually expensive. I probably wouldn't have spent quite so much if it was on my own dime, but the room and the service were really great.

  • Liked — Attentive service, great views
  • Disliked — Expensive minibar and hotel bar
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RoamingSeattleite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2007

I stayed at the Ciragan for a work related meeting. I enjoyed the stay and would recommend it. The service was exceptional - there were people standing in the lobby all day, just ready to help.
At the meeting room, the staff were very attentive and no request was too much trouble for them. Every thing was exactly as we had booked it, and the food was plentiful and very tasty.
I had a room with no view, which was a pity - would be worth paying more for the view. But it was a very nice and functional room. Slight problem was that the electricity kept cutting out the evening we were there, but then a generator would kick in and turn on some lights.
Free wi-fi was a nice touch too.
The location is slightly out of the centre of town, so not perfect for sight-seeing in the old town. However, a 15 - 30 min taxi ride gets you to the old town.
Is also the far side of the old town, so with bad traffic can be a pain to get there from the airport (took our group 30 - 90 mins depending on arrival times)
Overall a very beautiful setting and very high standards of service - I would recommend it

  • Liked — Great location on the Bosphoros
  • Disliked — Electricity cutting out
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank dublin18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2007

The palace part of the hotel is stunning as is the poolside. The rooms were of a good size and were generally decent. The service was good but not amazing. Beware of the price of the food around the hotel and from room service. I would definetly go back.

  • Liked — Poolside
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Meheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#70 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#57 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#68 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#79 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Property: Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Address: Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#29 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#40 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#43 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cıragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul offers the ultimate in luxury and glamour of a genuine Ottoman Palace with its 313 rooms including 22 suites in the hotel and 11 suites in the historical Palace. This 5-star luxury Imperial Palace hotel is located on the shores of the magnificent Bosphorus overlooking the ancient city of Istanbul, provides a one-of-a-kind experience with its historical ambiance and excellent Kempinski service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ciragan Palace Kempinski
Kempinski Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing