We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasant enough once you get there.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Ranked #76 of 1,111 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough once you get there.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Hotel is located in the Besiktas area of Istanbul, quite far from tourist attractions like the Blue Mosque or the Hagia Sophia. Depending on when you arrive at the airport the trip to the hotel can take you longer than 90 minutes through some of the densest and undisciplined traffic I have ever seen. With that in mind, no trip to any tourist attraction is without considerable time spent in a traffic jam.

If that is not an issue, the hotel is fabulously located on the shores of the Bosphorus. A 19th-Century Turkish Palace adjoins the property and is where large events and conferences are held. A beautiful infinity pool allows you to observe large ocean-going vessels gliding past you as you swim. A well-kept park/garden invites guests for a peaceful stroll.

The hotel has several restaurants. I recommend the Laledan restaurant because of its lavish breakfast or sunday brunch. There is a well-regarded turkish restaurant in the adjoining Palace, which I enjoyed. The bar is stylish and the cocktails are fine. There is an area outside where guests can sit and enjoy a drink and/or a smoke. The service at these facilities is mediocre, you really need an effort to get their attention.

All of the modern, well-appointed and fairly recently renovated rooms are in the main hotel building, not in the Palace itself. They mostly face away from the road and thus are quiet. The rooms are divided into Bosphorus-side, Palace-side and Park-side and are priced accordingly.

This is a premium Hotel and, as such, has premium prices. It may be a while before management notices that charging 12 Euros for a Bottle of Evian is going to drive away more customers than it attracts. On the other hand, fortunately, the Hotel does not charge for WLAN.

If you feel that you need peace, quiet and distance after the hustle and bustle of a turkish bazar/mosque/palace/traffic-jam, this is the place for you. If being in the middle of it is your thing, there are better hotels for that.

Room Tip: For a fabulous view, try to get a Boshorus-facing room. The Park-facing rooms offer a bit of a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAKFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review regarding your recent stay with us.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our vast green gardens as well as our restaurants and bars.
We have also taken note of your constructive feedback. Please be assured that your comments have been passed on to the related departments for improvement.
We hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    254
    64
    29
    27
See reviews for
326
560
55
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is undoubtedly a beautiful place to stay. It has a balanced combination of history, modern amenities, class, location and interesting people. But, you will pay for it. That being said, I thought most everything was nicely done.
We had one bad experience: We thought we had gotten a good deal on our room through booking.com, but they made an illegal reservation by putting 3 people in a room that only allowed 2. After contacting both the website and hotel we had to change rooms for a higher price. Fortunately the hotel upgraded us upon arrival to make this major bruise to our budget less painful.
Service was good, Spa was excellent, but we paid dearly for treatments. The food and room service was also very good, but again very marked-up compared to other places in Istanbul.
In summation, this is a great place to stay, and you will reliably get a great room, good service, and all the amenities in a beautiful location. The one thing you are not likely to find is a bargain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LVLVtoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor following your stay with us last year in September.
I am glad to hear that we managed to solve the inconvenience you had regarding the room assignment to your satisfaction and that we were able to meet your expectations in terms of our services.
We hope we will have the pleasure of being be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Hospitality is an art that the Ciragan Palace has perfected. Upon entering you are warmly greeted and welcomed into the family. Everyone is there to please you in order to make your stay special. The lobby is grand, and well appointed. The rooms overlooking the Bosphorus and bridge to Asia will give even the most hardened traveler , the feeling of the culture that has become Turkey. Beds and linens are what's to be expected in a five star hotel. We cancelled on of our dinner reservations outside the hotel, to stay and experience the hotels kitchen. We all agreed that this was a very wise decision, as the selection of Turkish dishes, exceeded our expectations, for hotel fare. I would recommend the Tempus from URLA, as a reasonable and excellent choice with dinner. If you choose you can enjoy a late night cognac and cigar in the cigar lounge. Most memorable if I must repeat myself is the staff, who make sure that your stay is next to perfect.

Room Tip: Choose one facing the Bridge to enjoy the nights and lights of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itsallabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
I truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a review with great comments.
We have shared your comments with the rest of the team as well and you really made our day!
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The views are breathtaking from the hotel rooms, the outdoor pool and the restaurants! Watching the ships go by on the Bosphorus was a once-in-a-lifetime experience. This is a very high-end hotel, with a high-end price, but very much worth the cost. The staff was highly attentive; staff members went out of their way to ensure that we had the restaurant reservations that we wanted, and the food at the restaurants was absolutely divine! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us back in 2012, and thank for your thoughtful feedback on behalf of my colleagues, whom you mentioned in your review.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Best hotel in Istanbul. It has a fantastic location and view over the Bosphorus and the first bridge.
It starts with a very warm velcome from the doorman, and then it just contiues with rest of the staff. So friendly, so helpful and understanding. The breakfast is very god with fresh fruits, fresh bread and of course smoked salmon and other fishes. waffles and omelets comes on order. We never had dinner at the hotel but I can recomend the afternoon te with Turkish pastries. I have to mention the heated outdoor infinity pool.It is just a must.

Room Tip: All rooms have seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.
I was very happy to read your review and glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us earlier this month.
We thank you for your comments, and look forward to welcoming you back on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Fantastic hotel and the views from the rooms on the Bosphorus side are breathtaking.
Very clean, very comfortable rooms and all the staff are very pleasant and helpful. If you go out of the hotel and turn right, it's a 10-15 min walk to Ortakoy with shops, restaurants and even a Starbucks for those that must have their home comforts. Left out of the hotel and a 10-15 min walk brings you to the ferry terminal from where you can catch boats to the old town - much better than being stuck in a cab.
Excellent hotel, beautiful location and good food.
We had freak snow during our stay but when we return when the weather is warmer, this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Rooms not on the Bosphorus side look onto a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katkin1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that our services could exceed your expectations during your last stay with us back in January.
We thank you for your thoughtful comments, and hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel should be considered the best in Istambul. It is located in European part of the city directly on the shore of Bosphorous. The hotel consists of old part (palace of sultans of 19th century Ottoman Empire) which is rather expensive and the new part.

The hotel provides breathtaking views over Bosphorous at any time of the day which could be enjoyed from the rooms, the restaurants and bars located at the embarkement. Rooms are good and sometimes spacious, service is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmitry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us earlier this month. We are glad to hear that our services could exceed your expectations and you enjoyed our prime location promising unbeatable views of the Bosphorus.
We hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#60 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#49 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#106 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 1,560 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#135 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 2,161 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Property: Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Address: Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#29 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#43 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#50 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cıragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul offers the ultimate in luxury and glamour of a genuine Ottoman Palace with its 313 rooms including 22 suites in the hotel and 11 suites in the historical Palace. This 5-star luxury Imperial Palace hotel is located on the shores of the magnificent Bosphorus overlooking the ancient city of Istanbul, provides a one-of-a-kind experience with its historical ambiance and excellent Kempinski service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ciragan Palace Kempinski
Kempinski Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing