We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes it's worth it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Ranked #56 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yes it's worth it.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

You know it should be good by it's price. Is it worth it? Yes, definitely. If you can afford it, stay here. The position on the Bosphorous is breathtaking. It's sublime to watch the boats drift past from your balcony. Definitely you should have a room with a sea view. Staff very attentive with light hearted excellence. One of the 3 best breakfasts I've every had. (comparable with Grand Bretagne, Athens & Jameriah Beach, Dubai). Note free Wii-Fi. Swimming pool outdoor but heated even in February to 33 *C. Can't wait to visit in the summer when we can lie by the pool.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finediiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay with us back in last month.
I was very happy to read your review and glad that we were able to meet your expectations.
We do look forward to welcoming you and your family back for a relaxing summer holiday.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,391
    262
    66
    29
    29
See reviews for
356
594
59
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
218 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I just returned to the US (Boston) after staying 5 nights at the Ciragan Palace in Istanbul. I stay at 5 star hotels around the world, and this property met or exceeded my best experiences. The staff is very well trainined and helpful. The location is superb, of course -- looking out on the Bosphorus. The food (especially the notably large and varied breakfast) is wonderful. I spent a marvelous evening in the cigar bar with a friend. I did not sample the spa. The location (others have complained) is fine. The traffic is bad throughout Istanbul; that is not the fault of the hotel! You must plan around it. The location of the hotel is wonderful, and the outdoor pool is stunning. I am bringing my wife and child back here the week of June 16 and can't wait to have them experience the Ciragan Palace!

Room Tip: Maximize your view of the Bosphorus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bostonian80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that our services and facilities could exceed your expectations during your business trip to Istanbul back in last month.
Personalized service is of great importance to Kempinski, and we continuously strive for the best and invest into training to ensure every guest feels special.
We do look forward to welcoming you and your family in June and providing you with the finest personalized service at its best.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was the most wonderful experience we had in Istanbul. It was magnificent. Inside of the palace and outside, made for postcard pictures.

Helpful?
5 Thank thechameleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotel itself is relatively old, you will feel tear and wear everywhere. However it is still not that bad. In general the hotel has its 5 star. The location with the direct view to Bosphorus is perfect, so you can feel the breath of the sea (mixed with the diesel exhaust of the ships at sea and cars at the backstreet). Nevertheless it is a pleasure to sit at the balcony with a glass of wine looking at the large ships coming from one see to another one trough Bosphorus. The bad side of this location is that you will stay far-far away from the city center. And due to the crazy traffic jams all around it will take an hour to reach the center by taxi.

At the Hotel’s internet site you will find a photo of “Sultans palace” with a very interesting architecture – but please do not think that the hotel is built in the same manner. It is a modern building made from concrete and glass. Nothing historical inside and outside.
The room was small and disappointing. The price was relatively high – and as I understand – we were charged so high for the Bosphorus view. The room itself doesn’t cost so much indeed.
The restaurant for the breakfast is good – what is a rule for Kempinski. The breakfast was rich and tasty. A lot of European and Turkish dishes, omelet and even champagne (for those who like it at the morning). The best way is to sit outside at the terrace. When the weather is sunny (we were there in November) it makes you feel outstanding.

The outside pool is extremely nice! This is the THING I will always recommend especially for travelers who come from the Northern countries. WOW! It is so cool to swim in the night looking at the Bosphorus (with its hot night traffic).

The worst thing in the hotel is the SPA. It is very small, bad organized. Turkish hammam treatment was totally disappointing (and…..for THAT money!). Two tired women while making the procedures were speaking about something personal in Turkish, laughing – and it was really far away from feeling comfort and relax. One of them than asked my wife – whether her lips were real or silicon ones :)) It was crazy. Due to a lot of guests (and as I said – SPA is small) – they have not enough time and wish to clean it enough – so the water is everywhere and it becomes dirty.

The concierge service was good at the first day. They’ve provided us with a lot of information and were friendly to reserve 2 excursions for us. Excursions were well organized and they totally justified their price. But the next day we’ve asked concierge to recommend us a restaurant somewhere outside the hotel. The concierge enforced us to book a restaurant (finally it was totally empty) – and we were directed to the low level fish restaurant with crazy prices. I don’t want to say ……. but finally it was recognized as a trick – so the only thing you think about in this situation – is that the concierge has a commission from this restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RussianConnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review regarding your last stay with us back in November 2012.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and the infinity pool yet we deeply regret that you had an unpleasant experience during Turkish bath therapy and the restaurant recommended by our Concierge did not meet your expectations. We have taken note of your constructive feedback. Please be assured that your comments have been passed on to the related departments. Moreover, our Hotel Manager Mr. Leon Baum would like to get in touch with you regarding the inconvenience you experienced and appreciate if you may kindly contact him directly at leon.baum@kempinski.com, referring to this review in the email title.
I do appreciate if you may kindly give us another chance with a further visit in the future and let us provide you with the finest personalized service at its best.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Off the chart luxury on the Palace side with suites overlooking the Bosphorus. Butlers attending to all needs and the old Sultan's rooms above us hosted Oprah among many others. Said to be the most expensive suite in Europe. Great Hamman on site. Not cheap even in our rooms...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor following your last stay with us back in March 2012.
I am glad to hear that we were able to meet your expectations and you enjoyed staying at a real palace and services of our dedicated butler team.
We thank you for your comments, and hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Luxury at it maximum. Wonderful view of the Bosphorus and the city. You can live a sultan's life if you can spare around 15Kusd per night.

Helpful?
5 Thank buciIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a delicious hotel. Good service, good food, interesting shops, wonderful room – a real palace.
We stayed this time in the part of the palace – gorgeous!
It’s considered the best hotel of Istanbul and I agree.
It's the 4th time we come back and enjoy.

Room Tip: a suite in the old palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meizmeiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
I was very happy to read your review and glad to hear that we were able to meet your expectations during your 4th stay with us as well.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#72 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#62 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#67 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#85 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Property: Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Address: Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#29 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#40 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#43 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cıragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul offers the ultimate in luxury and glamour of a genuine Ottoman Palace with its 313 rooms including 22 suites in the hotel and 11 suites in the historical Palace. This 5-star luxury Imperial Palace hotel is located on the shores of the magnificent Bosphorus overlooking the ancient city of Istanbul, provides a one-of-a-kind experience with its historical ambiance and excellent Kempinski service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ciragan Palace Kempinski
Kempinski Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing