We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Ranked #49 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

There are a number of very deluxe hotels in Istanbul, but the Ciragan Palace is heads above the rest. A former sultan's palace, to this day it exudes an atmosphere of Turkish luxury at its best. Situated directly on the Bosphorus, the view from many of the rooms is amongst the best in Istanbul--a CITY of many magnificient views. The room decor and amenities, the service, the dining experiences were all as good as it gets. I was most recently there on a business trip and had the enormous pleasure of enjoying a candle lit cocktail party in the former sultan's marble baths in the old building followed by an elegant dinner in an adjacent private dining room with ceiling to floor windows that opened onto the Bospherous. In my relatively frequest visits to Istanbul, I've stayed in the other 5 star Istanbul hotels. They are very nice--but this one is over the top!

Room Tip: For a once in a lifetime experience--go for it--book a Bosphorous View room. It will provide you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your last business trip back in last year and thank you for your thoughtful feedback.
We all look forward to welcoming you again soon on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,871)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

886 - 892 of 1,871 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we stepped in to its lobby, we were treated like royalty. First, we were escorted to the gazebo terrace for welcome drink overlooking the bosphorus, then to our room when our luggages were already there for us. All check in formalities are done in the room, no waiting, no standing in the front desk. During the whole stay we were greeted by our name throughout the hotel, which was a nice gesture in a huge hotel that accommodates so many guests.

You'll find many corners in the hotel that are worth stopping by: le fumoir, the gate near the palace, along the bosphorus etc. It's also host for 4 great restaurants. Ask the concierge to make you a reservation for any restaurants in the city and you'll get great experience. One restaurant located in little island in bosphorus, even picked us up by private speed boat on the hotel dock. 

All in all, unforgettable experience. Just a tip, get a room with bosphorus view, a bit more expensive than its standard garden room but more than worth the extra $.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CinnamonInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank for your thoughtful feedback. Personalized service is of great importance to Kempinski, and we continuously strive for the best and invest into training to ensure every guest feels special.
We do look forwarding you welcoming you back here in Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The public spaces are remarkable and beautifully restored, though the rooms tend to be a bit small. Don't miss a swim in the infinity pool that makes you feel as if you are swimming in the Bosphorus. Not as conveniently located as many other hotels, it is a modest taxi ride to the trendy Nisantasi neighborhood for upscale shopping, dining and clubbing, though further from the more traditional tourist sites.

1  Thank SuperLobbyist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My family with 3 children (13, 11 and 7) stayed at the Palace this summer. We were given two adjoining rooms with a beautiful view of the Bosphorus. Plenty of space for all of us. The hotel's serene atmosphere in a busy city provides a perfect location to relax at the end of the day. The children could enjoy the pools (both indoor and out) after a long day of sightseeing. My husband and I could enjoy a glass of wine on the patio while the children splashed around. Also, the breakfast is not to be missed - outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myturtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.
It was a true pleasure for us to read your thoughtful feedback and I am also glad to hear that your children enjoyed the pools.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

On our 25th Wedding Anniversary, we decided to take a short break, and we chose The Kempinski on the Bosphorus.
Fantastic from all aspects. Everything is luxury, from the moment you arrive, you are greeted by personal, directed to a lounge, where registration is handled while you are sipping a cup of coffee or cool drink. Then you are guided to your room by the same person, who shows you all the facilities available.
Food and beverages are all excellent, delicious, with a great variety.
The views from all restaurants, the swimming pool, the coffee area, etc... are all breathtaking.
We went to a nightclub on the Bosphorus, by boat taxi.

Room Tip: Choose a room with Bosphorus View, worth it just to walk up with this fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_Saad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
It was a true pleasure for us to host you for your very special occasion and I am glad to hear that we could contribute to making it a memorable experience.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Ciragan Palace

The Ciragan Palace is really the best place to stay in Istanbul. The location, right on the Bospherous, is amazing as are the facilities and staff. We’ve stayed here several times before and we were not disappointed. This time we opted to stay in one of the Palace Suites which was a fabulous choice. We arrived after midnight from a long day of travel from Los Angeles. We were met at the entrance by the night butler who quickly arranged for our luggage and brought us to our suite. Our two ten year olds who were “starving” were able to order hamburgers, fries and a milkshake at 1:30 am due to the amazing effort by our butler and room service staff.

Things only got better in the morning. The palace staff is absolutely the best; accommodating, helpful, resourceful and accomplished. No inquiry was too small and they all seemed to enjoy helping us enjoy both the best the Ciragan had to offer as well as some of the best attractions and food in Istanbul. From finding us taxis to take us to dinner or driving us in a golf cart to breakfast, the staff couldn’t have been more attentive. Special thanks to Mevlut Under, Palace Suites Chief Butler, who, with his colleagues, did an amazing job juggling us while insuring that the President of Turkey’s dinner function went off without a hitch.

We had breakfast each day at Ciragan which had a seemingly limitless buffet, which was terrific. We had lunch once at the pool which was simple and easy. We also had lunch at the Gazebo Lounge restaurant which was inside overlooking the pool which was also fresh and tasty. We had dinner one night at the outdoor buffet with tables overlooking the Bospherous. The food was great but it did get a bit smoky and the waiter staff was not really as attentive or knowledgeable as the other two venues.

Palace staff also arranged for two days of a private guide as we wanted to have our twins see the Grand Bazzar, the Spice Market, Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, The “Medusa Cistern”, the “Midnight express/ old Four Seasons”; all in two days!
They introduced us to one of the best guides in the WORLD, Zerrin Sapmaz! Zerrin has guided tours throughout Turkey but for the past 8-9 years has focused only on Istanbul. She literally knows everything about everything. She knows everyone. She knows where to find anything from handmade leather jackets (wife and older daughter) to silver dagger (one twin/male) to handmade Turkish prayer rug (one twin- female). She knows which restaurants to go to; which to avoid. But best of all, she listens to the clients and delivers just what you want; just tell her. Sometimes, you only want an overview of the history and not a lesson; she can do that. Other times, you want detail and I mean real detail and she can do that. Seriously, if you have only a day or 2 to spend in Istanbul (or for that matter if you have a week) Zerrin is the only way to go. Her rates are competitive with much less knowledgeable, even boring guides and her attitude is only CAN DO; not can’t or won’t…..

At the end of the day, if you’re going to Istanbul, the Ciragan Palace is the only place to stay and Zerrin Sapmaz is the only guide to use.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moraga827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us back in last month. We are glad to hear that our services could exceed your expectations and proud that you find us as the best place to stay in Istanbul.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Just an incredible hotel. From the lovely ladies at reception who greet you personally and take you to your room to the glorious views of the Bosphorus, this is a top notch hotel all around. You will pay dearly for it but it's one of those splurge worthy places you will always remember. It caters to a privileged clientele, so you'll encounter your share of snobs but the staff does not act in kind. They treat everyone the same which isn't easy to do when there are so many people there who think they rule the world and demand things left and right.

We were a little disappointed that the rooms are not in the palace but as they are the rooms are tastefully furnished and have just incredible views of the Bosphorus. The main restaurant in the palace is fabulous and not that outrageously priced given the rate on rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasserscampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that our services and facilities could exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us last month.
Personalized service is of great importance to Kempinski, and we continuously strive for the best and invest into training to ensure every guest feels special.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,163 in Istanbul
558 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#55 of 1,163 in Istanbul
794 reviews
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#64 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,301 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#54 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Address: Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#19 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#28 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#35 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#42 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $256 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cıragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul offers the ultimate in luxury and glamour of a genuine Ottoman Palace with its 313 rooms including 22 suites in the hotel and 11 suites in the historical Palace. This 5-star luxury Imperial Palace hotel is located on the shores of the magnificent Bosphorus overlooking the ancient city of Istanbul, provides a one-of-a-kind experience with its historical ambiance and excellent Kempinski service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ciragan Palace Kempinski
Kempinski Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing