We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, service, facilities, food & spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Ranked #55 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, service, facilities, food & spa”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have stayed in lots of Leading Hotels of the World but this is one of the best. The location on the Bospherous means that there are loads of boats & tankers travelling past but we didn't find this a problem. The staff are welcoming and extremely helpful - excellent service. We had a room overlooking the Bospherous - pay the extra to get a room with a balcony. Breakfast is expensive at 30Euros for continental and nearly 50Euros for the buffet. Get a deal where the continental breakfast is included in your room rate - you don't have to have the standard continental breakfast we were able to substitute on several days with scrambled eggs, omelette etc. The food in the restaurants is largely organic and largely locally sourced - for the quality of food, service & overall atmosphere in the restaurants, I think eating in the hotel was good value. The pool is wonderfully warm and not over 1.5m deep - overlooking the Bospherous, it is an extremely relaxing place to be! The spa area is wonderful - there is a well equipped gym, separate male & female steams & saunas, indoor (small) pool & jacuzzi which are very useful on rainy days. The lovely spa staff inundate you with towels, robes, slippers, pool shoes and the changing rooms have everything you need. The treatments are, predictably not cheap but we had an hammam and it was a fantastic experience - I felt so relaxed afterwards. The only issue that we had was with the travelling into the centre of Istanbul. It is best to take a taxi to the local tram - Kabatas (it would take 30 - 40 minutes to walk there) and then take the tram into the centre. Often the traffic is grid-locked - we found that before 9:30 and between 17:30 and 19:00 were the worst times for travelling along the road outside the hotel. This hotel is one that we would definitely go back to!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the Bospherous with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that our services and facilities could exceed your expectations during your last stay with us.
I am also glad that you enjoyed our Spa facilities and dining in our restaurants as we are proud that we've been going green and to be an 80% organic hotel in the kitchen.
We thank you for your comments, and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,401
    264
    67
    30
    29
See reviews for
357
600
59
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
215 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The setting for this hotel, right on the Bospherous, is spectacular. Whether you are having a drink on the patio or swimming in the outdoor pool, watching the boat traffic is mesmerizing. It is worth paying a premium to have a Bospherous view room (which is also much quieter than the street facing rooms). An expensive hotel, it is worth it as a once in a life-time experience. It is a short walk to the Ortokoy neighborhood, and Old Istanbul where the Aya Sophia and Blue Mosque are located is aobut 30 minutes by taxi (the taffic in Istanbul can be pretty bad). There is a large park across the street.

As woudl be expected, the serivce is excellent.

The health club is good and the pool is long enough to wim laps.

Room Tip: Spend extra for the Bospherous view rooms. The view is spectacular, and the rooms are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gearhead85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We were happy to read your review and thank for your thoughtful feedback on behalf of all of my colleagues, who contributed to making your stay with us a memorable one.
We thank you for your comments, and hope to welcome you again soon
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
181 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Great location - helpful pleasant staff, great room snacks, and wifi. The rooms were perfect for a business traveller - and the pool and setting gorgeous. a little pricey though.

Room Tip: face the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathrynSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that our services and facilities could exceed your expectations during your last business trip to Istanbul earlier this month.
We look forward to welcoming you back on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Can't fault the service, in fact at times hotel seemed overstaffed, was impressed with free wifi in rooms, so often the more expensive hotels overcharge for this now essential service. Given cost of rooms was surprised at charge of 49€ for breakfast. Would defn advise you look for a b & b package rather than room only. The only drawback to this hotel is its location if you are wanting to sightsee, as from hotel to the attractions such as blue mosque, grand bazaar etc it can take a good hour in a taxi as traffic is horrendous. Also at busy times of day it is nearly impossible to get a taxi back from the centre to the hotel. Taxi drivers refuse to take the long drive out to hotel as unlikely they will get a return trip. If they could move hotel nearer centre it would deserve 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inglanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us earlier this month. We are glad to hear that our services could meet your expectations.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This hotel will take your breath away. Breakfasts are fabulous. All staff is there to please!! Rooms are lovely. After a day of touring with guide Tolga Oner from Travelium Agency,(who is professional, courteous, and knows just where to take you in this beautiful city) you will be delighted to relax by the beautiful pool overlooking the sea!

Room Tip: Ask for a Bosphorus view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your last stay with us back in last month, and thank for your thoughtful feedback on behalf of my colleague, whom you mentioned in your review.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2012

very nice hotel,our rooms was specious with a great view,service was very good and also the restaurant that we had breakfast was located near the pool and was really nice,we hope one we will go back

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_J195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
It was a true pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us back in last year, and we are glad that we could contribute to making your trip to our sublime city a memorable experience
We thank you for your comments, and hope to welcome you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmondsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Lovely hotel, fantastic view and location ... but too busy.
Had to ask for a menu ...twice ... staff busy rushing in and out trying to cope with the orders outside on the terrace, no eye contact - in fact seem to be avoiding it! Very polite when taking orders but still annoying! Hasn't changed since the last time! In fact asked for the bill when we ordered as I knew it would take some time before we could get someone to take any notice of us!
Food was ok. Somehow missing that special something .. pity.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AA747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
We have taken note of your constructive feedback and will discuss it with the related departments.
I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments as this is the only way we can have insights to our guests' expectations, and continuously improve our services.
We again thank you for your feedback, and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#73 of 1,141 in Istanbul
721 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#68 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#71 of 1,141 in Istanbul
359 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#84 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Property: Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Address: Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#29 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#38 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#43 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cıragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul offers the ultimate in luxury and glamour of a genuine Ottoman Palace with its 313 rooms including 22 suites in the hotel and 11 suites in the historical Palace. This 5-star luxury Imperial Palace hotel is located on the shores of the magnificent Bosphorus overlooking the ancient city of Istanbul, provides a one-of-a-kind experience with its historical ambiance and excellent Kempinski service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ciragan Palace Kempinski
Kempinski Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing