We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Midtown Hotel(Istanbul)
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$262
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
WOW Airport Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$67
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Yasmak Sultan Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$137
$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Diva's Hotel(Istanbul)
$44
$37
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Neorion Hotel(Istanbul)
$123
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
$691
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,939)
Filter reviews
1,939 results
Traveler rating
1,520
282
72
33
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,520
282
72
33
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstugra restaurantinfinity poolpark viewbosphorus viewottoman empirebeautiful hotelbreakfast buffet isturkeyasian sideturkish delightold cityluxuryconciergeortakoybosphorosdoormanships
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,107 - 1,112 of 1,939 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Never ask for the rooms that are facing the street ( garden view) because they are extremly noisy They DONT HAVE DOUBLLE glass windows so you will have the sensation that the Ambulance who is passing by is inside your room. Impossible to sleep. We had to ask the hotel to change us to a room facing the bosphoros. Strange a hotel 5 stars like Kempinski not having thought about the guests peace and tranquility. They should considere changing all the windows facing the street.

Room Tip: number 125 ! very spacious
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matilde_Novaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2011

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback.
We deeply regret that you had an unpleasant experience during your stay last month.
Your comments are highly appreciated and noted as this is an invaluable opportunity for us to assess our guests’ needs, and to improve our product and services.
We thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback and hope to welcome you again soon.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

The Ciragan Palace is on the Bosphorus, some distance by taxi from the main tourist areas. It has a beautiful setting but it feels like a large, impersonal hotel. Our room was nice although a bit dated with a very old TV and décor that needed updating but it overlooked the old palace with a deck and a partial view of the Bosphorus. It is lovely to sit at the restaurant and have a drink and watch the ship traffic. Note that food and drink at the Ciragan is very expensive (probably because there are no other options in walking distance). If I chose to stay on the Bosphorus in the future, however, I would probably stay at the Four Seasons instead as it is a smaller hotel and I think that the service would be better. The Ciragan felt a bit like a convention hotel (there was a convention going on while we were there) and the staff was nice but not top-notch. The breakfast buffet is outstanding and not to be missed although it is quite expensive so be sure that you have a room rate that includes breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DiscerningTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Greetings from the magical city of Istanbul!
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience in our restaurant.
We also appreciate receiving constructive feedback, even if it is of a critical nature,
as this is the only way we can truly assess our guests’ needs, and continuously improve the luxury service we aim to provide.
We thank you for your comments, and hope to welcome you again soon.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I must start by saying that for the first time travelers to Istanbul, staying by the Bosphorus is not the best idea. I recommend staying in Sultanahmet area where you can walk to most important/historic attractions.
We neither liked or disliked this hotel. It has old world grandeur but I thought it was a bit too much of it in a fake-way. On the other hand, the grounds and promenade right on the Boshphorus and next to the Ciragan Palace (which houses one of the hotel's restaurants) is amazing. The service is fine. The concierge staff are polite but not terribly helpful. We were upgraded to Jr. Suite with river views which was nice. The baths are updated and comfortable. We also dined at Tugra, hotel's award winning restaurant housed in the Ciragan Palace wing. The food was good but not memorable, although the atmosphere was. I also enjoyed a relaxing message at the Spa during our stay.
This hotel is next door to Four Seasons Boshphorus. There is a pretty park across the hotel and the ferry stop is 15 min. away by walking. However, for visit other tourist attractions, one must use cabs or perhaps the Metro.
Bottom line, Ciragan Palace Kempinski is a good luxury hotel choice for staying a night or maximum of 2 in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Do dish out more money for water views if you can.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LiveAmused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Greetings from the sublime city of Istanbul!
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience in Tugra Restaurant and your massage theraphy in our Spa.
We have taken note of your constructive feedback as this is the only way we can truly assess ourselves improve the luxury service we aim to provide.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was a hotel which my wife had wanted to visit for some time and we were not disappointed.

The food is expensive there, so we took advantage of the great variation at breakfast and really filled ourselves up, making this a main meal of the day, before snacking on local food, like fried dish off the boats and kebabs.

The hotel service was first-class and we recommend getting a Bosphorus-view room.
Istanbul traffic can be awful, so we used a judicious combination of walking, trams and passenger ferries to get around, with the emphasis upon walking.

When we return, I expect that my wife will insist upon going to the same hotel, even though it is out of the town centre.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CeriLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We enjoyed this as a couple. Our first time away from the kids in a long time and we weren't disappointed. We loved the atmosphere, the pool and the views were incredible.
Outstanding service and accomodations. Only negative was the distance from the Olde City but well worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NoelCapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews