We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living on past glories.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Ranked #117 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Living on past glories.”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Spent 4 nights here at the beginning of November and I would say it was just about OK. Certainly it would have been great 40 years ago, but in 2012 it is time for renovation! Check-in was smooth, in general the staff were very efficient and friendly. The room was a superior room with great views of the Bosphoros, but really nothing special when you consider it was over £200 per night (but I do understand that Istanbul is V E R Y expensive these days). The terrace bar was excellent and the best thing about the Hilton. Very disapointed regarding the availabilty of food during the day. Yes, there was a big conference going on but that is no excuse for not being able to find you a seat at one of their 3 restaurants. The Libyan on the 9th floor was fully booked and so was the Chinese and the 'general' restaurant on the ground floor. In the end we had to walk to find something business like the otherside of the convention centre. Not good enough really.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigTaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experiences at Hilton Istanbul.

We appreciate your valuable comments. I am very sorry to learn of the inconvenience regarding not being able to enjoy one of our restaurants due to the high volume of demand by congress participants. I would like to inform you that we continuously carry out improvement plans and maintenance works to ensure the comfort of our guests, but would appreciate your suggestions.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon offering you our improved service, quality and Turkish hospitality.

Best regards,

Rainer Gieringer
Hotel Manager
Hilton Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,350
    809
    251
    77
    38
See reviews for
482
636
176
933
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at Hilton Istanbul in June 2012 for four nights right after our stay at the fabulous Four Seasons Bosphorus. This was due to change of our plans and making the decision to stay in Istanbul rather than going to Sarigerme for the rest of our short holiday and Hilton was a deliberate choice given its rather expansive grounds and views and convenient location.
However, from the moment of arrival onwards we had issues with the staff. It is an old hotel with long time serving staff that are no doubt experienced and strongly opionated about what they have to do and and what they can get away with. However our initial issues were dealt promptly by the reservations manager who overheard us talking in a beaten way around the lobby about cancelling the hotel and trying our luck with Swiss or Hyatt. I can not thank him enough for making our stay a real pleasure rather than a stressfull experience by simply making us welcome and helping with the little problems we had from the point we stepped out of the car (valets taking the car directly to the garage without unloading and then giving some attitude about it then similar attitude from the reception staff after a long wait and all of this despite being served at the hhonours counter as a gold member with a lot of stay in his belt- it was a busy day with political figures around and we felt we were not really welcome which happens in these types of hotels). Normally if I was not with my family it would have been easier to deal with but when you have two little children relocating from a hotel to the other in a hot Istanbul summer day, the minimum you expect would be some cooperation from the staff of a five star hotel, not being told as if you are at a summer camp for children.
Anyway, take aways are that at this hotel similar attitude from the long serving staff is widespread so do not expect an always smiling approach with a can do attitude and try learning how things work and deal with issues your self by being smart about them. Otherwise you need to be lucky to get accross someone who would step out of their way to help you every time you come across a problem and it is a big hotel.
Otherwise we were happy with the comfort and view of the rooms, pool area was not bad (kids pool was closed for two days for repairs although someone actually did some repair only second half of the second day and when ordered fish and chips they served salmon which is a very oily fish to cover with crumbs and fry so do not recommend for children) and the restaurants are worth a try if you prerefer the convenience and avoiding the traffic. (we loved the terrace restaurant with live music)

Room Tip: Definitely bosphorus view rooms with balcony and order rooms service tot he balcony to enjoy a memor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank altanmeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experiences at our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your valuable comments. I am very sorry to learn of the inconveniences caused by the attitudes of our team members. Actually we have a Journey Ambassador who works at the Lobby area to get in contact with our guests to meet their needs and expectations, however I assume that she could not get in contact with you because of the unexpected busy hours due to the high level of demand by congress participants. All the attitude issues that do not reflect our usual high service standards have been addressed one by one thanks to your valuable feedback; and please rest assured that all necessary precautions have been taken in order to prevent similar problems from reoccurring. I would like to inform you that there was a mechanical work under the kids pool area and that is why you could not see the works one and a half day. I offer our sincere apologies for the inconvenience regarding the quality of food that you ordered at the pool. Your valuable comments have already been shared with our Executive Chef and necessary actions have been taken accordingly.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon offering you our improved service, quality and Turkish hospitality.

Best regards,

Rainer Gieringer
Hotel Manager
Hilton Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed there for a conference and was definitely expecting more from a Hilton in Istanbul. Understand that this was the first Hilton built outside US and by watching at the pictures in the lobby of all celebrities from the 60 to 80's this was THE place to stay in those days. There were plus and cons in the hotel. I had to take 2 elevators (tiny) to get to my room and it was not the best. Tried the restaurants in the hotel and was completely disspaointed. The best the terrace bar with wonderful views of the Bosphorus. To get from here to the old historic part of the city can be a nightmare due to traffic. So if your intention is to tour Istanbul, look for other locations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorgeGLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback.

We appreciate your valuable comments and we sincerely hope to welcome you back soon offering you our high service, quality and Turkish hospitality.

Best regards,

Rainer Gieringer
Hotel Manager
Hilton Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hubby and I just got back from our Europe trip. Istanbul was the first stop. This hotel is very nice and has wonderful water views. We are diamond members so were upgraded to a high floor water view room. Be sure to ask for rooms on the left side of the hotel facing the water because otherwise there is going to be a big Ritz Carlton building in your view. The gym is really nice...one of the biggest I have seen at a Hilton without being owned by an outside company. There is a separate elevator for the executive floors...have never seen that in European Hiltons before either. The Exec lounge is spacious and serves food, drinks, and liquor all day long. Can take drinks out of the lounge also which is nice. There are 4 computer desks in the lounge and are comfortable. This Hilton location is much better better than the other one and seems nicer. Have to take taxis almost everywhere but are convenient. Can walk to Taksim Square in about 10 minutes if want to take the underground somewhere. Can have breakfast in the the Exec Lounge or downstairs in the restaurant but the Exec Lounge was good enough with hot/cold selections. Restaurant recommendations are Sunset Grille and 360 Istanbul. Sunset is kind of far but the view and food are worth it. If want some good locations for lunch/dinner closer to the hotel, go to Hardal or Beymen Brasserie in Nisantasi. Nisantasi is the nicer part of Istanbul and is cute and chic. Enjoy!!!!

Room Tip: Get a water view room on a high floor on the left side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeaceInTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind and detailed feedback.

It is a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Rainer Gieringer
Hotel Manager
Hilton Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is an old property and it shows.I was supposed to be on the executive floor(9th) I prepaid for the executive level, they gave me a 3rd floor suite that was huge but old and I used the lounge.The lounge is not bad, they seem to be careful how much food is placed and the choices were just ok.The hotel is in a good location walking distance to Takseem square and Isteklal street (which is why I picked this property) but the rooms must be renovated especially the bathrooms.I really disliked their bathroom products(and the bathroom!! done in the 50s ) the towels feel old and overused .The bar on the first floor( renovated) is quite nice.I will not stay here again better to stay in Ciragan palace and use a car .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhonaalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback.

I am very sorry for the inconveniences that you have experienced and that do not reflect our usual high service standards. Please be informed that we continuously carry out improvement plans and maintenance works to ensure the comfort of our guests, and appreciate your valuable comments.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Rainer Gieringer
Hotel Manager
Hilton Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

i really enjoyed staying at this hote and Everything about this hotel was superb

Great location away from the crowds and I just stayed here for one week and really had a good experience. It looks hidden away, tucked near to the taksim square district but its quite hotel
the food is delicious and vary every day
I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mssameeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback.

It is a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Rainer Gieringer
Hotel Manager
Hilton Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I can say just one thing ,that I REALLY enjoyed in Istanbul and Hilton Hotel.
But I recommend you to avoid having your meals in A-plus restaurant which is located near the hotel. They charged us 325 TL just for 1 main course and 1 starter.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahnaz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Many thanks for your kind feedback.

We are happy to learn of your satisfaction with our hotel and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Rainer Gieringer
Hotel Manager
Hilton Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#78 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,158 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bomonti Hotel & Conference Center
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#74 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#72 of 1,149 in Istanbul
406 reviews
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#101 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,744 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#65 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus

Property: Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Address: Cumhuriyet Cad. no 50, Istanbul 34367, Turkey (Formerly Hilton Istanbul)
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli , Harbiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#88 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#97 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#105 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus 5*
Number of rooms: 499
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Hilton International Istanbul
Istanbul Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing