We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New, modern luxury”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Divan Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Divan Istanbul
Ranked #129 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“New, modern luxury”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This new property is located steps from Taksim square — the Times Square or Piccadilly Circus of Istanbul. The rooms are large and the bath rooms are bigger than some hotel rooms I've been in. The beds were extremely comfortable. The rooms were furnished with a somewhat more traditional look than I would have expected from the lobby and exterior, but it didn't detract from the stay. The hotel attracts a wide range of guests including an middle eastern royal family, business travelers (and their "guests") and tourists alike. The level of service is excellent and the rooms clean and well maintained.

However there were some issues which definitely distracted from the experience. First I was surprised that I could hear noise from a bar 2 floors down. While not loud it was distracting while trying to go to sleep. Also I could hear my neighbor in the bathroom in the morning. I could almost make out the conversation. This was surprising since the walls are all covered in stone. The design of the shower was nice with a waterfall shower head but the water would seep out around the door flooding part of the bathroom. Stuff like that shouldn't be an issue at a hotel at this level.

Room Tip: Get a high floor facing front if you want to minimize noise from neighboring venues
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    136
    33
    6
    6
See reviews for
80
97
35
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Organized a conference at this hotel and stayed three nights during March 2012. The hotel overall was great, with a few very minor issues.

The room quality was incredible and the bathrooms included anything you could have needed. The rooms even had powered shades to cover the windows to black-out the room for sleeping.

This being my first visit to Turkey, I was a bit alarmed to see that every vehicle was searched for bombs upon arriving at the hotel, but I guess that's better than being blown up. I didn't see this treatment at other hotels in town though, so wondering why the Divan had this extra security measure.

The biggest complaint was the internet access. It was an extra cost (which we bundled into our room rates for this conference), but you had to stop by the front desk to get a password to access. The passwords didn't always work, and you had issues if you needed wireless on a computer as well as on your phone/ipad.

Room Tip: A few people in our group requested rooms on higher floors and ended up in extraordinary suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on business and extended to pleasure. Beautiful rooms. Not free Internet, but apart from that, on a great location near Taxim square and 20 min from the old quarter. Thank you to Firat Odabas, our impeccably concierge. He is a great credit to the hotel. Deluxe rooms from 5th floor up. We were on the 6th. Wonderful stay. We will be back. Note traffic in Istanbul is bad. This hotel is 1.5 hrs from the airport.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I visited this hotel with the people I work for which included 3 children. I booked the hotel through the Preferred website which offers deals and managed to get an excellent deal on a delux twin and jnr suite, this suited us because the suite offered an additional room and two bathrooms that the eldest could use as her own "mini-room". The hotel has undergone a complete makeover and the interiors were great, very comfortable beds, large bathrooms (excellent lighting), large rooms and wonderful storage for two people. I especially loved the large screen tv which allowed us to watch tv in bed after a long day in the hot sun and walking around. The gym and spa was greatly appreciated and the indoor pool was a wonderful advantage which the children used nearly everyday. My only problem with this hotel was its location at Tahir Square which is a more local area and involved us having to use taxis to get over to the other side to see the main tourist sites. But this was my only issue and with the plethora of taxis around Istanbul we never had to wait to get one. The staff were attentive and offered great help in booking restaurants, offering tips and offering a smile at all times. I would definitely stay here again because it offers an oasis in a bustling city like Istanbul especially during the hot summer months.

Room Tip: The higher floors offer better views because they are above the tree line and will not have the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saminmilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

A bit far from historical center, but if your travelling by car it's ok. abou 5-6 km from Taksim and 11-12 km from Sultanahmet. Hotel stuff is very friendly. Great parking service - very friendly and helpful! I found this hotel by chance, it was quite hard to find a hotel for 2 adults and 2 children for 5 nights and we did found it here. Very good price for 2 bedroom suite. The hotel is new. Has noise protective window screens, what is really needed here!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Temisa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

My family has spent almost a week this July at the Divan. It was a remarkable experience, as the hotel's staff is very friendly, knew us by our family name, and provided high-quality personalized services at all times, especially the concierge, the restaurant's employees, and the doormen. The hotel has been recently renovated, the rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated, the spa facilities are fantastic. As we had alreay made reservations for restaurants in the city, we did not get a chance to know the restaurant of the hotel, but the menu was tempting and the service at breakfast and at the happy hour was very friendly and efficient. We would certainly go back to the Divan in a next travel to Istanbul, being it for leisure or for business. Besides, it offers great cost for value, as it provides five-star stay while charging four-star hotel rates. The Almeida family

Room Tip: Our rooms had spectacular views to the Bosphorus, mosques, etc., from the distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Situated directly across from the Hyatt and only a five minute walk from Taxim Square, Istanbul's transportation and commercial (shopping) hub, the Divan Hotel is ideally situated at the gateway to the "new" city. This hotel is the flag ship of the Divan Hotel Company, a well established leader in Turkey's growing hotel industry. The hotel truly lives up to its reputation of being one of the outstanding quality hotels in the city. After being closed for remodeling last year, the hotel has once again emerged as a solid 5 star property. From the moment one arrives, the professionally trained staff will go out of their way to make you feel at home. Yet, unlike the formal climate found at some other 5 star hotels, the employes here appeared to be relaxed and down to earth, while at the same time extremely professional in their actions. Not to be missed is the wonderful breakfast buffet, or the patisserie, offering the most beautiful cakes and pastries I have ever seen. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, whether on business or pleasure, who desires a friendly, yet luxurious hotel with an ideal location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#71 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#98 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#94 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Divan City Istanbul
Divan City Istanbul
#378 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Beyoglu
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
#135 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Beyoglu
Point Hotel Taksim
Point Hotel Taksim
#169 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divan Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divan Istanbul

Property: Divan Istanbul
Address: Asker Ocagi Caddesi No:1 | Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Divan Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divan Istanbul has 41 Standard Rooms, 108 Deluxe Rooms, 40 Premiere Rooms and 2 Presidential Suites, totally 191 guest rooms, each with a sense of spacious elegance, tasteful and modern Turkish-style furnishings, comfort, quality service and a cozy, contemporary atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Divan Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing