We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect renovation. Perfect location. Perfect Service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Divan Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Divan Istanbul
Ranked #129 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Perfect renovation. Perfect location. Perfect Service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

I am still staying at this hotel, but had to post right away to share my enthusiasm for this gem of a hotel.

I had stayed at the Divan several years ago, prior to the renovation and have watched them building over the past three years. It has been worth the wait. Everything about this hotel is fantastic! From the initial impression upon entering the lobby to the beautfiul rooms, the spectacular spa area and of course the classis Divan Patisserie. I have stayed in all of the hotels that I can view from my room (Hyatt, InterContinental, and The Marmara) and this is hands down my most favorite.

The rooms are a ncie blend of beiges and browns. The marble bathrooms are spacious, featuring Molton Brown products with a separate shower and bath. There is an in-room safe to accommodate laptop (with charging station) and a nice selection in the minibar. Little details are well thought out with electronically controlled shades, tv speakers in the bathroom and 3 telephones in the room.

The spa/fitness area is one of the finest I have seen - real resort quality with candle lit hallways, high ceilinged corridors, relaxation rooms, steam room, sauna, a hammam,a Pilates studio and a wonderful pool.

All of the staff is courteous to a fault and aim to please. I asked for a room change and they were quick to oblige. If you are seeking a nice place to rest after a long day of sightseeing, a romantic getaway or even a staycation, I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The front rooms face the exciting city with views of mosques in the background. The rooms in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meanchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    136
    33
    6
    6
See reviews for
80
97
35
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in this hotel. Staff is extremely helpful and correct. Breakfast buffet amazing. Rooms are big and clean with a beautiful very big bathroom. Bed on the soft side. Rental of meeting rooms easy and professional. Swimming pool big for a hotel and the Turkish Bath highly recommended!
Location perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back are quieter. Colleagues with room towards the road complained about the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianneBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times and the decor and service are very good and the staff are professional, friendly and courteous. However, despite getting a non smoking room there is no difference as the smell of smoke is everywhere. The real problem is the 24/7 traffic noise from the road outside the hotel. Always ask for a room at the rear of the hotel. One final point, it takes about an hour to get to and from the I net rational Airport and costs about 60 Turkish Lire and make sure your insurance is up to date and wear a seat belt!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matkincc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

i decided to try them after staying at the Bursa property. The hotel is brand new as it has just undergone a complete renovation. Location is GREAT as it is close to the heart of town Istiklal/Taksim and also walking distance to the trendy Nisantasi area. I was offered a great rate and an upgrade to a deluxe room since it was low season so i thought that was very nice. The rooms are superb and very tastefully furnished and comfortable large bed. Big bathroom with rain shower and Molton Brown toiletries. (somehow very similar to a Four Seasons room) ..i also tried room service for dinner and the food was great and not too pricey. The staff were very nice and polite and all very good looking..so it seems they were very well picked. The only problem i had was NO hot water in the shower two days in a row which they failed to fix despite me complaining twice. Overall i was very happy with everything, however i will not be returning since i think the days of big hotels with lobbies full of people are over for me, i will stick to my all time favorite Park Hyatt whenever in Istanbul since nothing beats it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahmadsameh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izmir,turkey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Divan was one of the legendary hotels of Istanbul before the tourist rush of 1980s.
It was certainly a wonderful experience staying there after the recent renovation last week .
The new Dıvan opened its doors again in sept.2012.
We stayed in one of their ''Premier King ''rooms which actually deserves to be called a suit.
It is been done up to perfection.
Excellent bathroom,very confortable beds,all the luxury amanities and facilities one would expect from a 5 star hotel such as flat screen TVs(but no in - room movies service ????),etc...
The rooms use too much of brown for my taste,I would have expected some color to cheer up the rooms.The room service was quick and efficient
Overall the staff from front dest to doormen were simply excellent,probably the best staff and also the nicest in any Istanbul hotel we have ever stayed in.
Wireless internet was charged 15 Euros per day.I would have expected the wireless service to be free in the suit level rooms.That was a dissapointment.
The location of the hotel is very desirable and I would certainly stay in Divan again without any hesitation when I visit Istanbul.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank turkeyOgel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

This hotel is immaculate, I stayed In October on a Business Trip and was very surprised with the quality and over all finish of the hotel.
It has been recently refurbed from top to bottom so the old style building has a brand new Modern contemporary look.
The hotel is around 1hr from the Airport (But this is only due to the heavy traffic)!!
Around the hotel there are plenty of Kebab Shops, Massage parlours, Boutiques and Restaraunts.
Taxim square is approx a 10min slow walk from the hotel, but be careful, the car drivers are all mental and will stop for no one!
The hotel Staff were excellent, always very friendly and happy to help in any way they can.
I did have the chance to use the leisure facilities and you will need a Pool Cap! even if you have no hair!
The food was very impressive, there was a huge selection, just keep in mind this hotel does not do your traditional Sausages / Baked Beans etc! However Turkeys version of these foods was a nice surprise and change.
The room I had was very very nice.... Luxury to say the least!
The bed was huge, with free TV and all channels available.
Work area was very....Oldy Worldy with Dark wood finishing and padded light brown arm chair.
However the Bathroom / Toilet was amazing! The shower was by far the best shower I have ever been in....and believe me you wont want to get out, the toilet has a little sprinkler wash thing and be careful because the button looks like the flush and I got soaked!!!

If you have any questions please feel free to throw them my way.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_Expert_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

this is a great hotel, very nice staff, luxurious room and bathroom, beautiful view, well located, breakfast is very good, so are the restaurants. i cannot say anything bad about this hotel. perhaps it does not have so much character or charm, but for those rates, it is super worth it. i was there for business but traveling with my partner, who also enjoyed it. i would recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saopaulosaopaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#71 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#98 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#94 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Divan City Istanbul
Divan City Istanbul
#378 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Beyoglu
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
#135 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Beyoglu
Point Hotel Taksim
Point Hotel Taksim
#169 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divan Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divan Istanbul

Property: Divan Istanbul
Address: Asker Ocagi Caddesi No:1 | Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Divan Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divan Istanbul has 41 Standard Rooms, 108 Deluxe Rooms, 40 Premiere Rooms and 2 Presidential Suites, totally 191 guest rooms, each with a sense of spacious elegance, tasteful and modern Turkish-style furnishings, comfort, quality service and a cozy, contemporary atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Divan Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing