We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Ranked #67 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very good stay at the hotel.
Clean, food excellent and the staff very attend and helpful.
I must mention the fact I was there for 1 night during the stormy days at the "Taksim" square (the hotel is located in the area) and our taxi coming from the airport couldn't reach the hotel entrance since the area was barricaded... the hotel staff did everything possible to get us into the hotel comfortably safe. We had no issues further than that and the hotel staff did everything possible to make us feel comfortable despite the situation.
Internet was free, rate per night reasonable, breakfast very good (a lot of variety and fresh !).
Bottom line - will definitely come back !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,764)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hyatt Istanbul
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

982 - 988 of 1,766 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Grand Hyatt for our anniversary in June, inspite of the protests that was going on just outside the hotel; it was a memorable trip.

As Hyatt Diamond Member, we were upgraded to an executive suite on 9th floor with stunning view of Bosphorous.The lounge with extensive breakfast items and happy hours was one of the best I have seen at Hyatt Properties. The staff were friendly and welcoming.

I would recommend the hotel once the unrest at Taksim Square has subsided, otherwise you might be holed in the room during evenings/late night. On normal situation, it is only short 15 min walk from Ottoman Palace by Bosphorus and all the shopping at Taksim Square.

But point to note, it is a bit far from Sultanahmet area where all the tourist attractions like Blue Mosque, Hagia Sohie and Basillica Cistern is located.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imtiaz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Grand Hyatt Istanbul is a great hotel with customer-focused personnel. The Club Floor is well worth the difference, as it includes breakfast, hors d'oeuvres, evening drinks and a place to get away (which as it turned out, we badly needed
that!)

The hotel is centrally-located on Geezi Park and near Taksim Square. It was easy to go into the Old Town to see the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, and the Basilica Cistern.It was not so easy to get back to the Hyatt; we got tear-gassed during our desperate attempt to return to the hotel. No taxis would go near the hotel.

Although not the Hyatt's fault at all, we spent most of the rest of the week "sequestered" in the hotel. It was relatively safe to venture out in the mornings to survey the damage and the Dolmabahçe Palace (incredible and
within walking distance of the Hyatt). Our hotel room overlooked the beautiful Bosphorus Straits and unfortunately, the serious police action and demonstrations.

If I ever returned to Istanbul, I would happily stay at the Grand Hyatt due to the employees, the food, the location, and the excellent service.

Room Tip: Splurge for the Club Floor. It is definitely worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxleyrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

stayed there right after the riot police cleared up the protest in taksim square. appeared the city came to peace again. the hotel is well located near the taksim station. you see, traffic jam is an always in istanbul and often u found that there wre tramssss passing while you were taking a taxi as tram has exclusive lane. ( and u need to know their meter are often tricky so u better go here and there by public transport if possible, which u should find helpful info from the concierge). staff are mostly welcoming. tried food from room service and at the poolside which were delicious. did not try the breakfast as it seemed hugely overpriced even for a 5 star hotel to me. 27 euro! room are well kept by housekeeping. service are prompt and welcoming. tried the turkish bath there. although expensive yet absolutely soothing and relaxing. pool is a great place to hang out too. just like an oasis. you see, in a city with everlasting traffic jam and language barrier it is v important to find a good home right within which i found grand hyatt fully satisfy this job.

Thank Lai E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

stayed in the hotel second time, loved it, service is fantastic, location is very good - only 10 min from Nishantashi - shopping street. breakfast will met expectation even of the most courtly gourmet, variety of food is unlimited, room is excellent, with kind and attentive staff you fell yourself like at home. the most loved things there are outside restaurant and splendid pool, amazing!!!! the best place to stay in Istanbul

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigar2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We arrived at the Grand Hyatt Istanbul June 1 2013 - in the middle of the Protests. We were greeted by a cloud of tear gas and had to run for the Hotel as the limo could not get close enough to the hotel. The hotel staff were great. They made sure we could clean up and provided water to all those the had run through the tear gas. The hotel room was spacious and well appointed. The concierge were a great help. I would recommend the the restaurant to everyone.
The mezzes were a pleasant surprise and the Turkish chardonnay and champagne were excellent. The area around the hotel has some great shopping. Hotel is in a great location, the traffic in Istanbul is crazy. Don't rent a car - take the buses or a cab. This hotel met our expectations for a 5 star accommodation.

Room Tip: We were on the front street side - it was fine but the rear may be a touch quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I had an excellent stay at this hotel with two other guests. From the swift check- in to the hearty breakfast and excellent concierge and customer service- everything was so smooth and hassle free.
Special mention to Mehmet at concierge who arranged a day out on the bosphorous and helped plan an alternative from the run of the mill cruises. This was especially appreciated since it was suggested hot on the heels from a last minute tour cancellation.
I must mention that we visited this hotel in the midst of the current taksim square situation- in fact we reached the hotel on the 3rd day of the gezi park sit-in so witnessed first hand the effects of the riot police intervention. We reached the hotel amidst gun shots few feet from the hotel entrance. Since that day, there was a lot of chanting and parades by locals involved in the riots but fortunately tourists don't seem to be targeted. Unfortunately, we did not realise an event on this scale was about to erupt so could not forsee such circumstances. However, if you plan a trip to istanbul, it would be best to avoid taksim area- infact, sultanhamet was barely affected during our stay so is better located for tourists.
Must also mention, within the premises of the grand hyatt, we felt safe and appreciated the staff assistance with entering the hotel from different exits during the tear bomb explosions. Even whilst we ventured out, even to gezi park- due to curiosity, we never felt danger from the locals- they were mostly just camping out in protest and enjoying a carnival like atmosphere with live music and dance- until the riot police would get involved. When the riot police were involved, mayhem let loose with panic as the tear gas would evoke a burning sensation in the throat and stinging eyes and irritate the mucous membranes. Everybody would run wild to escape the effects of tear gas and if one was hurt during this rampage, it would be inevitable that few minor injuries could take place.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#94 of 1,161 in Istanbul
1,771 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#112 of 1,161 in Istanbul
2,607 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#68 of 1,161 in Istanbul
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#57 of 1,161 in Istanbul
1,338 reviews
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#70 of 1,161 in Istanbul
2,238 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bomonti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Istanbul

Address: Harbiye Mah Taskisla Caddesi No: 1, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#27 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#44 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#51 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#63 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $128 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meeting your high expectations of five star hotels in Istanbul, at the Grand Hyatt Istanbul you can relax in modern, stylish and comfortable surroundings, and unwind in 360 luxury Istanbul hotel rooms and suites with spectacular views of the city, the pool or the Bosphorous Strait. The Istanbul city centre hotel is just minutes away from the Taksim, historic landmarks of the Old City, including Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace. One of the best hotels in Istanbul in which to sample authentic Turkish and Mediterranean cuisine, the Grand Hyatt Istanbul Hotel invites you to please your palate at a host of Istanbul restaurants and lounges, including new Restaurant 34,The Mezzanine Bar & Lounge, The Library Bar and Gazebo. Our luxury Istanbul hotel offers modern spa treatments and authentic hammam rituals in Gaia Spa & Fitness Centre. The last word in Istanbul 5 star hotels, the Grand Hyatt Istanbul's superb facilities include a hair and beauty salon, a stunning outdoor swimming pool and sun terrace with poolside bar, and free floodlit tennis courts for guests to enjoy. We can even arrange private tennis tuition in the comfort of our Istanbul hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing