We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel on the trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Ranked #77 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worst hotel on the trip”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The counter staff and restaurant staff were so aloof, they put on fake smiles and made me feel like I didn't deserve to be there just because I was in jeans and a jacket. I wouldn't even give them 50 cents more

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daniel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    484
    88
    25
    12
See reviews for
300
459
104
561
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Have stayed at this Hotel on numerous occasions over the past 8 years. The rooms are lovely and extremely comfortable. The main restaurant and breakfast area has recently been refurbished, the breakfast choice is great. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Free Wifi.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemonpipers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton England
Level Contributor
278 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

A perfectly fine Hyatt, but nothing to make it stand out. Standard style rooms, service, facilities etc....wondered whether to give 4 or 3 star....relatively poor breakfast crossed the line to 3. Last time stopped at ritz Carlton - different level entirely if mor pricey !

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Waldea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at this Hyatt Hotel on my last night in Istanbul near Taksim Square. I am a Platinum Member but I was still surprised when Front Desk immediately upgraded me to the Grand Club Level!! I accessed my floor using a private elevator.

The 9th floor room had a wonderful view of the Pool and the Beyoglu district, which is famed for its restaurants and shops. I first drew a nice deep hot bath for myself in the washroom. There is a step-in waterfall shower, too. The bath has shutters above it that can be opened for visual and space access to the bedroom. Nice.

The General Manager sent me a plate of fruit as a welcome. I answered the doorbell in a bathrobe and slippers provided by the hotel.

Later I checked out the Grand Club on Floor 8 which is accessible by a spiral staircase winding down into the library. The attendant kindly asked me if she may order lunch for me but I declined, opting for a soda instead. During the evening they serve canapés and Turkish delights. They also provide a self serve full bar so guests may make their own cocktails. I had Jack and Coke.

Also tried the Lobby Bar where I ordered a Gin & Tonic (30 Turkish Lira) that I tried to charge to my room. This is not possible, as I found out, later in the evening when front desk sent a courier with the bill to my room. I charged it to my Hyatt Visa just like the room when I first reserved online.

The Hotel is near Taksim Square and awesome shopping just beyond. I did last minute shopping before dinner time. For lunch I found Yutaka Japanese Restaurant near the Hotel. And then I found POPEYES chicken!! Had to try it.

My wake up call was exactly on time at 2 AM. There is always a taxi ready at the Hotel Front and I left Istanbul in a light rain. The ride to Ataturk Airport cost me 50 Turkish Lira. I tipped the driver 20 Turkish Lira. Can’t wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GREENCHILEcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel, in a very convenient location of Istanbul. The quality of the food served is second to none, the variety and choice available is simply second to none. The rooms are large and comfortable, very nicely decorated. The staff is very friendly and the security quite tight, as one would expect. Pricey but worth the money, I would highly recommend it.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mytravelcloset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying in this hotel on business. The rooms are well apointed, comfortable bed and great bathroom. Gym was well equipped but the spa doesn't have a jacuzzi, just a steam room and sauna. The rates might be half decent but the bar was wickedly expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jono_Kimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

After 3 nights at Grand Hyatt, i must say the club lounge is very good with food and drinks complimentary, breakfasts are excellent with an immense variety and top quality. We ad lunch twice in the restaurant and the food was exquisite. The mattress made me suffer every morning with back pain. Concieges were top guys, service with a smile.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marceloglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#105 of 1,140 in Istanbul
1,736 reviews
Sisli
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#69 of 1,140 in Istanbul
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#83 of 1,140 in Istanbul
2,105 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#119 of 1,140 in Istanbul
2,493 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#71 of 1,140 in Istanbul
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Istanbul

Property: Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Address: Taskisla Cad. No:1 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#29 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#45 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#58 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#64 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meeting your high expectations of five star hotels in Istanbul, at the Grand Hyatt Istanbul you can relax in modern, stylish and comfortable surroundings, and unwind in 360 luxury Istanbul hotel rooms and suites with spectacular views of the city, the pool or the Bosphorous Strait. The Istanbul city centre hotel is just minutes away from the Taksim, historic landmarks of the Old City, including Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace. One of the best hotels in Istanbul in which to sample authentic Turkish and Mediterranean cuisine, the Grand Hyatt Istanbul Hotel invites you to please your palate at a host of Istanbul restaurants and lounges, including new Restaurant 34,The Mezzanine Bar & Lounge, The Library Bar and Gazebo. Our luxury Istanbul hotel offers modern spa treatments and authentic hammam rituals in Gaia Spa & Fitness Centre. The last word in Istanbul 5 star hotels, the Grand Hyatt Istanbul's superb facilities include a hair and beauty salon, a stunning outdoor swimming pool and sun terrace with poolside bar, and free floodlit tennis courts for guests to enjoy. We can even arrange private tennis tuition in the comfort of our Istanbul hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing