We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you would expect in a five star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Istanbul
Ranked #93 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2010

We stayed at the Ceylan for two nights and found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and conveniently located. The rooms were tidy and spacious - although standard and consistent 5* fare rather than the wow-factor. The City Lights bar is great as is the Safran restaurant. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMohinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VYildirim, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2010

Many thanks for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,274 - 1,280 of 1,848 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2010

i stayed at the hotel that my second time but this time i had a club room uprated to phosphor view twin bed smoking room are corner room than not real great view the room nice size but beds a bit small the lounge very nice but not fantastic varieties they are kind of tight but u have to ask for things to bring from the mean restaurant which sometimes takes time i really prefer the deluxe room with breakfast as service it was really great always smiling and to get a taxi really easy and safe

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bishay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VYildirim, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2010

Many thanks for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Faithfully yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

The Ceylan (pronounced "Jaylaan") Intercontinental Hotel in Istanbul is a beautiful and luxurious place to stay while on the European side of Turkey. The lobby features a magnificent glass staircase which can't be described with just words. The beds were large and firm - and I slept through the night, something that I never seem able to do while travelling. My only complaints would be that wireless internet was not available on my floor and when I purchased wi-fi from the spots in the hotel claiming to have it, I was unable to connect. I ended up going to the business office to use the internet. Though the business center's staff of young men was delightful to work with, the process was inconvenient and the cost exorbitant. Additionally, there were only three or four movies available to view in the rooms. The amazing views of the Bosphrous below, as seen from both my room and from the fun rooftop bar, made up for this though.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryEliseM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VYildirim, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2010

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Faithfully yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for a week in the end of October 2010. The hotel is lovely, the architecture is beautiful and I like the charming stairs in the lobby. The room was also very nice and spacious.

The staffs were very nice, house keeping was fast and great. I was happy staying here.

The location is in business district, so I had to take taxi or tramway to Sultan Ahmed historical area. It is also walking distant to Dolmabahce Palace and Istiklal Street. I found several Turkish original food, coffee and sweets in Istiklal Street, the street was awesome, especially at night. There, I also found a scraf shop that sells many kinds of Turkish scarves with very reasonable price (unlike in Grand Bazaar where we had to bargain for the exact same items). I almost could not help my self that I bought 16 scraves... :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elpuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VYildirim, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2010

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride.

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Faithfully yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Hotels in Istanbul are very expensive, and even more so during the season period.
We booked the Ceylan Intercontinental depending on the Intercontinental brand which for most part is quite consistently good.
However, I must say that we were extremely disappointed with this property.
The rooms were very average and and in the need for some major renovation and modernizing. For the price we paid (upwards of Euro 300 without breakfast) we would have expected much better.
The hotel lobby was also ok and the restaurents also very highly priced.
the fitness area was also quite bad to say the least - somthing i would have expected in a 2-3 star hotel.
The location though is quite ok, about a 7-10 minute walk along the main road to Istiklal Cadessi.
I think other hotels like the Ritz and Hilton in the are better options but my recommedation to tourists would be to stay around the Ortakay or Machka areas - the swissotel or the ciragan kempinkski if you dont mind paying a bit extra.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cktiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

If you don't want headaches in Istanbul, go to Ceylan. We've tried a number of Istanbul hotels during the years but whenever we want a stay without surprises, we return to Ceylan. The hotel is in Taksim and after a 5 min walk you find yourself in the shopping area of Istaklal. The hotel offers everything you need, but it is not an authentic piece of Istanbul. If you're looking for some old style Ottoman experience, perhaps you should stay in Sultanahmet. There are plenty of small family hotels in that historic area , charming and clean, close to the main tourist attractions, but you'll never get the standards that Ceylan offers although you are probably paying the same amount or more.

And if you choose to stay in this area, you'll probably go to Sultanahmet to visit by Metro, tram or taxi. The Metro station is 3 min away. CAREFUL WITH TEH TAXIS!!! The taxis you take from the hotel are safe and the staff will make sure you have the nr of the taxi on a piece of paper in case of any problems. The taxis you pick on the street to get you back are another story. Many are rude, drive terribly and will take you on the longest route possible. We had some really bad experiences and found that it helps to write the taxi number yourself on a piece of paper and make it obvious to the driver that you did so. Feel free to call the hotel concierge and they'll tell you what the average fare is for the trip you took. They also report to the police any taxi number that you bring to their attention.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoAround7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VYildirim, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2010

Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

As Istanbul novices, we understood that Sultanahmet offered historic sites and touristy shopping and that the Taksim Sq area was more cosmopolitan and social, with restaurants, shops and bars. The Intercontinental is right next to Taksim Park, a short walk past it, the Square, then the famous Istiklal Avenue for a very "european" experience of Istanbul.

This was the biggest upside and downside of this Bosphorus hotel. Easy access to bars and restaurants, great views, but an exhausting hike for tram users and mentioning the Intercontinental makes you an easy mark for Istanbul's less than trustworthy taxi drivers. Taksim Park is not recommended for tourists after dark and judging from the touting and being approached by random "friends" offering to take one to bars, Taksim Sq after dark made this hotel location uncomfortable for me.

We booked a Club room and had an unobstructed view of the Bosphorus, with even a very distant view of the Aya Sofya and Blue Mosque. At AU$560 per night, it was one of the most expensive Club rooms I have stayed in, considering the room was pretty standard in size. The Club on the 16th floor had lobby-like seating with a separate meeting room and dining rooms (inaccessible outside of breakfast and "happy hour" times). Breakfast was sparse with adequate continental selection and 3 small bain-maries of warm food. Only Turkish wines were on offer and even those were low end on the scale of the widely varied standard of local wines available.

The spa and gym facilities were great and the local hamami (bath house) was a beautifully sanitised version of the grungy experiences we had elsewhere

The service was of a high standard, although the farcical "security" measures seemed quite pointless. I walked through the scanner with backpacks and set it off everyday, with no further requests to screen being made.

Overall, a beautiful view, nicely appointed, great service. Of the standard you would expect from Intercontinental, highly suited to the less adventurous traveller who would be picked up and dropped off by drivers. One really pays for what you get; not much for free at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheQueenslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VYildirim, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2010

Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#71 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,852 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#56 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,404 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#105 of 1,175 in Istanbul
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#69 of 1,175 in Istanbul
663 reviews
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#65 of 1,175 in Istanbul
2,375 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#88 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Istanbul

Address: Asker Ocagi Cad 1 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#42 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#62 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#70 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#71 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $114 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star ambiance at Istanbul's one of the best address and in the heart of the city. InterContinental Istanbul is the ideal base from which to explore this Ottoman capital city's endless historic sites, museums, restaurants, clubs and shops. Located in Taksim,commanding stunning views of the Bosphorus,Taksim,Skyline of Istanbul and the Blue Mosque,the hotel is in a short walk from Dolmabahce Palace and Lutfi Kirdar Congress Hall. Our attentive staff will also point out your desired places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Istanbul Ceylan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing