We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis Of Calm In The Middle Of The City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Istanbul
Ranked #104 of 1,147 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“An Oasis Of Calm In The Middle Of The City”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a great hotel in an ideal location just on the north side of Taksim Park, only a hundred metre walk to the Taksim Metro station. Kabatas ferry pier / tram stop is an eight minute downhill walk, or two minutes (6TL) in a taxi.

We had a superb Bosphorous view exec room on the 17th floor, and on a clear day could see out into the Sea of Marmara as far as the Princes Islands / Adalar!!

Reading other reviews, I'd agree that the rooms are just a little tired and showing their age. However, our room was spotlessly clean and everything worked fine. I'd much rather stay in a slightly older hotel that has great staff and professional service, then stay in a brand new plastic palace with poor staff (of which Istanbul has many!).

The Club lounge on the 16th floor offers breakfast, and a range of light snacks from 1800 to 2000. Soft drinks and coffee are available all day; beers and wine etc from 1800 to 2000. Again, great helpful staff. There's also a large coffee shop at the lobby level, and a top floor very upmarket restaurant with wonderful sea views.

Hotel internet is free for IHG Rewards club members (free to join) and is fine for everything other than streaming movies. The hotel has a good pool and spa, spacious public areas, and a delightful top floor bar with fantastic views of Istanbul. Like all prime hotels food and drink isn't cheap, but we felt that the hotel offered reasonable value for money.

This hotel is genuinely an oasis of calm and peace, in the middle of chaos! Its a great place to return to after a hectic day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: Splash out for a room with a Bosphorus view. Its well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigvassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Craigvassie,

First of all let us thank you for your detailed review and to provide us with valuable customer's feedback. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our property and more then this we did meet all your expectations. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing.
We are very happy that you had wonderful Loyalty experience. Thank you very much for your nice compliments towards our service. You may rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team and management and read with pride.
Once again, thank you for your kind observations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Istanbul.

Kind regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    517
    135
    37
    23
See reviews for
300
507
115
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Currently staying here for five nights. Staying on 17th floor overlooking Taxsim park in an executive room.

With this package we have access to the executive lounge which does free nibbles and beer from 5-7. I've stayed at other Intercontinental hotels and all vary in comfort level and services and facilities across the world. Nice room (not amazing) and definitely overpriced for what you get. The executive lounge is nice but food is scarce and you need to request beers from the reception, unlike other branches where food and alcohol were abundantly available.

Overall a nice hotel but I'd probably check out the Hyatt or Ritz Carlton the next time.

Easy access to the old time as Metro is outside a minutes walk away.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AlanMerrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear AlanMerrins,

Thank you very much for sharing your grievances regarding your stay at InterContinental Istanbul. We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to it to our attention and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and and that this experience has contributed to a memorable stay. Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your comments that we are able to improve the service we offer guests at InterContinental Istanbul. We are looking forward for the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The location was unbeatable, only steps away from the bustle of Taksim Square but located on a hill that keeps the noise and crowd away. We had a view of the Bosphorous which was really really nice. The room itself felt a little older and is definitely calling out for an upgrade. Internet was OK, not the highest speed and the bed mattress felt pretty stiff. The traditional Turkish breakfast is incredible and so fresh. Finally I have to say that the gym/pool/spa facilities are top-notch 5 star.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Victoria,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing.
Once again, thank you for your observations regarding our rooms and we are very sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations regarding that. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Overall the experience was great. Fabulous view of the Bosphorus (from the City Lights bar) and of Taksim (from room). I think my main issue was the fact that the room felt a bit old (I have stayed at new hotels lately). A place I'd like to stay at -- but only if my employer pays the bill. The lobby and the common areas were still top notch and seemed recently renovated. It is the first hotel (out of some 50 in the last five years) that emptied the mini bar because I only registered a debit card, and not a credit card.

Things inside the hotel (haircuts, food, drinks) are expensive. But who cares when there are so many other places around?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mounzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Mounzo,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We are very happy to hear that we met your expectations. Again, thank you for your kind observations and review recommendations, in particular regarding the deposit payment upon check/in. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed a week for holiday. The hotel room is bit wore out and old after years. The bathtobe is not so clean. My friend and i usually wemt to Divan cross road for dinner while food was better and cheaper there than in the hotel. Though we did enjoy the skybar view of bosephorus. It is fabulous!!! Nothing better than sitting near the window and watch ships enter and exit this port. I would also recommend to use the spa, pool and gym while stay, after a day strolling in Istanbul. I was dying for a turkish spa and some water therapy. But the food quality is really bit disappointing for this classic 5star hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Yan L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Yan L,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with our hotel Spa and we do apologize that we didn't meet your expectations about our rooms and food in the restaurant.
Once again, thank you for your kind observations and review recommendations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Informed I was being treated to an upgrade for one night only. Actually they were more interested in maximising occupancy by shuffling guests around different rooms. Moved to my original room the next day. Thrilled to see what a good time previous occupant had. The condom wrapper in the middle of the floor gave me a clue. Ick. Other than retrieving the offending material not much interest from the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Unraveling_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Bonglie,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We put the highest priority on ensuring that all hotel rooms are kept spotlessly clean.We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience regarding the room, because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Again we appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in future.

Kind Regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Very clean and friendly hotel, a bit dated with the decor and bathrooms. We could see the water from our room, but directly in front was rather an ugly old parking structure. The hotel location is central, close to Taksim Square, but a bit of an island in the middle of some busy streets and not ideal for walking, although close to everything. We explored the nearby Besiktas neighborhood, which was a pleasant surprise. Lots of nice waterfront restaurants full of locals and very friendly service. Great for people watching and getting a feeling for the local Istanbul life. The streets around the W Hotel are particularly high end and beautifully designed. We particularly liked the hotel restaurant and bar. Great, food, drinks service and views. We opted not to have breakfast included, as it was great to try different places on Istiklal Street nearby. We did enjoy the fancy little bakery in the lobby though!

Room Tip: A room higher up is always better for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WombatMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear WombatMunich,

Thank you for giving us such great feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to let us know about it. We are very glad to hear that you had exceptional experience. It motivates our team for the best service !
Once again thank you for choosing to stay at InterContinental Istanbul and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#75 of 1,147 in Istanbul
1,723 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#65 of 1,147 in Istanbul
1,302 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#100 of 1,147 in Istanbul
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#115 of 1,147 in Istanbul
2,517 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#69 of 1,147 in Istanbul
399 reviews
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#77 of 1,147 in Istanbul
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Istanbul

Property: InterContinental Istanbul
Address: Asker Ocagi Cad 1 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#40 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#73 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#77 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#81 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star ambiance at Istanbul's one of the best address and in the heart of the city. InterContinental Istanbul is the ideal base from which to explore this Ottoman capital city's endless historic sites, museums, restaurants, clubs and shops. Located in Taksim,commanding stunning views of the Bosphorus,Taksim,Skyline of Istanbul and the Blue Mosque,the hotel is in a short walk from Dolmabahce Palace and Lutfi Kirdar Congress Hall. Our attentive staff will also point out your desired places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Istanbul Ceylan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing