We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Istanbul
Ranked #98 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good location, average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

It was my first trip to Istanbul. My wife and I were looking for a place near Taksim square and istiklal street. There were quite a few choices, as an ihg platinum member we choose to stay at intercontinental. The entrance/lobby of the hotel was pleasant. The front desk was welcoming with a warm smile. Check in was a breeze. The room furniture and decor might have been impressive about 10-20 years ago, but not to modern time luxury, still acceptable. The concierge was very helpful, but with some language barriers might come across as unfriendly. The breakfast buffet was average. Housekeeping was obviously in a rush to the point of some awkward moments, they would knock on the door and say housekeeping and immediately open the door and let themselves in without giving you enough time to reply. Overall was ok stay but been in better hotels.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Baso77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Baso77,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very glad that you found good our hotel and service. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconveniences regarding the rooms because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in future.

Kind Regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    508
    129
    36
    22
See reviews for
297
494
108
541
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Maybe the best in this hotel is the "City Lights Restaurant and Bar" in the upperst floor. Make sure you visit it in the evening and enjoy the terrific view over the nightly Bosporus. If the bar should be closed too early: The very good bar of the Hilton is just a few meters away and open 24 hours per day.

My room was clean, but the interiour is getting antique. No Senseo or Nespresso coffee machine in the room, no power outlets at the night desk (do hotels ever think about people who want to recharge their phones over night?). Also, no shower. Who needs a bath tub in a hotel room?

Service is good and friendly but not overwhelming and sometimes misses details (e.g. coffee bags were not refilled).

All in all still good for the rate I had and I would come back within the next years. But they should not wait too long with a room redesign. It's still "okay", but ill be "overdue" soon.

I cannot confirm the rooms are loud. Only if the windows is open, street sounds might disturb, but that's how it is in a central hotel in a lively city. Once the windows are closed, the room was quite.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanGentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear SrefanGentz,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and and that this experience has contributed to a memorable stay. We are very delighted to hear that our City Lights Bar & Restaurant exceeded your expectations. Also thank you very much for your suggestions regarding our rooms, Nespresso machines and power outlets. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
I hope that we can welcome you back in our hotel on your next trip to Istanbul as well.

Kind Regards,
Victoria Yildirm
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut , lebanon
Level Contributor
89 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Intercontinental hotel is an old one near Taksim. It has a nice charm in its lobby and restaurant. The rooms are nice and the beds offer you a good sleep. The bathrooms are of beautiful marble. The food is good . The only complaint is that the moquette in my room had stains and this is not acceptable for an intercontinental .
Definitely , I will come again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear George K,

Thank you very much for sharing your grievances regarding your stay at InterContinental Istanbul. We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to it to our attention and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and and that this experience has contributed to a memorable stay. Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your comments that we are able to improve the service we offer guests at InterContinental Istanbul. We do apologies for any inconvenience regarding your room and this may have caused and we do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Lovely location right in the heart of the city, close walk to the shops. Hotel was beautiful with great service. The food was not fantastic but average, though the view at the rooftop was amazing. Definitely recommend the hotel for business, not so much so for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nivekng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Nivekng

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that this experience has contributed to a memorable stay. We are very delighted to hear that our service exceeded your expectations.

I hope that we can welcome you back in our hotel on your next trip to Istanbul as well.

Kind Regards,
Victoria Yildirm
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I organised a conference at the Intercontinental - the choice was largely an accident as we had tried many others and just happened to walk in off the street and made enquiries about their facilities. From that first chance meeting all has gone flawlessly. Even though I had to make arrangements remotely from the UK the staff went out of their way to deliver....even making personal introductions during our stay so I knew who had been on the other end of the emails. The best feedback I can give you is from the 75 delegates who made no complaints - quite the opposite. The food was superb and the service way beyond what I expected.

For the general traveller this hotel is well-located and has a concierge service that really knows the best local spots. It is very comfortable, has a great spa and gym and plenty of areas to relax and soak in the beautiful views.

Definitely the best hotel I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Bosphorus view - ask for a room that is not blocked by the neighbouring highrise hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanandGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear IanandGilly,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with our hotel and services, rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team and management and read with pride.
Once again, thank you for your kind observations and review recommendations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I have stayed for my honeymoon last week in intercontinental Istanbul for couple of nights.

To be honest, we didn't enjoy much the trip as the weather was extremely cold and got stuck twice in the demonstrations and got tear gazed twice.

The only positive thing that happened to us is the hotel and it's outstanding service. It made us forget the other negative things and made us feel really comfortable.
We were given a very early check in after coming from a 8 hours flight from Maldives. They were really considerate and our comfort was their primary goal. Moreover, without asking for any honeymoon package, they surprised us with an amazing towel Arrangement composed of 2 ducks with roses spread along the bed. That looked really romantic and my wife loved it!

The staff is always smiling and willing to support anytime. In fact when we got tear gazed near he hotel in Taksim square, my wife was really bothered and they made sure to help us and got for us the hotel doctor who directly took care of her.

Shout out to the concierge team who arranged for our morning tours in Istanbul in a very short notice and finally a big thanks for the guest relations manager and her team who were extremely attentive to small details and made sure we had a very comfortable stay.

Finally, it is worthy to mention that the hotel location is just amazing and close to taksim and istiklal street. Moreover, the roof top restaurant and lobby restaurant are really amazing. The rooms are very well maintained and clean.

To sum up, this hotel is really looking to distinguish itself and we strongly recommend anyone to stay in it.

Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Tarek F,

First of all let us thank you for your detailed review and to provide us with valuable customer's feedback. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our property and more then this we did meet all your expectations. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, so as found our staff efficient, and location exellent. Thank you very much for your nice compliments towards our Concierge and Guest Relations teams.You may rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team and management and read with pride.
Once again, thank you for your kind observations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Istanbul.

Kind regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

My first trip to Istanbul was excellent, thanks primarily to my incredible experience at the InterContinental Istanbul. As someone who spends nearly 200 nights a year away from home, I truly appreciated the little "extras" provided by the staff. Roof top bar and restaurant are amongst the very best views in any property anywhere - spectacular view of the Bospherus and the Old City. Restaurant was wonderful with superb presentation and flavor.

Room Tip: Rooms by the elevator are not like other locations - they turn the chimes off during sleeping hours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear jdato,

Thank you for giving us such great feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at our property. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to let us know about it. We are very glad to hear that you had exeptional experience. It motivates our team for the best service ! Special thanks for your room tip regarding turning off the elevator chimes during sleeping ours. We understand how much these details are important for our guests.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay at InterContinental Istanbul and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#71 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#128 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#57 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#79 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#94 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#68 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Istanbul

Property: InterContinental Istanbul
Address: Asker Ocagi Cad 1 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#39 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#73 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#73 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#81 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star ambiance at Istanbul's one of the best address and in the heart of the city. InterContinental Istanbul is the ideal base from which to explore this Ottoman capital city's endless historic sites, museums, restaurants, clubs and shops. Located in Taksim,commanding stunning views of the Bosphorus,Taksim,Skyline of Istanbul and the Blue Mosque,the hotel is in a short walk from Dolmabahce Palace and Lutfi Kirdar Congress Hall. Our attentive staff will also point out your desired places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Istanbul Ceylan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing