We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ever stay of my life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Istanbul
Ranked #103 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best ever stay of my life”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

What a wonderful experience it was, evrything was just perfect. My heavy luggage was immediately took over by concierge and from that time till check out, hospitality was just awesome. Rooms were big, clean with amazing veiw. I could see the amazing Taksim square from my room. Hotel is at walking distance from Taksim and from Kabatas as well.Breakfast was awesome and service was just uncomparable. I will always remember my stay in this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbdulMueedK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your feedback after your recent stay with us.
We appreciate the time you have spent to share that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular our service in the hotel.
Once again thank you again for your comments here – it was great to have you staying with us.
Please keep us informed about your stays with us and we will keep moving from good to great hotel, which our guests love.

With best regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    520
    137
    37
    24
See reviews for
305
511
115
550
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed for only two nights at this hotel. As we arrived we were immediately looked after by
the staff. They took our suitcases and check us in. We asked to be upgraded and the lovely lady said they had no club rooms available but could give us a club room with side view with free internet free of charge which was great. Our room was beautiful. Very luxurious, a heavenly bed with a good side view of the Bosphorus. The service of the hotel was great, our safe was not working and they came within five minutes to sort it out. We did not have breakfast at the hotel but Taksim Square has lots of cafes for breakfast and a Mc Donalds too serving breakfast which is about under 10 minutes away. The location is great too for touring. The major sights in the old city like the Blue Mosque, Topika Palace, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern etc. are based around Sultanahmet Square. To get there we took the metro (funicular) which is two minutes away from the hotel to Kabatas. From there you take the tram to Sualtanahmet where all the major attractions are. On this line you can also visit the Spice Market and the Grand Market. The nearest attraction to the hotel is Taksim Square, which has the modern shopping area and great restaurants. The seafood restaurants serves fresh fish at very reasonable prices.The Square is buzzing day and night with a great atmosphere but the intercontinental far enough for peace and harmony. The top bar has great views over the city and is great for an evening drink. We had a look at the spa and the swimming pool which looked great and would be lovely on a warm day. We feel we made the perfect choice staying at the Intercontinental and would love to come back one day.

Room Tip: Club room with full view of the Bosphorous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and comments in relation to this review.
We are delighted to hear that you were happy with our hotel and services, rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team and management and read with pride.
Once again, thank you for your kind observations and review recommendations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Super hotel with excellent service.
From the moment that we were greeted at the entrance, through reception and to our room the staff service was unbeatable. A pleasant room overlooking both side of the continent was more than adequate for our one night pre-cruse stay.
A comfortable nights sleep and a wide variety of foods at the breakfast buffet completed or stay but if we visited Istanbul again for a longer visit the Ceylan Intercontinental would be at the top of our list.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gegie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review on our hotel. We are more than pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with our hotel, staff and services rendered to you in InterContinental Istanbul.

We do hope that we shall have the pleasure of looking after you again before long.


Kind regards,
Victoria Yıldırım
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is 5stars, rooms are new and spacious, comfortable beds, perfect view to historical centre. Breakfast offers various dishes both turkish and international, fruits, cereals, cheses, japanese breakfast.
Spa was beyond every expectation, all the team said it was one of the best ever experienced!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TaniaSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your feedback after your recent stay with us.
Once again thank you again for your comments here, particular regarding our restaurant, service and Spa, – it was great to have you staying with us.
Please keep us informed about your stays with us and we will keep moving from good to great hotel, which our guests love.

With best regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Intercontinental Istanbul is a very nice property located within walking distance to the Bosphorus.
Service is excellent and the local staff dedicated to making your stay appreciated.
Restaurants are of good standards and the top bar allows a panoramic view over the City.
I definitely recommend the Intercontinental when visiting this amazing city.

Room Tip: City view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review on our hotel. We are more than pleased to learn that you were dilighted with your stay and were happy with our hotel, particulary with our restaurant, bar and staff.
We do hope that we shall have the pleasure of looking after you again before long.


Kind regards,
Victoria Yıldırım
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during the byram festival period. While the location is great, the hotel was over crowded. Forget about customer service. I requested an adaptor to my room to find a charge of Euro 14 when I did the check out. In summary, it is not worth it. There are two other five stars hotels within few meters with better customer service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in future.

Kind Regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, England
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I flew in from Athens (staying at the Athenaeum, another Intercontinental hotel) to stay at the Intercontinental, just off Taksim Square. I had stayed in a Deluxe room in Athens with breakfast included, but for around 20% more I could only get a basic room with no breakfast in the hotel in Istanbul. While the Athenaeum is in a relatively quiet business area, I thought the hotel was very good and deserved a 5 star status. The Intercontinental Istanbul looks impressive from the lobby but I found it lacking, compared to their Athens hotel. The basic room was ok with a decent bed and free basic wifi (which was welcomed) but it felt a bit tired and dated. I was staying in the club floor (17th I think). On the 3rd night, the aircon started leaking badly to the point where I had to go down to the lobby around 2am to report it. Thankfully the staff were excellent and the duty manager, along with an engineer and another member of staff were up in my room within 10 minutes to fix the leak. It was fixed within 15 minutes. Top marks there.

On the first night I went up to the 19th floor to try the restaurant. The meal (steak with a glass of red wine) wasn't cheap (around 50 euros) but while the wine was good, the steak was average. I felt the restaurant was more about impressions than actually good food.

Around Taksim square, there were quite a lot of police (I stayed at the end of August/Start of September) and the park was closed off at one point. The staff were very good and perhaps the key aspect of this hotel. I felt my room was a bit tired, and expensive compared to the Athens Intercontinental.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank movilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments in relation to this review.

We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to bring it to our attention particular regarding the room and restaurant. Please accept our sencire apologies regarding any inconveniences it might cause you. Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your comments that we are able to improve the service we offer our guests at InterContinental Istanbul.
Please be assured that all your comments have been passed on to the appropriate department
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#73 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,743 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#102 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,238 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#68 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#117 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,560 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#71 of 1,156 in Istanbul
439 reviews
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#77 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Istanbul

Property: InterContinental Istanbul
Address: Asker Ocagi Cad 1 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#41 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#73 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#76 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#81 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star ambiance at Istanbul's one of the best address and in the heart of the city. InterContinental Istanbul is the ideal base from which to explore this Ottoman capital city's endless historic sites, museums, restaurants, clubs and shops. Located in Taksim,commanding stunning views of the Bosphorus,Taksim,Skyline of Istanbul and the Blue Mosque,the hotel is in a short walk from Dolmabahce Palace and Lutfi Kirdar Congress Hall. Our attentive staff will also point out your desired places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Istanbul Ceylan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing