We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, excellent staff but expensive for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Istanbul
Ranked #93 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I flew in from Athens (staying at the Athenaeum, another Intercontinental hotel) to stay at the Intercontinental, just off Taksim Square. I had stayed in a Deluxe room in Athens with breakfast included, but for around 20% more I could only get a basic room with no breakfast in the hotel in Istanbul. While the Athenaeum is in a relatively quiet business area, I thought the hotel was very good and deserved a 5 star status. The Intercontinental Istanbul looks impressive from the lobby but I found it lacking, compared to their Athens hotel. The basic room was ok with a decent bed and free basic wifi (which was welcomed) but it felt a bit tired and dated. I was staying in the club floor (17th I think). On the 3rd night, the aircon started leaking badly to the point where I had to go down to the lobby around 2am to report it. Thankfully the staff were excellent and the duty manager, along with an engineer and another member of staff were up in my room within 10 minutes to fix the leak. It was fixed within 15 minutes. Top marks there.

On the first night I went up to the 19th floor to try the restaurant. The meal (steak with a glass of red wine) wasn't cheap (around 50 euros) but while the wine was good, the steak was average. I felt the restaurant was more about impressions than actually good food.

Around Taksim square, there were quite a lot of police (I stayed at the end of August/Start of September) and the park was closed off at one point. The staff were very good and perhaps the key aspect of this hotel. I felt my room was a bit tired, and expensive compared to the Athens Intercontinental.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank movilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments in relation to this review.

We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to bring it to our attention particular regarding the room and restaurant. Please accept our sencire apologies regarding any inconveniences it might cause you. Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your comments that we are able to improve the service we offer our guests at InterContinental Istanbul.
Please be assured that all your comments have been passed on to the appropriate department
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,772)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Istanbul
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

903 - 909 of 1,772 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here as part of a business school trip a few months ago. The staff at the front desk could not be more amazing - so willing to help with anything you may need, including last minute copies, etc. Loved the view from the fitness center which was very well-appointed. Great location with an easy walk to a lot of key spots. The lobby also really stood out for me as well - it was just really beautiful. Pretty solid breakfast. Someone else wrote this as well, but loved that they always gave out bottled water (and one time an umbrella when we forgot ours!).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your feedback after your recent stay with us.
Once again thank you again for your comments here – it was great to have you staying with us.
Please keep us informed about your stays with us and we will keep moving from good to great hotel, which our guests love.

With best regards,
Victoria Yildirim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on the advice of our cruise line. The hotel seemed to cater to Western tour groups and cruise lines, and business people. We were not at all disappointed. Our room was large and richly appointed with a nice view of the Bosphorus. The courtyard dining was beautiful as was the restaurant and bar on the top floor. Spectacular views of the city and Taksim Square. The staff was very courteous. In particular, the waiters in the Courtyard cafe were so pleasant to talk to. They were well-traveled and had great stories! The lobby was large and luxurious as you would expect from a five star hotel. There was a great buffet breakfast on the mezzanine level which we enjoyed. All in all we would recommend this hotel and would return if our travels take us back to Istanbul.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank GracelynT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and comments in relation to this review.
We are delighted to hear that you were happy with our hotel and services, rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team and management and read with pride.
Once again, thank you for your kind observations and review recommendations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Victoria Yildirim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The staff was wonderful, the location is great, and I was given a beautiful room with very spacious bathroom overlooking the Bosporus.I had a fantastic stay, and was treated like a princess. I can only recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your feedback after your recent stay with us.
Once again thank you again for your comments here, particular regarding our staff, rooms and service, – it was great to have you staying with us.
Please keep us informed about your stays with us and we will keep moving from good to great hotel, which our guests love.

With best regards,
Victoria Yildirim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days after a cruise and were very happy with the location, accommodations and service.

The hotel is removed from the tourist spots, and is located on a hill with beautiful views. It is an easy walk (about 30 minutes, all down hill) down to the Spice Market and the waterfront. There is a street near Taksim Square that is lined with shops, which leads you to the waterfront and the Spice Market. The Concierge is also very helpful in arranging reasonable tours to visit the famous mosques in the area.

There is a very nice restaurant on the top floor of the hotel with a breathtaking view of the Bosphorus - a lovely place for cocktails and dining at sunset.

We would definitely stay here again when we return to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dunhams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review on our hotel. We are more than pleased to learn that you were dilighted with your stay and were happy with our hotel, particulary with our Safran restaurant and staff.
We do hope that we shall have the pleasure of looking after you again before long.


Kind regards,
Victoria Yıldırım
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very well looked after. everyone just smile & polite. plenty of bottled water each day. The club was nice but too many kids running around, no fault of the hotel but the parents. great view from the top floor restaurant but so hot during the day.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sbwsbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your feedback after your recent stay with us.
Once again thank you again for your comments here – it was great to have you staying with us.
Please keep us informed about your stays with us and we will keep moving from good to great hotel, which our guests love.

With best regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

stayed for 9 nights.. the breakast buffett is very nice.. the waiters were super friendly especially Gokhan.. he charmed my 2yr old daughter.. not to mention getting my needs as fast as possible .. room service is fast and efficient.. and u get them roaming through the rooms mid day to check if u need anything.. i had two issues with my room.. ac was heating and the light stand wasnt working.. by the time i returned to my room from a quick walk in taksim.. i found them to be addressed and working nice and sound.. check in was fast btw

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Saood A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and comments in relation to this review.
We are delighted to hear that you were happy with our hotel and services, rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team and management.
Once again, thank you for your kind observations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you once again at InterContinental Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Victoria Yildirim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#67 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,770 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#56 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,342 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#96 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#110 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,613 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#66 of 1,159 in Istanbul
477 reviews
Beyoglu
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
#126 of 1,159 in Istanbul
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Istanbul

Address: Asker Ocagi Cad 1 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#39 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#68 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#72 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#80 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $96 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star ambiance at Istanbul's one of the best address and in the heart of the city. InterContinental Istanbul is the ideal base from which to explore this Ottoman capital city's endless historic sites, museums, restaurants, clubs and shops. Located in Taksim,commanding stunning views of the Bosphorus,Taksim,Skyline of Istanbul and the Blue Mosque,the hotel is in a short walk from Dolmabahce Palace and Lutfi Kirdar Congress Hall. Our attentive staff will also point out your desired places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Istanbul Ceylan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing