We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Sweet Turkish Delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Istanbul
Ranked #94 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My second visit to IST as I was captivated by the cities exotic and romantic feel. While last time I stayed at a never nice sister IHG hotel just outside of the historic district, this time I decided to pamper myself and did I ever. Everything about this hotel gives your a worldly first glass feel while not being overly pretentious. From the doorman welcome, front desk, pool attendance and housekeeper, the service was impeccable. The spa, gym, pool, all top notch. While the hotel is not close to the major attractions, they are all very accessible and an inexpensive taxi side.

Room Tip: There are so many views but I recommend a high floor looking out towards the busy Bosphorus which is...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SchneeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Schnee Traveler,

Many thanks for your comments regarding our rooms, staff and services rendered at the hotel during your visit.

Looking forward to welcoming you again ina near future.

Kind Regards,
Victoria Yıldırım
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,772)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Istanbul
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

948 - 954 of 1,772 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in InterContinental for two days. The people at reception were helpful and pleasant. Our rooms were booked on non-smoking floor and my colleague asked to move her to a smoking floor; instead of placing us on different floors the service people give an ashtray. If you really need non-smoking area, it is probably not possible in this hotel, but it didn’t bother me. We didn’t buy breakfast and decided to have it on the terrace. First of all I had to chase the waitress in order to ask for a menu, because we were sitting for 15 minutes and nothing happened. Also it took like 30 minutes to get a regular sandwich, coffee and French fries; although there were 3 more people sitting except us. The rooms and beds quality is good. I could sleep well there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussianSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear RussianSouth,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay in InterContinental Istabul.

We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving ourselves.

The problems that you mentioned regarding our restaurant have been brought to the attention of our management. And we are very pleased to confirm you that, we did already the necessary arrangements to prevent any mistakes in future.

As one of our valued guest, your satisfaction is one of our primary concerns. We are very sorry again for the inconveniences.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

A discreet exterior look but with a very impressive lobby with crystal- glass balustrades on the spiral staircase and marbled elevators. We checked-in at night as we had a late flight and the male staff at the reception desk was a very friendly guy by the name of Emre. He thanked us three times for being "loyal customers to the hotel brands" - our first time to hear such nice compliments as we're also regular clients to Marriott, Hilton,etc. As loyal customers, we had an upgraded Club room - lovely big room with chic furnishings, though not much impressed with the bathroom (some dark spots on the bathtub wall which needs new caulk perhaps). Buffet breakfast in the nice Veranda Restaurant was fairly good. The hotel truly deserves all the awards it received for the past years (trophies/awards are displayed in a cabinet in the lobby). Hotel staff are friendly and honest like the honest male chambermaid of our room, if not, he could have easily pocketed the diamond and wedding rings I left on the bedside table while doing the room-cleaning chores which I completely overlook to put back on my ring finger upon leaving for a sightseeing trip. Went back immediately to the hotel upon realizing the missing rings on my finger. Viola, the chambermaid was still in the room, so the rings! My husband then remarked: "it's Intercontinental Hotel!" What a big sigh of relief!!! Thank God!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aida656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Aida656,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and comments in relation to this review.

As an IHG Rewards Club member, your satisfaction is one of our primary concern. We are delighted to hear that, you were happy with our hotel and services, rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team and management.

With that occasion, again we would like to thank you for your loyalty and looking forward to welcome you again in InterContinental Istanbul.

Kind Regards,

Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This place is located just about 10 mins walk from the main hustle and bustle of the city. This property is neatly tucked in a corner of the city with excellent views from one side, the Hyatt on the opposite and the action area nearby. You have access to all shops, city center, transport and pubs within 300 metres. The breakfast is decent. Being a pure vegetarian, I did have a lot of problem not only in the hotel but the whole of Istanbul. There was hardly anything vegetarian that I could pick for myself in the Hotel menu though my friends relished the non vegetarian food served there. This place had an excellent spa and I was really impressed by the Hamam.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrakashAgrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear PrakashAgrawal,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback regarding our hotel and very happy to hear that your enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to welcome you again at the InterContinental Istanbul.

Kind Regards,
Victoria Yıldırım
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent 5 days in this hotel. All aspects of this hotel were excellent. Lobby, reception, check in, rooms, staff daily housekeeping. Pool was good but some parts of spa should be improved(saunas). Hammam was great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelersbanjaluka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Travelersbanjaluka,

Many thanks for your comments regarding our rooms, staff and services rendered at the hotel
during your visit.

Kind Regards,

Victoria Yıldırım
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in Istanbul at the end of May before the recent troubles. The hotel and its staff were welcoming as we stepped in out of the heat of our taxi journey. The reception staff were charming and helpful and helped us organise a museum pass for the following day - a real tip if you are planning to see a number of the historical sites.

We were shown up to our room which had a corner view of both city (the Blue Mosque & Sultanahmet) and the Bosphorous. Drinks in the Club lounge were followed by an excellent dinner in the hotel's traditional Turkish restaurant, Safran. I had a sublime seafood dish and my partner enjoyed the lamb. The view is spectacular as the restaurant is on the top floor. Yes, you do pay for the view but we really thought the food was worth it too.

Our room was comfortable and well looked after during our stay.

We used the swimming pool and spa area - again a tranquil respite from the hot streets and bustling tourist areas. Attnetive staff provided a good drinks and snacks service.

Although the hotel is situated away from the historical sites, the convenience of the funicular railway and tram make this a good base for your stay. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greytigger35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and comments in relation to this review.
We are delighted to hear that you were happy with our hotel and services, rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team and management and read with pride.
Once again, thank you for your kind observations and review recommendations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Victoria Yildirim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Excellent Location (near Metro station).
Service and staff are good and they guide us where to go in Istanbul.
Room very clean and equipped with everything.
View and food in the Roof Restaurant is excellent.
Internet is expansive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rami T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback regarding our City Lights Bar & Restaurant and very happy to hear that your enjoyed your visit.
Kindly be informed that our hotel is providing free internet access of 512 Kb to all our hotel guests.

We look forward to welcome you again at the InterContinental Istanbul.

Kind Regards,
Victoria Yıldırım

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#67 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,769 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#56 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,342 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#96 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#112 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,614 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#66 of 1,159 in Istanbul
477 reviews
Beyoglu
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
#123 of 1,159 in Istanbul
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Istanbul

Address: Asker Ocagi Cad 1 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#39 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#69 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#72 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#80 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $96 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star ambiance at Istanbul's one of the best address and in the heart of the city. InterContinental Istanbul is the ideal base from which to explore this Ottoman capital city's endless historic sites, museums, restaurants, clubs and shops. Located in Taksim,commanding stunning views of the Bosphorus,Taksim,Skyline of Istanbul and the Blue Mosque,the hotel is in a short walk from Dolmabahce Palace and Lutfi Kirdar Congress Hall. Our attentive staff will also point out your desired places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, IHG, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Istanbul Ceylan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing