We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Istanbul
Ranked #102 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We just returned from a long weekend in Instanbul. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Our room included the club lounge; here the service was terrific and the view from the lounge outstanding. They offered wine, beer and hors d'oeuvres from 6-8. The food was so plentiful that we didn't need dinner. Breakfast was offered here, too. We also went to the bar on the top floor. Again, great view.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABalci, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and comments in relation to this review.
We are delighted to hear that you were happy with the hotel and our services, rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team with pride.
Once again, thank you for your kind observations and review recommendations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    515
    133
    37
    22
See reviews for
298
506
114
547
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Ceylan is a good representation of the Intercontinental brand. The hotel is of a high standard with comfortable rooms, well equipped bathrooms and good dining options. The breakfast was particularly good. The rooftop bar is great. I was impressed with the service on all levels. The location is top notch with Taksim Square just minutes away. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank culchavulcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABalci, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and comments in relation to this review.
We are delighted to hear that you were happy with the hotel, breakfast, City Lights Bar & Restaurant, room and services, rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team with pride.
Once again, thank you for your kind observations and review recommendations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I checked in on Monday, 29th October, 2012. I had bought two alcoholic drinks (Chivas Regal) one at Bahrain international airport and one upon arrival at Ataturk Intl'e airport. My intention was to go back with both if not one to avoid the hussle of passing through the duty free shops again. I was informed my room, 104 was ready by midday, so i took my notebook n duty free bags to my room escorted by a porter. I placed my luggage in the cupboard and the two drinks in the shelf, then i went back to the conference room. I came back to my room around 8pm and found one bottle and its box missing. I immediately called the duty manager and they checked the door access info. Later they called me and said 'only the housekeeping had been there, and the person is very faithful to take anything', so i was told. Next day, i asked the duty manageress if there were any update and she said 'there's nothing they can do and if i want i can go to the security room and check the cctv footage of who went in and out of my room' politely. I told her i still had the receipt as proof, but i might has well been singing to her. On 1/11/12, i requested if i could check out at 3 pm instead of 12 pm, and was told 'not possible' at the reception by one who knew about the incident. Then, as though to make sure that i don't come back again, a porter broke my luggage handle as he brought it to my waiting taxi. I decided not to complain, because it would fall on deaf ears anyway. I can't believe this could happen in a reputed international hotel as Intercon. Just this one incident ruined my whole visit to Istanbul.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABalci, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding our hotel and service. We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to bring this matter to our attention. Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your comments that we are able to improve the service we offer guests at Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.
Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused and please be assured that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate department for corrective action.
We do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully,
Victoria Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Istanbul is a great city, but it is lovely to get up above and look out on the Bosphorus, the lighted bridge to Asia. The Ceylan offers a great view and also the relative quiet of the Taksim district. The bar and formal restaurant on the top floor are wonderful places to watch the city lights come on while enjoying lovely service, good food and drink. This hotel offers a better location than the Kempinski or the four Seasons along the water and more quiet than the Four Seasons in town. The breakfast buffet is staggering!

Room Tip: I think all rooms look out over the Bosphorus, but you should confirm this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriptheLifeFantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABalci, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and comments in relation to this review.
We are delighted to hear that you were happy with the hotel and our services, rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team with pride.
Once again, thank you for your kind observations and review recommendations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights in September. The room was well-appointed, although the furniture and decor were a bit old. The breakfast buffet, however, is excellent and worth it, even in a city full of culinary delights waiting to be discovered. The location of the hotel is good, and there are several amenities on the property, including a pool and an excellent gym. The service was generally good, however, the people front desk were frequently discourteous, and downright rude at times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yushingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABalci, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay and we appreciated the time you have taken to bring it to our attention, because it is through your constructive comments that we are able to improve the service we offer guests in Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Yours faithfully,
Victoria Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I've stayed in a few Istanbul hotels and this is by far the best.

Excellent location, outstanding service - everyone speaks English as well as a variety of languages.

Beautiful spa and rooftop bar. Rooms are extremely comfortable and all needs are catered for.

Breakfast is AMAZING, one of the best. Beautiful views on the front-facing rooms with a floor-to-ceiling window.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sosab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABalci, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback.

We are delighted to hear that you were happy with the hotel and especially the service extended by our staff while you were staying with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Kind Regards,
Victoria Yıldırım
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Dear Sirs,

My 1st trip to Istanbul was on 21 July 2012, my stay @ Ceylan Intercontinental Hotel for 3 nights .i would like to thx you to your good hospitality with all your team with my best regards.
hope will coming back soon to your hotel

NAyla El Merheb

Room Tip: Higher floors have a good view and quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nayla e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABalci, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review on our hotel. We are more than pleased to learn that you were dilighted with your stay in Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Victoria Yıldırım
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#77 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,699 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#117 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,495 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#98 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#68 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,287 reviews
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#84 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,105 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#71 of 1,141 in Istanbul
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Istanbul

Property: InterContinental Istanbul
Address: Asker Ocagi Cad 1 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#38 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#73 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#75 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#81 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star ambiance at Istanbul's one of the best address and in the heart of the city. InterContinental Istanbul is the ideal base from which to explore this Ottoman capital city's endless historic sites, museums, restaurants, clubs and shops. Located in Taksim,commanding stunning views of the Bosphorus,Taksim,Skyline of Istanbul and the Blue Mosque,the hotel is in a short walk from Dolmabahce Palace and Lutfi Kirdar Congress Hall. Our attentive staff will also point out your desired places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Istanbul Ceylan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing