We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Istanbul
Ranked #91 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Arriving after a 2-hour ride from the airport was like stepping into an oasis of calm. Every member of staff I met was friendly, courteous and helpful; nothing seemed too much trouble. The room had views over the city and the Bosphorus and was not huge but clean and well laid out. Location good, but watch out for traffic issues if you're returning from Sultanahmet late afternoon!

Room Tip: Views of the Bosphorus from East and South facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vt356b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABalci, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding our hotel, rooms, services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team here and read with pride.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Yours faithfully,
Victoria Yildirim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,075 - 1,081 of 1,803 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

Right from the moment we arrived at the hotel till the time we checked out, we had an outstanding experience in this wonderful hotel.

My wife and I arrived early in the morning, almost an hour earlier than we had indicated and way earlier than standard check in time. With the hotel being fully booked our room was not yet ready so Yasin asked us to wait so he can give us a temporary room as we had a long flight getting in to Istanbul. He was very apologetic since I was a Platinum Ambassador. I believe he would have done the same for anyone else. After a short wait he informed us that in order not to inconvenience us further, the hotel had upgraded us to an executive suite which was well above the standard upgrade to a Platinum Ambassador. The hotel informed me that even though I was using my points for the stay I shall be getting every priviledge as a Platinum Ambassador . . they went well beyond that to make our stay comfortable.

The room # 915 was a corner suite with a wonderful view of the Bosphorous. In the evening you could also see the sunset due to the unique structure of the hotel and the corner rooms/suites.

The location of the hotel allowed us to reach Taksim Square, Istiklal Cadessi and the Bosphoros, where many good restaurants are located, within a short walk.

I read some comments earlier that the rooms looked old and needed an upgrade. Not ours! Yes, there were some signs like door knobs loosing their shiny quoting but i dont care one bit about it considering how wonderful everything else is.

We did not use any of the restaurants but the top floor bar overlooking the Bosphoros was wonderful. Considering the ambience and view it's not disproportionately expenses.

Overall the service was outstanding, concierge very helpful and staff always smiling. I rank this among the best hotels I have stayed in and definitely top 3 among the 30 odd Intercontinental Hotels worldwide that I had the pleasure of staying.

Room Tip: They have unique rooms at two ends of the hotel that allow you to see the sunrise over the Bosphorou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnab1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABalci, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and comments in relation to this review.
We are delighted to hear that you were happy with the hotel, Concierge, room and services, rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team with pride.
Once again, thank you for your kind observations and review recommendations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Victoria Yildirim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Very nice view of the area around the hotel from our room!!
We had a room facing the Vosporos bridge, on the 14th floor, it was very nice, especially night time!!!
Also do not miss the bar on the top floor!!!
The service was very good!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fortygr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABalci, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding our hotel, services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team here and read with pride.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Yours faithfully,
Victoria Yildirim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

to be honest, I'd put a fat "ZERO" for this hotel for many reasons! their food, small rooms, old shower rooms as if they were constructed tens of years ago.. c'mon people do a nice renovation and your hotel's good location and brand will make you leaders! this was my first trip to Istanbul and was booked by our travel agent but I'm going to de-recommend my colleagues from staying here unless they have strong (business) reasons to do it. My second stay (in much cheeper and nicer -- see my other comment) hotel this year brought my hope of a-good-hotel-service-in-Istanbul back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenevieve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABalci, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay and we appreciated the time you have taken to bring it to our attention.

Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your constructive comments that we are able to improve the service we offer guests in Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.
Yours faithfully,
Victoria Yildirim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Everything was simply perfect. Perfect rooms. Perfect staff. Concierge could not have been more helpful or pleasant. Staff at front desk were absolutely perfect. Food and service in the restaurants were amazing. My wife said she never wants to stay anywhere else but the ceylan hotel again. I could not recommend this hotel more highly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finallyavacation32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABalci, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and comments in relation to this review.
We are delighted to hear that you were happy with the hotel,and services.
Once again, thank you for your kind observations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Victoria Yildirim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I had a getaway long week end with my wife in Istanbul, Intercontinental Ceylan was our choice.
First the reception area was professional beyond expectations, then the rooms were perfectly suited with all our needs, cleanliness, and view, though it was a partial sea view yet it was very nice.
The breakfast was excellent, and room service was very well presented.
Door bell and bell boys were very helpful and aboce all the hotel location was great, few steps from a metro station, 10 minute walk to Taksim square yet very far from the noise of the crowds.

I would highly recomend this hotel for couples, business or leisure.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABalci, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and comments in relation to this review.
We are delighted to hear that you were happy with the hotel, breakfast, room and services.
Once again, thank you for your kind observations and review recommendations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Victoria Yildirim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I enjoyed the hotel where we had great service and the location was great very close to Taksim square.

The only comment that it is a bit old hotel but overall i recommend you consider if you can afford.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eghosheh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABalci, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you liked your stay at Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Victoria Yildirim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#71 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,808 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#105 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,667 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,163 in Istanbul
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#54 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,376 reviews
Beyoglu
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
#125 of 1,163 in Istanbul
663 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#93 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Istanbul

Address: Asker Ocagi Cad 1 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#38 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#68 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#72 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#80 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $95 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star ambiance at Istanbul's one of the best address and in the heart of the city. InterContinental Istanbul is the ideal base from which to explore this Ottoman capital city's endless historic sites, museums, restaurants, clubs and shops. Located in Taksim,commanding stunning views of the Bosphorus,Taksim,Skyline of Istanbul and the Blue Mosque,the hotel is in a short walk from Dolmabahce Palace and Lutfi Kirdar Congress Hall. Our attentive staff will also point out your desired places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Splitty, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Istanbul Ceylan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing