We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5 Star Hotel that deserves every star!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Istanbul
Ranked #93 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I spent 16 nights in this hotel while attending professional conferences. Not once did I tire of the breakfast buffet items. I also ate at the Garden Grille several times during my stay. The restaurant topside was closed for remodeling. I did have the opportunity to enjoy the view and drinks at the bar.

First of all I must mention the staff. I think every one of them must go to a charm school before they are hired. The hostess at the breakfast buffet is professional, courteous, and friendly. Need I mention that she has a regal walk.

I had a slight problem one of the first days, but the staff are problem solvers. The doormen who hail the taxis provide you with a slip of paper on which the license of the taxi is written on one side and the other a list of estimated fares for many of the more common attractions.

The room was comfortable, the bed provided a great sleep, and I had a great view of the Bosphorus that was easy on the eyes. I never tired of it.

The concierge was extremely helpful in arranging a couple of day trips: one to Efes and another to Princess Islands. As a woman traveling alone I was comforted by the fact the tour companies were ones which the hotel frequently did business.

As a woman traveling alone I found this hotel extremely comfortable! On my birthday a floral arrangement appeared in my room. Also at dinner the staff of the Grille brought me a birthday cheesecake with sparklers and sang "happy birthday" to me. What a great memory.

In recent years I have traveled a great deal and I would say this is the BEST hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VYildirim, Guest Relations Officer at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride.

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Faithfully yours,
Asli Balci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,772)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Istanbul
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,176 - 1,182 of 1,772 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

In for only an overnight pre-cruise. Didn't know what to expect after reading some of the other reviews on this site. From our perspective, we found the location very convenient, easy access to Istiklal Caddesi for an evening stroll (with the rest of Istanbul) and quick to get to a tram for access to Sultanahmet to all major tourist attractions. Rooms (standard for us) were perfectly adequate in size and their attention to detail included recognition that it was my birthday (from my passport I guess at check-in) resulting in a complementary flower arrangement brought up to the room within 5 minutes of arrival. Breakfast buffet was very nice. This was included in our room package and so I could not comment on value. All staff encountered were professional, courteous and helpful. In short, everything that an ICH should be.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VYildirim, Guest Relations Officer at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding the staff during your visit.

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Faithfully yours,
Asli Balci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The hotel is very well located; it’s away from the Taksim noise yet only a minute’s walk to the business heart of Istanbul. The reception was perfect and we got an early check-in at 10:00 and they even gave us a room on a high floor with partial Bosphorus view upon our request. The breakfast was also good. All this made us wish we had stayed longer as we only had booked one night with the hotel.
The only downside was the standard rooms being a bit cramped and the beds which were not big enough for anyone taller than 6 feet!

Room Tip: Get Bosphorus view rooms on highest possible floor.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank AG4E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VYildirim, Guest Relations Officer at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride.

Faithfully yours,
Asli Balci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The rooms are neat ,clean and spacious with nice views. Importantly the hotel is close to Taksim Square and Istiklal Street (10 min walk) ..which is one of the most happening places in the city.
Taxis are easily available..you need to bargain every time or they rip you off. Breakfast was good. The Bar on the top flr (Nth floor) offers a great view of the Bosphorus .The hotel is very expensive..so enjoy the view...but its best to eat/drink outside.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VYildirim, Guest Relations Officer at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Dear Guest,

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Faithfully yours,
Asli Balci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Extremely satisfied with this hotel. While somewhat pricey, the service and experience was very well done.

While maybe not the real hamam experience, this was a very well managed and staffed spa and relax area. I have even visited here after company put me in another hotel where I was not happy. Very nice facility.

The top floor lounge had great views, atmosphere and great presentation with service of drinks.

The breakfast was very well maintained with good signs identifying all the items. Varried daily the three nights stayed there. They had anything you wanted to order along with a huge varried buffet.

The hotel had a very cosmopolitan atmosphere and the staff were excellent. While not really happy with the restaurant recomendation, the concierge station was always staffed with 2 excellent concierges.

Very efficient check-in and check-out. Handled complicated departure well with partial to business, spliting charges and payment in two currencies. Obviously well-trained experienced international staff.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VYildirim, Guest Relations Officer at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride.

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Faithfully yours,
Asli Balci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We decided to stay in Intercontinental because of the location near Taksim and because of the possibility to stay near Bosphorus. Hotel is in good condition, room nice and clean with nice view to the sea.
Breakfast buffet with all you need, warm and cold but I think a little bit expensive. But nearby are nice coffee shops to have breakfast or the best idea is to go by taxi 5 minutes to the seaside and have breakfast in Hotel “the house”. Very nice location directly at the water with all you need!
Pool is very nice for relaxing after a day of walking and don´t forget to have a drink in the roof bar.
We ask at the reception for restaurant recommendations, we had nice dinners in Topaz and Borsa near convention center. Both restaurants were very good, expensive but not typical Turkish restaurants. 360 were also recommended but it was fully booked that days.
At least we had really good meal at Hamdi restaurant near bazaar.
Istanbul is a very nice town, clean and Turkish people were friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbumblebee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VYildirim, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride.

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Faithfully yours,
Victoria Yildirim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I stayed in the hotel for one night in May 2011 on a business trip. The hotel has a fabulous view and has all the amenities that a business traveller would require. The roof top resturant and bar has a phenomenal view. Being located at Taksim also helps in accessing the Istanbul if one wants to step out.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHVISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VYildirim, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit.

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Faithfully yours,
Victoria Yildirim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#67 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,770 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#56 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,341 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#96 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#110 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,612 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#66 of 1,159 in Istanbul
475 reviews
Beyoglu
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
#126 of 1,159 in Istanbul
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Istanbul

Address: Asker Ocagi Cad 1 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#39 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#68 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#72 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#80 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $96 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star ambiance at Istanbul's one of the best address and in the heart of the city. InterContinental Istanbul is the ideal base from which to explore this Ottoman capital city's endless historic sites, museums, restaurants, clubs and shops. Located in Taksim,commanding stunning views of the Bosphorus,Taksim,Skyline of Istanbul and the Blue Mosque,the hotel is in a short walk from Dolmabahce Palace and Lutfi Kirdar Congress Hall. Our attentive staff will also point out your desired places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Istanbul Ceylan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing