We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are rushed I wouldn't bother”

Istanbul Archaeological Museums
Book In Advance
More Info
$260.82*
and up
Ancient City of Ephesus House of Mother Mary Archeology Museum Basilica of St...
More Info
$169.54*
and up
Private Guiding Service in Istanbul
More Info
$130.00*
and up
Luxury Small-Group Tour of Imperial Istanbul Including Lunch
Ranked #26 of 1,061 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Besides its importance as the first Turkish museum, it remains one of the world's largest museums with over one million works. Opened to the public in 1891, it houses a collection of Greek, Roman and Byzantine artifacts.
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you are rushed I wouldn't bother”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Although it was nice, there wasn't much information about the objects and personally in hindsight I wouldn't have wasted my time going, since I was there for a short about of time

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank athe0006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,156
    1,013
    389
    86
    19
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“I expected more”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I think a city like Istanbul could have done better. The layout is really bad and the light in some areas quite deficient. I just expected more, but still something you cannot miss.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Toret8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

A Museum Pass will let you skip the queue. Once inside there are a couple of buildings to visit and a cafe. There is quite a lot on show and information panels are in English (and Turkish). In the main building there is not an obvious order to the way you are directed around the rooms but I enjoyed it all the same.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mosspiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good museum if you like archaeology”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I visited this museum with my 14 year old daughter, there were some aspects that she found interesting and others that she just wanted to go through very quickly. As it is not a very expensive entrance fee, I would say that it is worth a visit. We rented the headphones, which I found good to explain some of what we saw. I personally found some of the sarcophaguses very interesting.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Under restoration”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This museum ıs an excellent museum but due to restoratıon going on at the second floor
Many halls are closed to the visit and limited.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ephesusguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istanbul Archaeological Museums also viewed

 

Been to Istanbul Archaeological Museums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing