We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing castle”

Yedikule (Castle of the Seven Towers)
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This fortress of walls helped to protect the city but its towers were also used to house prisoners as well as the state's treasury.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
94 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Amazing castle”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Thanks to enigma2007 who advised me to take bus 80T Yedikule-Taksim so I could visit Yedikule Castle. Very easy transportation as the bus stops in front of the steel gate of the castle.

What I can write about this castle: amazingly breathtaking beautiful! Although a lot of maintenance and additional barrier / protection needed especially for children and the ones who fear of height / acrophobia (like me!), I am personally impressed by this castle with amazing view across the sea from the top of it. There are not a lot of tourists visited as the location is not in the touristic area such as Sultanahment or Beyoglu.

Some tips:
*Torchlight may be useful especially if you plan to climb all the existence towers.
*The bus can be less regular during the weekend, so it will be wise to check when the bus departs from halte.
*As it is situated in local residence area, there is no place to chill out, no restaurant, no cafe. There is only one small bakery shop and local shop.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Lanni_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    30
    15
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Amazing and Quiet Site”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This place is amazing and quiet. I would recomend it to anyone who has saw all the wanted to see of the main sites. Definitely worth the trek to the suburbs. The fee is pretty minimal.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Nice if you saw everything”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The line of local trains is closed (started from August 12,2013. We've been there September 09, 2013 and it was closed). You can take a bus from Eminenu to Edicule. Almost nobody there. Rumeli Hisari is better but if you have seen everything in Istanbul already nice to visit Castle of the seven towels and all the wall also. We spent about 4 hours for the trip from Edicule to Golden Horn along the ancient walls. Price - 10 TL

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank IrinaPalivoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must see!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is out of the way and the tram does not run by it. A local took us there and it was worth the short carpet sales pitch when we were done. It is amazing to see something built in 404 AD. We went in the towers but a flashlight would have been helpful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic castle away from the bustling tourist areas.”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Came here after reading the reviews because we enjoy viewing older buildings that have little restorations done to them. This place did not disappoint, it was amazing to be able to explore the castle without any red tape, some areas are a bit steep but anyone with a sound mind and body should be fine to look around. Highly recommend for anyone looking for a history rich castle off the beaten trail.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Violets101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yedikule (Castle of the Seven Towers) also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing