We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“shouldn't be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Topkapi Palace

Topkapi Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.00*
and up
Skip the Line: Topkapi Palace Tour in Istanbul Including Imperial Harem
Ranked #7 of 1,033 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This enormous palace was the Imperial residence of Ottoman sultans for almost 400 years. Although much of the palace is not accessible, the daily tours of the Harem are of great interest to tourists.
Coldingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“shouldn't be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is well worth the money and the cafe was relaxing and efficient and has glorious views over the Bosphorous. Don't miss the Harem!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank vanorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20,524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12,904
    5,319
    1,845
    360
    96
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Queues for miles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Hopefully your visit wont coincide with cruise ships visits. We had to queue for three quarters of an hour in the heat to buy a ticket. Once in side the crowds thinned for most rooms except for two, I did not think the extra money spent on seeing the harem was worth it. Probably allow 2 - 3 hours to visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2012kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not worth your time or money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I've been to Topkapi Palace only once, and it was enough for me. Basically, you go from room to room and let at clothes and items that belonged to the Sultan. Not too interesting for me.

There are also some questionable historical items such as the footprint of Mohammed and the staff of Moses.

The grounds are beautiful, but there are other places of beauty I would rather see.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gallascpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A beautiful palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

This place is well worth spending a morning at. This is a beautiful and interesting palace in a fantastic location, there are 4 courtyards each one interesting in its own way. The treasury is crowded but probably worth the short queue. We didn't visit the Harem which is an extra 15TL once you are inside as there are plenty of other things to see including the fantastic view over the Bosphorus. There were only short queues for the entry tickets and no one at the self service machines that we used - 30TL each - so don't know if other comments about long waits are true !! The restaurant has fantastic views (fourth courtyard) but prices to match !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank john M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

It's an incredible view into the lives of the Ottoman Sultans and other members of court. The treasures and religious relics section, which include jeweled daggers, thrones, and supposedly even Moses' staff, is worth the visit for itself. There are oddities like a Circumsion room (where they cut the princes) and fantastic views of the city. I visited the Harem section on another trip, but I didn't feel like buying the extra ticket on this last trip. I never understood why they don't price them together.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samrionce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topkapi Palace also viewed

 

Been to Topkapi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing