We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but crowded” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Topkapi Palace

Topkapi Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.00*
and up
Skip the Line: Topkapi Palace Tour in Istanbul Including Imperial Harem
Ranked #7 of 1,033 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This enormous palace was the Imperial residence of Ottoman sultans for almost 400 years. Although much of the palace is not accessible, the daily tours of the Harem are of great interest to tourists.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good but crowded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Masses of people so beware. But very interesting, esp if you like ceramics? Use museum pass to help avoid lines.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RANDALL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20,386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12,805
    5,296
    1,833
    357
    95
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
127 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is also on the Istanbul museum pass and it includes the Harem. The harem was a series of very ornate tiled rooms and lavish rooms where the sultan had sex with them. It was OK, but if not using the museum pass, I am not sure if it worth the extra 10 Lira.

The rest of the palace was neat. There is a section where relics of Mohammad are stored. While I question how authentic they are, it was worth your time to see them. The good and jewels were stunning and the grounds were enjoyable to walk around in. We went pretty quickly through here and still spent a solid four hours so give yourselves plenty of time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mataturider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The palace is fabulous the audio tour is not good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

The palace is really impressive. Sadly the queues are terrible. We rented the audio tours and two of them failed within the first 15 minutes. Not good! I would not recommend renting one as there are very good signs around that give as much if not more info.
It is a shame that none of it is furnished properly like the European palaces.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank stadders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wow !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

What can you say about this place as well !?!Amazing, I think we spent about 4 or 5 hours wandering around, also some stunning views of the Bosphorous !! Do be prepared for crowds and queues, we went on the Friday, maybe unlucky, but lots of schoolchildrenon trips, very noisy, very badly behaved, might pay to give it a miss, on Fridays ?

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kingfisher75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
183 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This one is in my opinion the best landmark of Istanbul. Just make sure to buy the “Museum Pass” in order to save some money for the visit. There are a lot of rooms to see, in order to understand better the life of the ancient Istanbul. You can enjoy as well a nice view from the different terrace.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Naro1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topkapi Palace also viewed

 

Been to Topkapi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing