We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many people”
Review of Topkapi Palace

Topkapi Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.75*
and up
Private Tour: Istanbul’s Ottoman Experience Including Topkapi Palace and Blue...
More Info
$69.30*
and up
The Legends of History Tour: Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace in Istanbul
More Info
$47.79*
and up
Skip the Line: Topkapi Palace Including Süleymaniye Mosque and Ceramics...
Ranked #7 of 1,071 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This enormous palace was the Imperial residence of Ottoman sultans for almost 400 years. Although much of the palace is not accessible, the daily tours of the Harem are of great interest to tourists.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Too many people”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We didn't have a chance to stop even for 30 seconds in front of the most interesting for us pieces because guards were rushing us to go. Yes, Topkapi palace is interesting, has many beautiful places to see, but most of rooms are empty so you can't imagine how they lived in this rooms. Nice views, but you have to stand in queues to treasury and than in next one to next part of treasury and so on. Extra fee for Harem shouldn't be charged.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21,097 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13,301
    5,438
    1,886
    371
    101
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, VA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Too crowded”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Check the cruise ship schedule before you go. It was beautiful but WAY too many people. We heard that going in the afternoon as opposed to opening time is much better.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank halehp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Big lineups, go early!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Beautiful palace! I'm glad I chose to go to Topkapi Palace and Harem 1st thing in the morning before the long lineups form. Only negative is that there are separate lineups for Palace, Harem and Audioguide. It would be better if you could purchase all at one location and transaction.
Great collection of jewels. Nice view of city and Bospherous!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank canuckjammer63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and vast - plan on some serious time”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The museum exhibits are so intriguing, and the grounds and Palace buildings are vast. Loved it, but was there for about 4 hours, when had thought maybe 2. Definitely worth it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lifefullcolor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Another great site in Istanbul”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We arrived early to try and beat the crowds but the Palace was already very busy. We were a bit surprised at the entrance fee of 25 lira (approx 13 euros, seemed expensive for Turkey) per person but once inside it was worth it. We had to pay extra again to enter the Harem, but that was the highlight of the visit to the Palace so we were ok with paying! The Harem exhibition was interesting and educational, but some of the other exhibitions were so busy that we couldn't be bothered to wait in line.

Overall, a must see in Istanbul but we would definitely advise to go when it is not so busy! Leave at least an hour and a half to see the place (if you are a quick tourist) or more if you like to wander and absorb at great length!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topkapi Palace also viewed

 

Been to Topkapi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing