We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its not as grand”
Review of Egyptian Bazaar

Egyptian Bazaar
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar
Ranked #6 of 536 Shopping in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Spices, dried fruits, nuts and seeds are among the many treasures to be found at this bazaar also known as the Spice Market.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Its not as grand”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Small but a must see. Some nice pictures on the spices piled high and some great haglin but you will always find cheaper it the way of the bazaar. Saffron 20 tl for 3 little cases down from 30. Around the corner 5 each. It happens but haggle more on your other purchases to make up for mistakes made and best forgotten :D Enjoy

Helpful?
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    810
    592
    196
    36
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“For tourists”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

It is much smaller than expected and much less food based - many touristy ceramic/scarf shops.
We found the cheapest spice shop with most selection to be furthest away from the port on last corner on the right - managed to find all the spices we couldnt find at home. 3 bags of about 80g each came to 7tl.
Worth seeing if your passing through or want spices- otherwise give it a miss.
Better & cheaper turkish delight from Hafiz Mustafa tea shop near the Aya Sofia.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelReviewer8391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Take a look if you are in the area”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Definitely worth taking a look if you are in the general area. It's not as big as I imagined, and it takes 5 minutes to walk through if you don't stop. I've read that you should not buy the saffron here b/c it's actually safflower. Also, they sell caviar for relatively cheap, but you might be scammed unless you know your caviar well. I bought Turkish delight and thought the Turkish delight at the specialty shops you see all over Istanbul tasted fresher, but maybe I went to the wrong vendor.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank spf701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
311 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
“Wonderful flair”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Egyptian Bazaar (Spice Bazaar) is truly a paradise of spices, Turkish Delights, Honey, fresh nuts and candy, dried fruit, jewelry and many local souvenirs, all surprisingly reasonably priced. The colors and scents are amazing! The vendors don't seem to be as ambitious (aka pushy) and a little friendlier here than in the Grand Bazaar. It has a real 1001 Arabian Nights feeling, like being in a Souk somewhere in Morocco. We loved it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dream of the bazar lover!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I hate modern shopping malls so I practically went nuts when I entered the Spice Bazar (its more commonly known as Spice Bazar compared to Egyptian Bazar though it was set up by the Egyptians 400 years ago).

From sundried fruits, to spices, to Turkish delight: the crowds, the scents, the colors, the atmosphere is simply thrilling! We loved the Malatya Pazari shop in the spice bazar: it is one of Turkey's most famous spice shops with over 150 branches and we found their rates to be very reasonable compared to other shops. We got home Turkish sweet paprika, Turkish red chilli and a 20-spice mix, as well as mixed-nuts Turkish delight, sun-dried apple hibiscus tea (simply FABULOUS! But check to make sure it is sun-dried and not oven dried), and a mix of dried cranberries, prunes and cherries. We also got instant pomegranate tea and sultan tea from the Hazer Baba shop which is quite steeply priced. Now I only wish I had got more, more and MORE of it all!

All the spices and fruits are vaccum sealed for freshness and so that you can carry them back home without fear of them spilling out. Don't buy plates, Turkish tea cups and scarves and stuff from the spice bazar though, they are obviously higher priced as it is a tourist spot. You will find the same stuff and even the spices for cheaper in the small lanes outside the bazar, but you'll have to compare the quality and freshness of the spices to make sure it's the same.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZKCtravellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Egyptian Bazaar also viewed

 

Been to Egyptian Bazaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing