We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite of the three bazaars”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Egyptian Bazaar

Egyptian Bazaar
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar
Ranked #6 of 536 Shopping in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Spices, dried fruits, nuts and seeds are among the many treasures to be found at this bazaar also known as the Spice Market.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Favorite of the three bazaars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Between the Grand Bazaar, the Egyptian Bazaar, and the Arasta Bazaar, the Egyptian Bazaar was my and my travel companions' favorite. It's not overwhelmingly big like the Grand Bazaar but has more hustling and haggling than the Arasta Bazaar.
You can find spices, treats, and just about any type of souvenir item you'd want to take home. We also found that we could get items cheaper here than at either of the other bazaars. Just remember to haggle!
I also recommend wandering outside of the covered area of the bazaar and taking a look at some of the outside stalls. Not all outside will sell tourist items, but it's at least interesting to see as some of the locals shop outside.
You also must stop at the Mehmet Efendi coffee stand just outside the bazaar. You can pick up freshly ground Turkish coffee here. (And by freshly ground I mean they do it as you ask for it. The bag you receive will still be warm!) Definitely not something to miss!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    799
    582
    192
    36
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
245 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Super Spices Bazaar!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Super Bazaar in the heart of the city. A lot of spices, sweeties, everything that your heart desire to see and the other senses to feel. We enjoyed a lot the time there and bought few spices and coffee, very good Turkish coffee. We will go again in the next visit to Istanbul!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SafirAlbastru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Atmospheric and Colourful Contents”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Egyptian Bazaar is very atmospheric, with many spices piled high and very colourful. Take your cameras here.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsJol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The Spice Bazaar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

After coming out of the The Grand Bazaar we headed down the street passing through the street of buckles and belts, underwear, buttons and cottons, etc which lead down to the Spice Bazaar.
The bazaar is full of stalls selling spices, sweets, teas and turkish delight to name but a few.

The lovely smells of the spices tempt you in but some of the prices were quite high!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Margo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spice Market”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our hotel arranged a taxi to take us to the Spice Market and we were let out right across the street. We saw an ATM nearby and went to get some TL and were almost ripped off by someone who messed up the screen and when it wouldn't accept my card rushed over to 'help'. He palmed my debit card and wanted me to enter my PIN which I refused to do. My husband had to step in and tell him to return my card and leave which he finally did. It was our only bad experience in Turkey. Most people are friendly and helpful to Americans.

We went on a Saturday morning and the market was very crowded with locals. I had wanted to buy some apple tea and Turkish Delight to take home but wasn't sure that the prices were the best. It ended up that we got better prices at a small grocery near our hotel. Afterward we walked to the Grand Bazaar and saw the University of Istanbul while we were looking for the Mosque of Suleyman the Magnificent (which we ended up missing and didn't want to retrace our steps). If you're going to visit both start at the Grand Bazaar so you will be walking DOWNHILL to get to the Spice Market. It was quite a rigorous trek walking uphill.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Breadhead_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Egyptian Bazaar also viewed

 

Been to Egyptian Bazaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing