We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than the grand bazaar”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Egyptian Bazaar

Egyptian Bazaar
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar
Ranked #5 of 536 Shopping in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Spices, dried fruits, nuts and seeds are among the many treasures to be found at this bazaar also known as the Spice Market.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Much better than the grand bazaar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

For those people like us who are put off buy the grand bazaar because it's too big, try the egyptian/spice bazaar. Much smaller but still lots of stalls. We loved the spice displays.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank superduperScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    801
    584
    192
    36
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Skip the Grand Bazaar to Go to This Real Market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Both inside the building and in the adjacent streets, visitors mingle with locals in purchasing spices, household goods, food, and every other item on earth. The atmosphere is very much more authentic than the tourist-oriented Grand Bazaar. This is place for you to see the real istanbul, whether you want to buy anything or not.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A mixture of strong colour and exotic spices.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This market is a food lovers paradise offering Spices and Turkish Delight flavors that you could never have imagined. Have a look at the amazing colours on my picture blog, http:/hennopsrover.blogspot.com.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hennopsrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Much more interesting than the Grand Bazaar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our visit to the Spice Bazaar. We thought it was more interesting than the Grand Bazaar, which seemed like an oversized flea market. The Spice Bazaar felt a bit more local and we didn't have nearly as many people stopping us to try to sell us their wares. We enjoyed seeing the different types of spices sold at the market, as well as other types of food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank petercek81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delightful"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My first visit to Istanbul was 21 years ago. This time we headed to the Spice Market, having been to the Grand Bazaar then. Our experience was wonderful. We were literally fed with loads of baklava and Turkish delights , and the vendors there were good humoured and patient. My husband who is low vision was literally fed with Turkish delight! We stopped and had chay and coffee with baklava at a small cafe, possible quite popular as there was a crowd. I thought it was a charming place. When we are not rushed into making purchases we tend to buy more stuff!. We enjoyed this place better than the Grand Bazaar.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Egyptian Bazaar also viewed

 

Been to Egyptian Bazaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing