We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small modest "restaurant" with very good traditional food”
Review of Can Oba Restaurant

Can Oba Restaurant
Ranked #238 of 13,534 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: Seafood, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
coimbra
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small modest "restaurant" with very good traditional food”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a very small restaurant that we discovered by chance. Slightly different decoration from the surrounding ones and a very nice men (the owner) who spoke english and cooked a very good pieces of food for us. Good taste, good presentation of the plates.
Nice "marrons" (chataignes) soup - only available in october.
Very good lasanha with spinach and goat cheese.
Cheap (<25 Lyrae) - No wine or beer (near a mosque, no alcohol)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    85
    43
    18
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Little gem in Istanbul”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The chef of Can Oba is a character that makes your dinner a unique experience. He is an artist passionate about his cuisine and manages to propose delicious meals at affordable prices. We went there twice and had an amasing time, watching photos of his creations on his mobile phone and tasting meals that we have not found anywhere else. We have been offered tea, starters, chocolate, we made pictures and locals are going there too. We definitively recommend the place, you will leave happy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great choice”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Love it!! Excellent food and an amazing service. This place is a very good catch. Will definitely visit again?

Helpful?
Thank Rasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent value: Brilliant sea bass”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We ate here twice. On the first evening decent mezes, a good aubergine kebab and a brilliant sea bass with an orange sauce and blackberries - pehaps the best sea bass we have ever had. On the second night we had two sea bass and a delicious chocolate pudding. In both cases the bill was just over Tl 60.
What made the difference between merely very good and excellent was the presentation: the owner took a real pride in the lay out of the food on the plate.
An additional plus was that there was no attempt to coerce us into the restaurant by pushing menus in our faces!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummm!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This is by far the best meal i had in Istanbul! Especially since im vegetarian.. We both had the spinach lasagnia yummmmmmm! The chef n owner was so nice he gave us tea and dessert on the house! Its such a find in a very unlikely place i think im going again in this trip

Helpful?
1 Thank Kamala80
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Can Oba Restaurant also viewed

Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Can Oba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing