We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Ranked #53 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Me and my wife visited Istanbul last february and we stayed at Efendi Hotel for 5 nights. The location was the best in the city near all the mayor sites, market and the tram. The rooms were very clean, simple and satisfying for the money we paid. The best of all is the stuff. All of them were always smiling, nice, polite and ready to fulfill any request of the quests. I forgot in my room my transportation card and they found it and sent it back to me via the post. Many thanks and hi Burcu and the other guys of the stuff. I highly recommend this small hotel and I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spyros-Naz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
There are newer reviews for Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 827 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

My friends and I stayed in this hotel just for one day, but we were very happy with our stay here. After a 12 hour flight we were very tired, but the hotel was very accommodating and we settled ahead of time. The breakfast was excellent! Everything is very fresh and tasty. The rooms are not big, but clean and with a nice design. The hotel has a great location - in the heart of the historic district. Near the metro, cafes, souvenir shops and stores. I would gladly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alesya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The location is the best. You can walk to the major points of interés in the old city. Very good service, good breakfast and rooms are confortable. I relly come back to thes hotel. Thanks a lot for all the staff .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Balkis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Not sure why this hotel is so well rated, other than an amazing location. You can walk to all the historic sites, good restaurants and a major tram stop. It's on a quiet street so it's not as busy as other hotels in this area (warning: cabs can't find it). The breakfast was plentiful (though not high quality) and had long hours, BUT the rooms are extremely small (and I've traveled a lot in major European cities and in NY, I'm used to small rooms, but this was extreme). Some rooms completely lack windows, which isn't safe. We asked to be moved from a room with no windows and our request was met the next day, but we weren't told that we'd be charged extra for it and were strapped with a fee upon checkout - not professional. The walls are very thin; you can hear your neighbors snoring and the loud staff in halls during the very early morning hours. Some outlets didn't work, the bathroom was a bit moldy, and one day we had a sewage smell in the bathroom. Staff was average. We got a good price and loved the location, but for full price we would have been upset, especially since we got very little sleep.

Room Tip: ask for a room with windows!
Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank abminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The most remarkable aspect of this hotel is the staff at the reception. My biggest thanks specially to two of them, Urku and the only female member of the receptionists (sorry, I forgot your name but turkish names are so difficult to remember!!). We were three friends who arrived in Istambul without any plan and thanks to their willingness to help and the telephones calls and computer searchs they did for guided tours, opening hours, train timetables, etc. we made right in that hotel almost the entire planning for our 17 days in Turkey. We spent our two last nights of our trip again at the Efendi hotel and we were again impressed by their helpfulness

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

very quiet and comfortable hotel,very kind staff,and very dilicious breakfast.And the transfer sevice is very good.We arrived at about 6:00 early morning,and our room was ready.
The hotel is very near to The Blue Mosque,very very good lacation.I hope some day I can go back to the hotel again.
I booked the room online by photos,and the room is just same as the photos.My room is underground,But all the light and the ventilation are good.Air condition and the bathroom are all good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank matrix518008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

In the heart of the old city. Cozy, with contemporary feel. Steps to restaurants, shops, tram, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, short walk to Topkapi, etc. Nice amenities include complementary wifi and buffet breakfast. They even arranged 4am transport to the airport when we left. Staff spoke enough English to communicate.

But one thing needs noting: the lobby is below ground level, and there are two levels below that. Half of those rooms don't have windows (is that even legal?? what if there's a fire?)... so, yes, it is important to ask for a room with a window. We were initially given one of these window-free rooms, though the next day they moved us to an upstairs room with a french balcony (there was a room change fee, which we didn't know until we checked out).

Noise in the hallway late at night was an issue, couldn't tell if it was staff or guests coming in/out in all hours. Also there was a lot of renovation going on, leading to additional noise and hallway mess.

Provided you're aware of the window-optional thing, this is a very decent place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window... yes, some rooms actually don't have windows. Maybe this isn'...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#22 of 1,159 in Istanbul
309 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#30 of 1,159 in Istanbul
304 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#65 of 1,159 in Istanbul
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#52 of 1,159 in Istanbul
984 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#50 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,532 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#68 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"

Address: Alemdar Mah. Hoca Rustem Mektebi Sok. No:9-11, Istanbul 34112, Turkey (Formerly Efendi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $49 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class" 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Efendi Hotel is only 300 meters from the Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace. The Grand bazaar is a an 8-minute walk from Efendi Hotel. Local restaurants, bars and cafes are within a couple minutes’ walk away. On our Rooftop Terrace you can become familiar with Turkish Breakfast Culture served as a buffet which is provided with intimate, attentive service while enjoying a panoramic view over Istanbul's Old City. Next to our Patio Terrace, we host our Terrace Cafe/Bar, A place to wine and dine, socialize and relax, write postcards, use Wi-Fi or take photographs of Istanbul’s famous landmarks. Open 15:00 – 23:00 daily (except Sundays) The Efendi Hotel provides Free Wi-Fi throughout the venue. Our carpeted rooms with genuine black-out curtains include; air conditioning (The heating system is eco-friendly; the heat from the air conditioner is reused to heat fresh water) minibar(on the guest expense) an LCD TV with international satellite channels, antibacterial light switch and a digital safe box. Private bathroom comes with a hairdryer, free toiletries and bathrobes & slippers. A coffee and tea basket is free of charge only on the first day. You can benefit from laundry and room service at the Efendi Hotel. Arrangements for transportation by private car to/from either of Istanbul’s airports (Ataturk and Sabiha Gokcen) can be made for all guests by contacting reception. Transportation cost is the guest’s expense. On our Rooftop Terrace you can become familiar with Turkish Breakfast Culture served as a buffet which is provided with intimate, attentive service while enjoying a panoramic view over Istanbul's Old City. Next to our Patio Terrace, we host our Terrace Cafe/Bar, A place to wine and dine, socialize and relax, write postcards, use Wi-Fi or take photographs of Istanbul’s famous landmarks. Open 15:00 – 23:00 daily (except Sundays) The Efendi Hotel provides Free Wi-Fi throughout the venue. Our carpeted rooms with genuine black-out curtains include; air conditioning (The heating system is eco-friendly; the heat from the air conditioner is reused to heat fresh water) minibar(on the guest expense) an LCD TV with international satellite channels, antibacterial light switch and a digital safe box. Private bathroom comes with a hairdryer, free toiletries and bathrobes & slippers. A coffee and tea basket is free of charge only on the first day. You can benefit from laundry and room service at the Efendi Hotel. Arrangements for transportation by private car to/from either of Istanbul’s airports (Ataturk and Sabiha Gokcen) can be made for all guests by contacting reception. Transportation cost is the guest’s expense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class" details originally provided by Yellow.com.tr

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing