We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed the Efendi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Ranked #50 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great location, friendly staff, quiet room, comfortable beds, great breakfast. The AC worked really well and the curtains had black on the back side so the room was dark at night. We had the hotel arrange airport pick up and return for us at 30 euros a trip. If you want to get there on your own, take the number and the taxi driver can call the hotel and they can tell him how to get there. They offered to do this for us when we asked about taking a taxi somewhere. We really loved Istanbul. The Turkish people are so open and friendly. And the Sultanahmet section of Istanbul was so international and diverse. A real United Nations. Very cosmopolitan.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (856)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 856 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Efendi Hotel is a small, well appointed, establishment. We selected it for our 4 day stay in Istanbul based on the reviews which were very complementary and from our experience deservedly so. We used the hotels private shuttle service for our transfers on arrival and departure being dropped off and picked up right at the doors of the hotel so no need to lug luggage along the narrow cobble streets. The hotel is located in the heart of the old city and in easy walking distance of all the main points of interest such as the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Grand Bazaar, to name just a few. There are many café and restaurants in the nearby streets including eating establishments that cater for the locals if you wish to experience the true flavour of the cities cuisine rather than what is catering to the tourist trade. At the end of the street when turning to the right when leaving the hotel is a small fruit and vegetable shop. The owner speaks very little English but is very friendly and enthusiastic. His produce is fresh and it was nice to be able to purchase fresh fruit when starting out on a days sightseeing. The breakfast provided by the hotel had a large selection of traditional hotel choices but also included local Turkish breakfast items which were interesting to try. The cook, Betűl, was excellent and the dining area with the option of dining on the terrace was clean, comfortable, and a relaxing way to start each day. The rooms are clean, well decorated and furnished, and could not be faulted. The staff were always helpful and made our stay in Istanbul very memorable. We enjoyed our stay very much such that we would dearly love to return to Istanbul and the Efendi Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TuxBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We enjoyed staying in the Efendi Hotel. The staff was quite friendly, and the location was great. The breakfast buffet was good. Our room was at ground level, so there was a little noise from the street, which didn't bother us, but might disturb others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank xilehence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This lovely hotel tucked away in the old section was a bit of a challenge for our frustrated taxi driver to get into so he dropped us off a 1/2 block away. Traffic had been horrible from the airport. Next time I would probably take public transportation. Istanbul has great public transportation. As soon as we arrived we were greated with a very nice young man who took our bags to our room. Everyone was pleasant and professional. The room, which faced the inside courtyard, was very clean, smallish, but nicely appointed with a very nice bathroom and quiet. We'd asked for two twins, as I heard the double beds can be quite small. However, we had a double bed and a twin. The breakfast was excellent with many choices and served in a nice room with an outside terrace for those who preferred being outdoors. I usually struggle with too much heat or A/C, but not there. The hotel is intimate and very well located for exploring the beautiful city. Easy walking distance from Hagia Sophia, the Cistern, the tram, lots of nice cafes, etc. We felt very safe as well. My husband still has his Efendi Hotel slippers and I wish I'd kept mine as a reminder of our wonderful time there. Wear comfortable shoes and bring easy to handle luggage for the cobblestone streets.

Room Tip: Perhaps inside and away from the street if the early morning call to prayer may bother you. We did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a wonderfull time at Efendi Hotel. The location is excellent, in a quiet street very near of the Sultanahmet Station. The staff is excellent and nice (always ready to help us in many ways). The breakfast, with some fresh fruits and vegetables and a good variety of cheese and bread. Even a litlle bit small (at least the one that we staied in), the room is very well thinked in all details. Every thing (including the window against sound) seens to be planed to give to the guests a sensation of being in home, in a really fine room. It looks like a very new hotel. It was really a very good choice with a good price for what it offer.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robmatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel is really beautiful and located in the heart of Istanbul in the old city. I choose it thanks to other reviews. Very confortable and quite. The hotel has been completed re-painted with the rooms totally refurbished. Very good breakfast in the morning with an excellent service.
So it has been really a pleasure stay at Efendi Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cannonef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel staff made the stay wonderful! They were very helpful, and arranged everything we requested, including a Bhosphorous cruise, dinner reservations and a taxi to take us to dinner. The room service was immaculate, and the rooms were cozy and comfortable. There were even extra blankets in the closet, a tea kettle, and water bottles upon arrival. The kitchen staff was very friendly and offered to make omelets upon request, but the breakfast buffet was sufficient and hearty enough. Overall this was a wonderful trip due greatly to the hotel location and staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#25 of 1,171 in Istanbul
328 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#32 of 1,171 in Istanbul
347 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#69 of 1,171 in Istanbul
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#48 of 1,171 in Istanbul
1,566 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#55 of 1,171 in Istanbul
901 reviews
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#216 of 1,171 in Istanbul
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"

Address: Alemdar Mah. Hoca Rustem Mektebi Sok. No:9-11, Istanbul 34112, Turkey (Formerly Efendi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $43 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class" 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Efendi Hotel is only 300 meters from the Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace. The Grand bazaar is a an 8-minute walk from Efendi Hotel. Local restaurants, bars and cafes are within a couple minutes’ walk away. On our Rooftop Terrace you can become familiar with Turkish Breakfast Culture served as a buffet which is provided with intimate, attentive service while enjoying a panoramic view over Istanbul's Old City. Next to our Patio Terrace, we host our Terrace Cafe/Bar, A place to wine and dine, socialize and relax, write postcards, use Wi-Fi or take photographs of Istanbul’s famous landmarks. Open 15:00 – 23:00 daily (except Sundays) The Efendi Hotel provides Free Wi-Fi throughout the venue. Our carpeted rooms with genuine black-out curtains include; air conditioning (The heating system is eco-friendly; the heat from the air conditioner is reused to heat fresh water) minibar(on the guest expense) an LCD TV with international satellite channels, antibacterial light switch and a digital safe box. Private bathroom comes with a hairdryer, free toiletries and bathrobes & slippers. A coffee and tea basket is free of charge only on the first day. You can benefit from laundry and room service at the Efendi Hotel. Arrangements for transportation by private car to/from either of Istanbul’s airports (Ataturk and Sabiha Gokcen) can be made for all guests by contacting reception. Transportation cost is the guest’s expense. On our Rooftop Terrace you can become familiar with Turkish Breakfast Culture served as a buffet which is provided with intimate, attentive service while enjoying a panoramic view over Istanbul's Old City. Next to our Patio Terrace, we host our Terrace Cafe/Bar, A place to wine and dine, socialize and relax, write postcards, use Wi-Fi or take photographs of Istanbul’s famous landmarks. Open 15:00 – 23:00 daily (except Sundays) The Efendi Hotel provides Free Wi-Fi throughout the venue. Our carpeted rooms with genuine black-out curtains include; air conditioning (The heating system is eco-friendly; the heat from the air conditioner is reused to heat fresh water) minibar(on the guest expense) an LCD TV with international satellite channels, antibacterial light switch and a digital safe box. Private bathroom comes with a hairdryer, free toiletries and bathrobes & slippers. A coffee and tea basket is free of charge only on the first day. You can benefit from laundry and room service at the Efendi Hotel. Arrangements for transportation by private car to/from either of Istanbul’s airports (Ataturk and Sabiha Gokcen) can be made for all guests by contacting reception. Transportation cost is the guest’s expense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class" details originally provided by Yellow.com.tr

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing