We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efendi Hotel was quite nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Ranked #52 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Aizuwakamatsu-shi, Fukushima, Japan
1 review
“Efendi Hotel was quite nice”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We enjoyed staying in the Efendi Hotel. The staff was quite friendly, and the location was great. The breakfast buffet was good. Our room was at ground level, so there was a little noise from the street, which didn't bother us, but might disturb others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank xilehence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    196
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
240
276
56
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hercules, California
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This lovely hotel tucked away in the old section was a bit of a challenge for our frustrated taxi driver to get into so he dropped us off a 1/2 block away. Traffic had been horrible from the airport. Next time I would probably take public transportation. Istanbul has great public transportation. As soon as we arrived we were greated with a very nice young man who took our bags to our room. Everyone was pleasant and professional. The room, which faced the inside courtyard, was very clean, smallish, but nicely appointed with a very nice bathroom and quiet. We'd asked for two twins, as I heard the double beds can be quite small. However, we had a double bed and a twin. The breakfast was excellent with many choices and served in a nice room with an outside terrace for those who preferred being outdoors. I usually struggle with too much heat or A/C, but not there. The hotel is intimate and very well located for exploring the beautiful city. Easy walking distance from Hagia Sophia, the Cistern, the tram, lots of nice cafes, etc. We felt very safe as well. My husband still has his Efendi Hotel slippers and I wish I'd kept mine as a reminder of our wonderful time there. Wear comfortable shoes and bring easy to handle luggage for the cobblestone streets.

Room Tip: Perhaps inside and away from the street if the early morning call to prayer may bother you. We did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a wonderfull time at Efendi Hotel. The location is excellent, in a quiet street very near of the Sultanahmet Station. The staff is excellent and nice (always ready to help us in many ways). The breakfast, with some fresh fruits and vegetables and a good variety of cheese and bread. Even a litlle bit small (at least the one that we staied in), the room is very well thinked in all details. Every thing (including the window against sound) seens to be planed to give to the guests a sensation of being in home, in a really fine room. It looks like a very new hotel. It was really a very good choice with a good price for what it offer.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robmatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel is really beautiful and located in the heart of Istanbul in the old city. I choose it thanks to other reviews. Very confortable and quite. The hotel has been completed re-painted with the rooms totally refurbished. Very good breakfast in the morning with an excellent service.
So it has been really a pleasure stay at Efendi Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cannonef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel staff made the stay wonderful! They were very helpful, and arranged everything we requested, including a Bhosphorous cruise, dinner reservations and a taxi to take us to dinner. The room service was immaculate, and the rooms were cozy and comfortable. There were even extra blankets in the closet, a tea kettle, and water bottles upon arrival. The kitchen staff was very friendly and offered to make omelets upon request, but the breakfast buffet was sufficient and hearty enough. Overall this was a wonderful trip due greatly to the hotel location and staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I flew to Istanbul early March to celebrate my birthday with friends. I chose to stay at Efendi hotel due to the reviews of other visitors and I did not regret it. The hotel is located in Sultanahmet, a stone's throw from all major sight seeings and very close to the tram line. The place is really quite, the rooms are clean and the staff is so friendly and kind! Thank you all for the great stay, and the birthday surprise! I really appreciate it, and I hope to see you again in the near future :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andi1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

My family, husband and I stayed at Efendi Hotel for the week surrounding our wedding in May-June this year. I cannot say thank you enough for all they did for us during or stay. They welcomed our group (10 people with open arms)...for our wedding day/night we even received extra special service, including a decorated room with complementary champagne and fruit basket, exclusive use of the hotel common area for welcome champagne and food (that we arranged but they served at no cost) and an extensive breakfast served to our room the next morning.
They were able to arrange transfers and special group services for us, and always greeted us with a smile.
We highly recommend Efendi Hotel and hope you will support them.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IKBayri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#29 of 1,141 in Istanbul
290 reviews
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#138 of 1,141 in Istanbul
388 reviews
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#65 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#42 of 1,141 in Istanbul
724 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#48 of 1,141 in Istanbul
979 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#16 of 1,141 in Istanbul
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"

Property: Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Address: Alemdar Mah. Hoca Rustem Mektebi Sok. No:9-11, Istanbul 34112, Turkey (Formerly Efendi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class" 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Efendi Hotel is only 300 meters from the Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace. The Grand bazaar is a an 8-minute walk from Efendi Hotel. Local restaurants, bars and cafes are within a couple minutes’ walk away. On our Rooftop Terrace you can become familiar with Turkish Breakfast Culture served as a buffet which is provided with intimate, attentive service while enjoying a panoramic view over Istanbul's Old City. Next to our Patio Terrace, we host our Terrace Cafe/Bar, A place to wine and dine, socialize and relax, write postcards, use Wi-Fi or take photographs of Istanbul’s famous landmarks. Open 15:00 – 23:00 daily (except Sundays) The Efendi Hotel provides Free Wi-Fi throughout the venue. Our carpeted rooms with genuine black-out curtains include; air conditioning (The heating system is eco-friendly; the heat from the air conditioner is reused to heat fresh water) minibar(on the guest expense) an LCD TV with international satellite channels, antibacterial light switch and a digital safe box. Private bathroom comes with a hairdryer, free toiletries and bathrobes & slippers. A coffee and tea basket is free of charge only on the first day. You can benefit from laundry and room service at the Efendi Hotel. Arrangements for transportation by private car to/from either of Istanbul’s airports (Ataturk and Sabiha Gokcen) can be made for all guests by contacting reception. Transportation cost is the guest’s expense. On our Rooftop Terrace you can become familiar with Turkish Breakfast Culture served as a buffet which is provided with intimate, attentive service while enjoying a panoramic view over Istanbul's Old City. Next to our Patio Terrace, we host our Terrace Cafe/Bar, A place to wine and dine, socialize and relax, write postcards, use Wi-Fi or take photographs of Istanbul’s famous landmarks. Open 15:00 – 23:00 daily (except Sundays) The Efendi Hotel provides Free Wi-Fi throughout the venue. Our carpeted rooms with genuine black-out curtains include; air conditioning (The heating system is eco-friendly; the heat from the air conditioner is reused to heat fresh water) minibar(on the guest expense) an LCD TV with international satellite channels, antibacterial light switch and a digital safe box. Private bathroom comes with a hairdryer, free toiletries and bathrobes & slippers. A coffee and tea basket is free of charge only on the first day. You can benefit from laundry and room service at the Efendi Hotel. Arrangements for transportation by private car to/from either of Istanbul’s airports (Ataturk and Sabiha Gokcen) can be made for all guests by contacting reception. Transportation cost is the guest’s expense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class" details originally provided by Yellow.com.tr

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing