We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely good location and nice staff”
Review of Route 39

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Route 39
Ranked #482 of 1,038 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Nanjing, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extremely good location and nice staff”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This small cozy hostel is actually 8 minutes' walk down hill from the Taksim Square, so if you come from the Ataturk Airport by Tram, it is better to drop off at Firdirk Station and walk up the Mebusan street, than you can find the front door of Route 39 hiding beside the entrance of the Pizza Chain Domino. I was totally lost the first time I went there and a warm-heart Turkish male drove me there.

Maybe the average decor and relatively basic room facilities would disappoint you at the very first sight, the amazingly convenient location and helpful staff just everything worthwhile. The Galata Bridge, Kabatas Ferry Port and Bosphorus Bridge are all within walking distance, which means if you stay here, it is extremely easy for you to see around the Sultanhemet Area, the Bebek and the Asian Side of Istanbul .

A majority of the staff come from English-speaking country, they are quite nice and helpful and if you travel alone you would never feel boring here.

BTW, the view on the roofbar is amazing.

Room Tip: The double shared room I stay was quite spacious, with a big window of the lovely street view, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    12
    8
    13
See reviews for
4
26
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lille, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

So let me start by explaining that i have enough experience staying in hostels around europe.
But this is the worst hostel in my list
Lets start with the good things: very good location,Cheap, good staff especially the girl at thr reception

Now the problem is the rooms is small and dirty, the beds are shaky and the bathrooms lets not talk about it i think public bathrooms in european cities are better than this

Okay lets say all this is fine but the owner of this place is an absolute a@#hole along with his few friends who are always with them. He is a bully and very disrespectful and he is here everyday because he lives here, he will stop you from using the computer,playing XBox and if you protest he will tell you to get out if you dont like

I am sure you can find better hostels in Istanbul for the same price . This was my mistake my big mistake. A beautiful city and experience spoiled a bit by this a#%%ole of an owner.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Abrarsait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This place had friendly staff, a nice view and location but in general was a disappointment. We stayed in a twin room with a shared bathroom. When first entering the building I could tell that it was not clean. When we reached our room the sheets were old and stained and did not fit the mattress properly and came off during the night. The shared bathroom was not clean, I avoided using it and saw one guest with her own spray cleaning the shower before she showered. The breakfast was average and in general the wifi was reliable. I don't expect hostels to be the best but a daily, proper clean of the shared bathroom would have made a significant difference to our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahLouise1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Route 39 for 4 nights while we visited Istanbul in mid August. Upon arriving we checked in with Steve, who was incredibly helpful with all of the tourist attractions around and all the do's and dont's on the culture which can be very beneficial if you aren't familiar with the muslim culture. The rest of the staff were wonderful. We went out for drinks with a few of them one night and ended up hanging out with them up on the rooftop a few times. The rooftop is a great place to unwind and hang out and meet new friends, as well as have a few beers and maybe some food. The breakfast was delicious but very simple. Bread, meats, cheeses, fruit, nutella and some boiled eggs and of course tea. Overall this was a great place to stay and I would highly recommend everyone to stay here. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the view from the rooftop alone is reason enough to stay here.

I must also urge you to try a restuarant up the hill from the hostel a little ways. Its called No.19. Its very small and if you dont look closely for it you may miss it but it will be the BEST meal you have in Istanbul, guranteed! And its cheap cheap cheap as well as homecooked.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makaldenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our stay at Route 39 was the longest in our 7-month-so-far trip, aside from visits with family. We stayed a total of 10 days (almost enough for a brief look around this lovely city!), and were very comfortable, enjoying the room, the location, the good rooftop breakfast-with-a-view and the friendly staff.

This hostel is well situated between Taksim Square and the Findikli tram stop. Their website gives clear directions on how to reach it. This spot is very handy by tram or metro to the main sights of Istanbul, and close to Kabatas ferry terminal, which heads to Adalar (Princes Islands), the Maiden's Tower and Kadikoy, on the Asian side of Istanbul. There are several corner shops and a supermarket nearby, with plenty of dining options at your doorstep. Literally - Domino's Pizza is just downstairs, not that you'll need to resort to this; they have a popular in-house burger restaurant open at night (with stunning sea views), and countless other cafes nearby. A local standout is No 19, about halfway up the hill from Route 39 on the right hand side.

Due to a change of plans, we needed to check in one day early, and through email conversations, we were accommodated in a small twin bunk room for a single night. This room was close to the reception area, and a bit noisy (what we call an "E & E" - one requiring earplugs and eyemask), but we were grateful they could fit us in at short notice. Perhaps we had turfed out a staff member?

Our next room was basic, but spacious and comfortable (we were lucky to get a complimentary upgrade to an ensuite room), with a a comfy double bed, and a good sized, hot shower (a bit of mouldy grout in the corners). There is a radiator, which is good in cooler weather. Wifi access was a bit hit and miss, but that is our only complaint during our stay. We never had to resort to Starbucks (also down the hill by Findikli tram stop) for access, so no major problem.

This hostel has all the usual amenities, such as public computer, share kitchen and fridge, book swap, free laundry wash (10TL to dry), and the staff can help with your travel plans and general information. They also offer free tea all day, free luggage storage for short trips away, and have I mentioned the views? Well worth another plug for location, location, location.

A nice spot to settle for a little while, and we would be happy to return.

Room Tip: the room behind reception next to the computer can be pretty noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The location of the hostel is amazing. It takes 2 minutes walk to the east direction to findikly tram station which leads to sultan Ahmed and the old city. With distance estimated by 5 minutes walk to the west direction to taksim square(the center of istanbul). A marvelous view over marmara sea and the posphor. You can enjoy the view by looking from the rooms or the roof. Owners are kind and helpful. You can feel familiarity and friendly with other residents specially on breakfast.thanks to all workers there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talaatgazala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#233 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,231 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#156 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#363 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Route 39? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Route 39

Property: Route 39
Address: Mebusan Yokusu 39 | Taksim Findikli Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #482 of 1,038 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Hotel Class:1 star — Route 39 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the Route 39 is just over a quarter mile from the lively restaurants, bars and shops of Istiklal Avenue and Cihangir area. The hostel has a terrace and rooms with free Wi-Fi.All rooms at the Route 39 include heating. Some rooms have a private bathroom while others include shared bathroom facilities.You can relax with a cup of tea and coffee during the day on our rooftop-terrace with a Bosporus view. The friendly staff can provide you with local information and help you arrange activities. Laundry service is also available on site.The Findikli Tram Stop which provides easy access to the historic Sultanahmet area, is 215 yards away. Kabatas Ferry Port is a quarter mile, Taksim Metro Station is just under half a mile from the property. Ataturk Airport is 12 miles from the property.Beyoglu is a great choice for travelers interested in Galleries, Street Musicians and Beer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Route 39 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing