We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food in a Quiet Neighborhood”
Review of Aker Cafe Restaurant - CLOSED

Aker Cafe Restaurant
Price range: $8 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We came here twice during our stay in Istanbul. It was close to our hotel so we gave it a try after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. The service is great and it appears to be ran by a family. We had the iskender kebab and lentil soup on our first visit and both were very good. On our second visit, we had the chicken sis and chicken curry, it was just as good as our first experience here. The evening atmosphere here is better as less cars roam up and down the street. It is slightly pricier than other restaurants nearby (4-5TL more for same dish elsewhere) but the quality is much better here and worth the extra money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sunny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erol D, Sahibi at Aker Cafe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2015
Google Translation

bize yazmış olduğunuz bu yorum bizi çok heyecanlandırdı ve dahada hırlandırdı
çok teşekür eder sizi tekrar ağırlamak isteriz sizi menmun etmek bizi
gururlandırdı
saygılarımla restaurant sahibi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 167 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

The food was good and the service was great, the only let down was that cars drove past at speed and the street was a bit dusty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erol D, Sahibi at Aker Cafe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2015
Google Translation

bize yazmış olduğunuz bu yorum bizi çok heyecanlandırdı ve dahada hırlandırdı
çok teşekür eder sizi tekrar ağırlamak isteriz sizi menmun etmek bizi
gururlandırdı
saygılarımla restaurant sahibi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Aker was on the way to the place we stayed from the Çemberlıtaş tram stop, so we ate here multiple times during our stay. Staff was so very friendly, we made it a point to stop by on several nights just for apple tea and dessert. Nice mix of local and international clientele, with great breads, and (should you tire of traditional Turkish food), really strong pasta dishes. Food is generally excellent, and staff makes this a relaxed, casual dining experience a little bit away from the more touristy areas. Even as we passed by, half a block away, we were greeted each day like family.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Marcoso60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erol D, Sahibi at Aker Cafe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2015
Google Translation

bize yazmış olduğunuz bu yorum bizi çok heyecanlandırdı ve dahada hırlandırdı
çok teşekür eder sizi tekrar ağırlamak isteriz sizi menmun etmek bizi
gururlandırdı
saygılarımla restaurant sahibi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

staff were more than helpful, and very friendly. Food was excellent, I recommend the calamari, which was delicious and beautifully presented. Complimentary flat bread and humus tasty. Will definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kd68Cairns_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erol D, Sahibi at Aker Cafe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2015
Google Translation

bize yazmış olduğunuz bu yorum bizi çok heyecanlandırdı ve dahada hırlandırdı
çok teşekür eder sizi tekrar ağırlamak isteriz sizi menmun etmek bizi
gururlandırdı
saygılarımla restaurant sahibi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Food well below average. Service friendly but unprofessional, the waiter was a teenager in jeans and t shirt. Atmosphere was poor, we were the only diners and the restaurant was in a dark and dodgy area. We only came here due to rave reviews but can hardly believe its the same place.

4  Thank Ho o
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erol D, Sahibi at Aker Cafe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2015
Google Translation

bize yazmış olduğunuz bu yorum bizi çok heyecanlandırdı ve dahada hırlandırdı
çok teşekür eder sizi tekrar ağırlamak isteriz sizi menmun etmek bizi
gururlandırdı
saygılarımla restaurant sahibi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Aker Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing