We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unexpected delight”
Review of Aker Cafe Restaurant - CLOSED

Aker Cafe Restaurant
Price range: $8 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“unexpected delight”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We went to this cafe on our first night in Isatnbul because we were jetlagged and it was just across the road from our hotel. The welcome was warm, and the food was very good. We returned for dinner twice more, and on our last night splashed out on the Captain plate. Excellent! Because of the nearness to our hotel, we also had a beer (or two) most afternoons on our return from sightseeing. We were always welcomed as old friends. This place is a delight.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank JandJCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bberol, Owner at Aker Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share such a complimenting review following your recent visit to our aker cafe restaurant
and for recommending our store on Trip Advisor.I also appreciate your comments regarding the Turkish food, services to Sultanahmet branch of aker cafe restaurant.Your positive comments motivate us to keep working towards the highest satisfaction of our guests.Thank you once again for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    44
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chichester
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good, local stop”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were staying around the corner and were very impressed by this place on our first night in an unfamiliar city.
The host is very good, charming, speaks very good english and was honest enough to warn us not to order too much food! He was right too, the portions are pretty big and we would have had too much. Meze starter was pretty good and plenty big enough for two, the Pide was as good as any UK pizza and the Turkish wine, by the glass, was decent enough.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bberol, Owner at Aker Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear aker cafe restaurant Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent visit toaker cafe restaurant
We are happy to learn that you overall enjoyed. Thank you once again for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful find”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was very near our hotel, so we ate there every night. Food was lovely, plenty of choice, and lots of it - no room for dessert!
Staff were very friendly. very good value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bberol, Owner at Aker Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear aker cafe restaurant Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent visit toaker cafe restaurant
We are happy to learn that you overall enjoyed. Thank you once again for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ate here 3 times, lovely host, good selection of food.”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

First night only 2 of us wanted to eat, the host brought out a 3rd plate, knife and fork and said my husband might change his mind. We enjoyed the night very much. Next night we ate on way back from a long traffic delayed bus tour "somewhere else" which was very bad. So we returned! and where welcomed back, even with a comment about how we had felt about food. House white was not available and host told us he would not recommend we buy the other but house rose was good so we tried it and he was right. Last night we had platter between 3, good atmosphere, sit in or out and lovely bread. Great service, attitude and food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank unadara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bberol, Owner at Aker Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
ar aker cafe restaurant


Thank you for taking the time to share such a complimenting review following your recent visit to our aker cafe restaurant
and for recommending our store on Trip Advisor.I also appreciate your comments regarding the Turkish food, services to Sultanahmet branch of aker cafe restaurant.Your positive comments motivate us to keep working towards the highest satisfaction of our guests.Thank you once again for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Akar is a great place to spend a relaxing evening meal in the centre of Istanbul (Old city). The ambiance is relaxed and welcoming. The food is delicious - each dish has a distinctive traditional turkish taste; freshly prepared; nicely decorated and delivered at calculated intervals. This is why out of 4 days at Istanbul, we spent two nights at Akar, and on the second night, we met the same couple who sat next to us.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Meijia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bberol, Owner at Aker Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share such a complimenting review following your recent visit to aker cafe restaurant
and for recommending our restaurant on Trip Advisor.I also appreciate your comments regarding the Turkish food, services to Sultanahmet branch of aker cafe restaurant.Your positive comments motivate us to keep working towards the highest satisfaction of our guests.Thank you once again for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aker Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing