We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (537)
Filter reviews
537 results
Traveler rating
436
81
16
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
81
16
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mosqueperfect locationold cityarasta bazaarmajor attractionsmemorable staywithin walking distanceevery morningfew minutes walkbreakfast buffetthird floorrestaurants and shopswonderful hotelspice marketrooftop restaurantmain sightshome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 537 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights at the Magnaura Palace. Several things stood out:

1. The quality of service is exceptional--as good as any place we've stayed in the world. Every member of the staff went out of his or her way to make us feel welcome at the hotel and comfortable in their city. They truly believe in investing time and energy in their guests.

2. The room--we had a corner suite that was well worth the small extra cost--was quiet, comfortable, and had an excellent view of the Sea of Marmara (as well as some interesting graffiti on the adjacent rooftops.) On the evening of Republic Day we brought a picnic dinner to their rooftop terrace and watched the fireworks miles away over the Bosphorous.

3. The location in the Sultanahmet district, a few hundred meters from the Blue Mosque, was perfect. You can reach many historic locations (e.g., Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern) by walking only a few minutes. The tram line is nearby and, while crowded during rush hour, is an inexpensive and convenient way to get around.

4. The art in the hotel and in the cafe/art gallery next door was impressive. The owner of the hotel, Mehmet Ataş, also owns an interior design business that commissions local artists to do contemporary interpretations of traditional Turkish and Ottoman art. Some of it is quite stunning and a far cry from the kitsch sold in most of the neighborhood shops that cater to tourists.

The prices at the Magnaura Palace are quite fair, but it's the service and attitude of the staff that stand out. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Lawrence,
It's very nice to read your review,I appreciate.Than you very much for sharing your experience here with other tripadvisor members.
Give us one more chance to welcome you here once more.
Best Wishes,

Mehmet Ataş

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I loved staying at this hotel as it was a lovely place and the staff were extremely professional and friendly. They were very welcoming and their knowledge is exceptional, as they were very helpful with any queries and helped to plan trips. The hotel itself is beautiful and its location is superb with major sites in view such as The Blue Mosque. The rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable all the things you look for in a perfect trip. Overall, I enjoyed this trip, the hotel is definitely a treat to stay in and I definitely recommend it. The hotel owner Mehmet was lovely a real help and the staff were amazing as they always had places to tell you to visit and they were extremely polite such as Yusuf who helped us and looked after us during his night shift. I look forward to visit again thanks.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank sweetsummer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Sweetsummer13,

Thank you very much for your nice review.
I hope you give us one more chance to welcoming you here again.

Best Wishes,

Mehmet Ataş

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is really well located in Istanbul, you can access to the most beautiful place in few minutes. The room are enough big, the quality of the sleeping is perfect and the rooms are not too expensive.
The only small issue was with the personal : they are friendly, always ready to help you but when you ask them for a place or a restaurant, they can try to advice you something else. It happened few times and it was a little bit annoying.
Anyway, we spend only one night but we really enjoyed it. We will recomand this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Nicolas,

It's good to read that you enjoyed staying here.Thank you for your review.Trying to give you advice is only for your safety and enjoying the place you go,it's for your own good.Dear our guest thank you once more for taking a time to write here!

Best,

Mehmet Ataş

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were first timers in Istanbul and quite apart from not knowing what part of the city to stay we then had the usual minefield of picking the right hotel.
We plumped for Sultanahmet and then picked the Magnaura Palace. i admit we picked upon reviews but in the past i've found with hotels they often dont live up to previous positive comments. Not in this case- I can genuinely say the Magnaura Palace was perfect in every way.
The staff at reception were 1st class. The friendlyness on arrival extended to our entire stay. The position of the hotel for Blue Mosque and Aya Sophia could not have been better. Breakfast was served up on the 4th floor on a terrace overlooking the Bosphorus. The young lad at breakfast ( cant remember name) who'd bring the coffee and tea was charming so the ethos of caring went beyond the front desk. There is a little cafe on ground level with arts etc that is quite attractive if you dont want to direct to your room. Our bedroom was nice decent size and nice bathroom. if or when i return to Istanbul i'd find it hard not to stay there. friendlyness being the key word

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauljel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Pauljel,

Thanks a lot for your good review,for taking time to write it,we appreciate it.
Looking forward for your next trip to here....
Good luck,

Mehmet ataş

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have travelled all over the world and stayed at many great hotels but we have never felt as comfortable and welcomed as we have at Magnaura Palace. It is a small but lovely boutique hotel with all the modern amenities. It is a short walk to most of the important tourist attractions in Sultanahmet. However, what really makes this hotel unique is the wonderful staff (front desk, cafe, breakfast restaurant waiters). Arben, who was at the front desk most evenings during our stay (7 days), was especially wonderful. He gave us tips on places to see, made reservations for us, looked after our transportation, and even got medicine for my wife when she came down with a cold. Whenever we returned from a day of touring, Arben made sure to offer us a hot cup of tea. He and his team truly understand what it takes to make visitors to Istanbul and to his hotel happy and welcomed. We intend to return one day and will certainly stay at the Magnaura. Alfonso and Seta, Toronto, Canada.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfonso_gua56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear ALFONSO,

I want to express my special thanks to you for informing here other Tripadvisor members about your expeience you had at out hotel.It was very nice meeting you.
Looking forward for your next trip to İstanbul city!

Best Wishes,

Mehmet Ataş

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews