We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (537)
Filter reviews
537 results
Traveler rating
436
81
16
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
81
16
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mosqueperfect locationold cityarasta bazaarmajor attractionsmemorable staywithin walking distanceevery morningfew minutes walkbreakfast buffetthird floorrestaurants and shopswonderful hotelspice marketrooftop restaurantmain sightshome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 537 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were first timers in Istanbul and quite apart from not knowing what part of the city to stay we then had the usual minefield of picking the right hotel.
We plumped for Sultanahmet and then picked the Magnaura Palace. i admit we picked upon reviews but in the past i've found with hotels they often dont live up to previous positive comments. Not in this case- I can genuinely say the Magnaura Palace was perfect in every way.
The staff at reception were 1st class. The friendlyness on arrival extended to our entire stay. The position of the hotel for Blue Mosque and Aya Sophia could not have been better. Breakfast was served up on the 4th floor on a terrace overlooking the Bosphorus. The young lad at breakfast ( cant remember name) who'd bring the coffee and tea was charming so the ethos of caring went beyond the front desk. There is a little cafe on ground level with arts etc that is quite attractive if you dont want to direct to your room. Our bedroom was nice decent size and nice bathroom. if or when i return to Istanbul i'd find it hard not to stay there. friendlyness being the key word

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauljel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Pauljel,

Thanks a lot for your good review,for taking time to write it,we appreciate it.
Looking forward for your next trip to here....
Good luck,

Mehmet ataş

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have travelled all over the world and stayed at many great hotels but we have never felt as comfortable and welcomed as we have at Magnaura Palace. It is a small but lovely boutique hotel with all the modern amenities. It is a short walk to most of the important tourist attractions in Sultanahmet. However, what really makes this hotel unique is the wonderful staff (front desk, cafe, breakfast restaurant waiters). Arben, who was at the front desk most evenings during our stay (7 days), was especially wonderful. He gave us tips on places to see, made reservations for us, looked after our transportation, and even got medicine for my wife when she came down with a cold. Whenever we returned from a day of touring, Arben made sure to offer us a hot cup of tea. He and his team truly understand what it takes to make visitors to Istanbul and to his hotel happy and welcomed. We intend to return one day and will certainly stay at the Magnaura. Alfonso and Seta, Toronto, Canada.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfonso_gua56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear ALFONSO,

I want to express my special thanks to you for informing here other Tripadvisor members about your expeience you had at out hotel.It was very nice meeting you.
Looking forward for your next trip to İstanbul city!

Best Wishes,

Mehmet Ataş

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

What a fantastic plce to stay at in Istanbul. I really don't think one could ask for a better location and value in the heart of Istanbul's old city. The hotel is new (2 years old), rooms are modern and very clean. The breakfast assortment is fantastic and the view from the rooftop restaurant is even better. The staff are incredibly friendly and more than happy to help however they can. I will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Futbol60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Futbol60,

Thank you for your nice words,your positive reviews are giving us energy to keep going and always doing the best we can!Give us oppurtunity to welcome you here again:)

Best Wishes,

Mehmet Ataş

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Arben was behind the reception desk when we checked in and the welcome could not have been warmer. As first time visitors to Istanbul, he provided us with just enough helpful information on interesting places to visit, while we enjoyed a complimentary drink.

The hotel does not have a large staff but each and every one was friendly and helpful and always greeted guests with a genuine smile.

Our deluxe room on the first floor was large and spotlessly clean and had a huge comfortable bed. The adjoining shower room was compact but had an excellent shower, and fittings and fixtures that sparkled. Bath sheets and hand towels were thick and luxurious. Top marks to the housekeeping staff. Daily complimentary bottled water, tea and coffee making facilities were much appreciated.

Breakfast was taken on the fourth floor, which has a very pleasant roof garden, and could be eaten either in a glazed enclosed area or in the open. There was an excellent cold buffet plus scrambled eggs and sausage, and some quite delicious breads, but what passed as orange juice was no more than coloured water with added sugar.

The location of this hotel could not be bettered and its popularity is well justified

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 2 and 3 have much better views
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Billyboy,

It's very good to read that our guests happy and satisfied with the service they had while staying here in our hotel.I appreciate your review.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards.,

Mehmet Ataş

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

At the end of a narrow street in Sultanamet is a small boutique hotel, The Magnaura Palace, which is so welcoming and friendly that it sets the tone for a great, fun-filled time in Istanbul. The clerk at the front desk, Arben, is most friendly and helpful; the owner of the hotel, Mehmet, is there to give practical and very helpful guidance to his guests. The Magnaura Palace is a jewel and a perfect base to see the wonders of Istanbul. The Turkish breakfast on the top floor overlooking the Marmara Sea was wonderful.

t

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Boudin,

Thank you very much for taking a time to write a review here.
We are looking for your next trip to here again.
Best wishes!

Mehmet Ataş,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews