We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic position!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Magnaura Palace
Ranked #135 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
1 review
“Fantastic position!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this new hotel for 4 nights!!!! Excellent position!!! Excellent traditional breakfast on a beautiful terrace with view to bosporus!!!!!very helpful personel !!!!! very clean and cosy!!!!It could be bit less expensive but overall is absolutely worth for accomondation in Instabul!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kosarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
I just want to say thank you so much for staying at our hotel and its nice to know that you had good time.

Magnaura familly is looking forward to see you guys again at istanbul

Best,

Mehmet Atas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    71
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
61
243
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Il
Level Contributor
221 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

As always, the secret of a great hotel is a great staff: At the Magnaura Palace, the staff was helpful, informative, accommodating, and very fluent in English. After a long day touring, a complimentary coffee was offered, and delivered right to my room. The room was comfortable, the breakfast buffet was varied and well-prepared, served on a rooftop terrace with views of the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sofia and the waterfront. Free, easy-to-connect-to internet. Excellent location in the Sultanahmet area right by major attractions and lots of interesting shops and restaurants.

I should mention that I managed to leave my camera behind in the room when we checked out, heading for the airport. (Moral: Don't let your wife go down to the lobby first!). The hotel staff were absolutely super in getting it shipped back to me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Magnaura Familly want thank you so much for staying st our hotel and happy that you guys had a good experince.

We thank to you again,

Regards,

Mehmet Atas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimbey, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed for three days at this wonderful hotel. Location is perfect. Room was clean, very nice decor. Service was superb - friendly, informative, helpful. The terrace offers a beautiful view and a place to relax. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westcountry395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
I will like to say thank you so much for spending few minute for telling us about your experience about our hotel.

We are so happy that you love our hotel and had a good time.

please come again at Magnaura Palace Hotel,,,

Thank you,

Mehmet Atas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel room we stayed in, though small, was immaculate. While a safe was available in the armoir, it was not bolted down and thus defeating the purpose of having important belongings "secured" in the safe.

The terrace where breakfast buffet was served offered good but partially obstructed views of the Blue Mosque. We appreciated the friendly service, including the concierge service offered by the receptionist. However, the fish restaurant that provided "free transportation" to and from the restaurant did not impress me. The restaurant manager was very pushy on recommending dishes off the menu (at market price) and showed impatience when we ordered less than he recommended. Seriously, a 3-pound fish for a just my husband and me, IN ADDITION to appetizers? That kind of ruined an otherwise pleasant stay in Istanbul. I'd suggest that the hotel stopped making recommenation to that fish restaurant. Very unfortunate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinmom1LosAltos_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi there,

I just want to say that thank you so much for staying at MAGNAURA PALACE HOTEL , and we hope to see you in the future at our hotel. We are so happy that you loved our hotel. Thank you.

I just want to say that thank you so much for telling us about your experience at fish restaurant.

I am very sorry about the fish restaurant you went were pushy like you guys said.

We will not recommend to any of our guest to that fish restaurant again. As a owner I want to make sure that all of our guest have the best time at istanbul.
I will do my best to make that happen.

Thank you again,

Mehmet Ataş,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a privately owned very well run hotel . It is an old building near the centre but fully modernised with comfortabe well furnished rooms. The staff or polite, well infromed and happy to help. Breakfast is a well presented buffet on the roof garden area with fantastic views over the city and the sea. facilities are limited but include a pleasant coffee bar/lounge.

I can highly recommend for a few days stay.

Roger Wood

Room Tip: Speak to the owner/manager directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Greetings from sunny İstanbul ,

Thanks for having chosen our hotel and sharing part of from your life with us . We hope to see you back .

Best ,

Mehmet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

If sightseeing is your thing, this hotel is perfect, being just off Sultanahmet Square, with the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia within minutes. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, always ready to chat, but never intrusive. The breakfast buffet was adequate, with plenty of fresh and dried fruit, yogurt and an assortment of cheeses and cold cuts and vegetables. The rooms were immaculate, bathrooms a bit small, but adequate and very clean. Everything worked! Beds are a bit too firm, but soon got used to it. Would definitely stay again, although it was quite expensive, and no reduction for single occupancy of one of our rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hello from istanbul at Magnaura Palace,

I just want thank you guys for staying at our hotel, and thank you so much for spending several minutes for writing a comment for Magnaura palace.

Best,

Mehmet,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We are a mature age couple that spent 3weeks in Istanbul, and stayed in a number of places. The Magnaura hotel was the last stay and we were so pleased as it was the highlight of all our stays. The position, the staff and the comfort and cleanliness of this hotel was exceptional. The breakfast was varied and lovely taken while sitting on the rooftop restaurant. There is no restaurant at this stage but it is so close to all types of restaurants it is no problem. There is tea and coffee making facilities in room plus fridge and a coffee or tea is served whenever you like downstairs in the sitting area. Meh met and staff are so welcoming it made our stay most enjoyable.

Room Tip: We would recommend asking for a room facing the modern Istanbul side. Wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
I just want to say that thank you so much for spending time at our country and at our hotel Magnaura Palace. We hope to see you huys at our hotel in the future,

I like to say thank you for spending time to write review at TRİPADVİSOR.COM

Best,

Mehmet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Biz Cevahir Hotel
Biz Cevahir Hotel
#146 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#121 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#22 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#189 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Sultanahmet
Seven Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Hotel
#183 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magnaura Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnaura Palace

Property: The Magnaura Palace
Address: Dalbasti Sok No 13/1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Magnaura Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnaura Palace Hotel is a newly opened in the heart of historical peninsula. Located steps away from the highlights of Ottoman and Byzantium time [such as Blue Mosque, St Sophie, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome and Basilica Cistern]We are at your service with our 18 rooms equipped with central heating and air condition systems, direct dial telephone, Satellite TV, sitting areas, writing tables and cupboards as well. We aimed to give you 5 star comfort in a boutique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Magnaura Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing