We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern boutique hotel in Sultanahmet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Magnaura Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Magnaura Palace
Ranked #124 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Modern boutique hotel in Sultanahmet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Although the pedestrian access was being repaved when we arrived, our welcome was faultless, and our corner suite on the first floor had a great view to the sea. Brilliant shower and good bathroom fittings that worked. There was very little traffic noise so we were delighted to return to a haven of calm after our hectic days of touring. Easy WIFI access was also a bonus. We were a little disappointed that the roof-top cafe wasn't open, as breakfast out there was one of the website attractions, but the owner is hands on, and doing his best to get things finished. Whilst the mini-fridge in the room wasn't coping, there was always cold water available in the breakfast area downstairs. We enjoyed the breakfasts, loved the seasonal fruit, cheeses, fresh breads and excellent filter coffee. I would happily recommend the Magnaura Palace to travellers to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Corner suite offers more space and is worth the upgrade from a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahcampsbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    71
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
61
242
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vught, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

the location of this hotel is very good, and the staff is very friendly and helpful.
BUT, the rooms are small and the terrace bar advertised online was inaccessible.
Moreover, the hotel has no licquor license yet, which they conveniently forgot to mention.
Breakfast is also quite boring, with a limited selection; the breakfast room is very depressing.
All in all, the hotel is much too expensive for the facilities it offers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rsars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Wonderful hotel! It is located near many tourist attractions such as the blue mosque and there are dozens of restaurants around the cozy area. The service is great and rooms are enjoyable and cozy. The Arasta Bazaar is just a stone's throw away and it is a good place to take a walk or have some tea. The area which the hotel is located is excellent and mostly very easy to get to.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zixian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Magnaura Palace for 3 nights in June 2012. The hotel has been open only for about 3 months, it is brand new.

-Location:
The hotel is ideally situated in the Sultanahmet district, literally 150 meters from the Blue Mosque and 250 meters from Hagia Sophia, and 300 meters from the Sultanahmet tram station. Unbeatable. 5 stars here.

-Service:
Polite and accommodating. We met the owner who is making a big effort to get things up and running, but there is still some work to be done. 5 stars here

-Room:
Our room was located on the 1st floor. We had a corner suite, small but adequate. Very clean. 2 small problem here: There was no safe in the room, this must be fixed. Also, the minibar fridge was not working so our drinks were literally warm. We informed the owner and he said it was scheduled to be fixed, but this was not done during our stay. 4 stars here.

-Cost:
Great value for money. For the corner suite we paid 150euros -10% for cash = 135 euros per night. Given the location, service and cleanliness, it was a bargain.
Normal listed price for this room is 280 euros (I think), so I suspect prices will go up once the works are completed and everything is fixed. 5 stars here

-Breakfast:
Breakfast was average. A small selection of bread, cheese, scrambled eggs and salami at the buffet. Coffee included in the price was only filter coffee. Turkish coffee charged extra. Not a big deal, but I didn’t like that. 3 stars here.

-Common areas:
The bar is not operating yet, pending the issuing for the relative permits. There is no restaurant (yet?). Also, the terrace (nicely shown in the hotel’s website) is not operating, as it is still under construction. The terrace has a wonderful view and when they complete it, it will be a perfect spot to have breakfast or drinks.
Overall the common areas were largely not yet operational. Then owner was very apologetic, but still they should have made it clear upon booking. 1 star here

In a nutshell I would say the Magnaura Palace is an excellent choice if you want to be in the heart of the old city. Even with its temporary shortcomings (”childhood diseases”) I give 5 stars, mainly for the cost and the effort.
It is well worth it and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner suite on high floor for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarpeDiem14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

You will be delighted with your stay at this newly opened boutique hotel in the historic Sultanamet district of Istanbul. Located just one block from the famous Blue Mosque and the elegant Four Seasons hotel, you are right in the heart of trendy shops, restaurants, and local cultural activities. The advantage of this area is that most attractions are within walking distance or close to the modern metro service that will easily get you around town. You want to avoid driving as traffic can be severely congested and hectic any time of day.

Our room had a spectacular view of the Bosphorus channel and the Asian side of Istanbul. The attentiveness of the staff was superb from the moment we arrived. The owner is Turkish American and very service oriented and committed to providing a high quality experience to every guest. The staff all spoke English so it was easy to get guidance and recommendations for sight seeing, restaurants, and shopping tips.

The hotel was very clean, new and beautifully designed for maximum comfort and enjoyment. Breakfast was included with our stay so we enjoyed many healthy and delicious selections of eggs, cheeses, fresh and dried fruits, yogurt, breads, cereals and of course coffee and turkish tea.

Would highly recommend this hotel to all travelers.

Room Tip: Room 250 faces the Bosphorus
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmmaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

They were the best days of my life , I have been in so many hotels but this one was so special .

It is  near to most important historical places like blue mosque , aya sophia and topkapa place with only 2 minute walk , and near to it old traditional bazar and many traditional and modern cafe and resturant and most of them having a bosphorous sea view 

The hotel its self is very clean , with very nice smell of Lily flower which is in every corner , no carpet or dust. The room has very new decoration and furniture as well as the bathroom . The TV has more than 1000 international channel including Famous Arabic ones . From the Room balcony as well as the Upsairs Terrace you can enjoy  a very beutiful veiw for the blue mosque and aya sophia. The resturant and cafea area was amazing and open all the time.

The staff of the hotel are very kind , helpul , friendly avilable for your service 24 hr  , speaking fluent english , I felt like I am having my family there . They guieded me alot and the night before I leave I had some difficlty regarding how to go to Bursa and in 5 mintue every thing was solved by them. They did reservation and ticketing for me therough the port.

In brief I highly recommend this hotel for everybody throughout the world. I PROMISE no one will ever regret it .

Thank you Mehmet, Hatice, Muhammad, Omat and the others that I forget their names and defintly I will come again and again 

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

You expect a well appointed room and a good breakfast when staying in a luxury hotel. But with THE MAGNAURA PALACE you get so much more!The owner, the manager and all the staff have made a vow to completely satisfy every whim of their guests. Nothing is too much:From a glass of cold water when you arrive from a busy day visiting the city, to a personal telephone call to Brazil to help you solve a major problem.When have you got a personnal assistance from the owner of a hotel to guide you through the intricate( nevertheless efficient)net of trams, subways and funicular to find an especific shop? Not from a map, but personnaly? We got that , and much more. So thank you Mustapha, Umut and ,Muamar,for your most gracious service and help.
When booking a room, ask for "a junior suite in the corner". Besides of a large room decorated in beige and dark red, with a splash of gold( this is istanbul, ladies and gentlemen)! you will get the amazing and unforgetable view of the Marmara sea.
Not to be missed.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aracy1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Biz Cevahir Hotel
Biz Cevahir Hotel
#140 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#201 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#125 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#20 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#81 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magnaura Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnaura Palace

Property: The Magnaura Palace
Address: Dalbasti Sok No 13/1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Magnaura Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnaura Palace Hotel is a newly opened in the heart of historical peninsula. Located steps away from the highlights of Ottoman and Byzantium time [such as Blue Mosque, St Sophie, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome and Basilica Cistern]We are at your service with our 18 rooms equipped with central heating and air condition systems, direct dial telephone, Satellite TV, sitting areas, writing tables and cupboards as well. We aimed to give you 5 star comfort in a boutique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Magnaura Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing