We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Turkish Delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Magnaura Palace
Ranked #135 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Turkish Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

You will be delighted with your stay at this newly opened boutique hotel in the historic Sultanamet district of Istanbul. Located just one block from the famous Blue Mosque and the elegant Four Seasons hotel, you are right in the heart of trendy shops, restaurants, and local cultural activities. The advantage of this area is that most attractions are within walking distance or close to the modern metro service that will easily get you around town. You want to avoid driving as traffic can be severely congested and hectic any time of day.

Our room had a spectacular view of the Bosphorus channel and the Asian side of Istanbul. The attentiveness of the staff was superb from the moment we arrived. The owner is Turkish American and very service oriented and committed to providing a high quality experience to every guest. The staff all spoke English so it was easy to get guidance and recommendations for sight seeing, restaurants, and shopping tips.

The hotel was very clean, new and beautifully designed for maximum comfort and enjoyment. Breakfast was included with our stay so we enjoyed many healthy and delicious selections of eggs, cheeses, fresh and dried fruits, yogurt, breads, cereals and of course coffee and turkish tea.

Would highly recommend this hotel to all travelers.

Room Tip: Room 250 faces the Bosphorus
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmmaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    71
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
61
243
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

They were the best days of my life , I have been in so many hotels but this one was so special .

It is  near to most important historical places like blue mosque , aya sophia and topkapa place with only 2 minute walk , and near to it old traditional bazar and many traditional and modern cafe and resturant and most of them having a bosphorous sea view 

The hotel its self is very clean , with very nice smell of Lily flower which is in every corner , no carpet or dust. The room has very new decoration and furniture as well as the bathroom . The TV has more than 1000 international channel including Famous Arabic ones . From the Room balcony as well as the Upsairs Terrace you can enjoy  a very beutiful veiw for the blue mosque and aya sophia. The resturant and cafea area was amazing and open all the time.

The staff of the hotel are very kind , helpul , friendly avilable for your service 24 hr  , speaking fluent english , I felt like I am having my family there . They guieded me alot and the night before I leave I had some difficlty regarding how to go to Bursa and in 5 mintue every thing was solved by them. They did reservation and ticketing for me therough the port.

In brief I highly recommend this hotel for everybody throughout the world. I PROMISE no one will ever regret it .

Thank you Mehmet, Hatice, Muhammad, Omat and the others that I forget their names and defintly I will come again and again 

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

You expect a well appointed room and a good breakfast when staying in a luxury hotel. But with THE MAGNAURA PALACE you get so much more!The owner, the manager and all the staff have made a vow to completely satisfy every whim of their guests. Nothing is too much:From a glass of cold water when you arrive from a busy day visiting the city, to a personal telephone call to Brazil to help you solve a major problem.When have you got a personnal assistance from the owner of a hotel to guide you through the intricate( nevertheless efficient)net of trams, subways and funicular to find an especific shop? Not from a map, but personnaly? We got that , and much more. So thank you Mustapha, Umut and ,Muamar,for your most gracious service and help.
When booking a room, ask for "a junior suite in the corner". Besides of a large room decorated in beige and dark red, with a splash of gold( this is istanbul, ladies and gentlemen)! you will get the amazing and unforgetable view of the Marmara sea.
Not to be missed.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aracy1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
148 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at the Magnaura Palace recently and were very satisfied with the room, the location and the staff. extremely friendly and efficient staff, clean modern room (brand new!), basic breakfast and watery coffee but perfect location just a footsteps from Blue Mosque, Topkapi palace, Grand Bazar and St Sofia! Lots of traditional or international restaurants and shops around. There is a roof terrace with a stunning view on the Maramara see. In-room coffee/tea making facilities. Loved it!
ps: matrass is very firm but nice beds!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QualiGuidesBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Booking was made before any reviews on trip advisor so not really sure what to expect and very pleasantly surprised. All the staff from the manager, reception, waiting staff to room cleaners were extremely helpful and very friendly, with good English (well much better than our Turkish) and a genuine delight in sharing their tips on places to visit that perhaps tourists might not usually see (anda not for any commision)
We had a corner suite which was spacious, spotlessly clean with good bathroom facilities meeting any west european/north american requirements. A seating area with lovely red velvet chairs and a view over the Mamara Sea through the double doors on to the little balcony (for sitting behind and not on) was quite charming and lovely place to sit for a pre dinner aperitif. It was a shame that the rooftoop was not finished; hey, maybe it will be done next time we visit?
Breakfast buffet had different touches each day of the week that we were there; no complaints if you are happy with good quality fruit selection (cherries, strawberries, watermelon etc) and the kind of food tht would be supplied for a turkish breakfast.
This is a small friendly hotel that has just opened and extra touches are being added on an ongoing basis - a kettle with tea and coffee supplies was added to the room during our stay.
The location cannot be faulted - roman ruins directly in front of one side of the hotel preserve the view to the sea and, if you are happy walking, most sights can be reached on two feet. However the excellent, and very cheap, tram, train and ferry services are all easily reached from the hotel. We were very impressed with the level of service and comfort offered; if one is seeking international 5 star hotel standards then best book accordingly. Hotels are not cheap in Istanbul and the Magnaura Palace offers excellent value for money. Eating out is vey reasonable and even alcohol is not expensive compared to many other places. The lack of a bar at the hotel was not an inconvenience for us as there are so many places to chose from in the immediate area.
Tip: avoid booking hugely expensive bosphorous tours via agent and take yourself down to the ferry area where you can easily select your choice of (not to be missed) trip direct with the ferry provider.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a corner suite and get a balcony overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Omanmuscateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Wonderful position (100/200 meters from all Sultanahmet attractions), kind and helpful people, really new and clean.
We loved Istanbul even more thank to this accomodation!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariotarchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geldrop, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

The hotel is quite new and the staff very friendly and helpful. When I arrived at the airport (Atatürk), they had their driver waiting for me at 1am. Rooms were very clean, great shower. Breakfast was good, not great. The hotel is within walking distance of many tourist attractions. I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f02572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Biz Cevahir Hotel
Biz Cevahir Hotel
#146 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#121 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#22 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#189 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Sultanahmet
Seven Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Hotel
#183 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magnaura Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnaura Palace

Property: The Magnaura Palace
Address: Dalbasti Sok No 13/1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Magnaura Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnaura Palace Hotel is a newly opened in the heart of historical peninsula. Located steps away from the highlights of Ottoman and Byzantium time [such as Blue Mosque, St Sophie, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome and Basilica Cistern]We are at your service with our 18 rooms equipped with central heating and air condition systems, direct dial telephone, Satellite TV, sitting areas, writing tables and cupboards as well. We aimed to give you 5 star comfort in a boutique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Magnaura Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing