We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel for good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Meretto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Meretto Hotel
Ranked #443 of 1,031 Istanbul B&B and Inns
prague
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice hotel for good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

spend a few nights there this november. room is cosy and stylish with all the equipment you might need during your stay. complimentary tea/coffee set is nice. hotel is located in a busy district full of shops and restaurant so you'll never be boring.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Dvorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
11
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is located near Aksaray metro station which is only 4 stations from the most visited tourist attractions. Rooms are perfectly clean,have new equipment and furniture but they are very small and don't have enogh space for moveing in it.
I will not recomend for travelers who will come to Istanbul with their own car beacuse the nearest privte parking is about 800 meters (if you are lucky to find free space) and you have to carry your bags which i personaly found very difficult and isn't acceptable for this type of hotel.
Wi-fi connection is free and is covered in every parth of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Igor I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Located very close to Aksaray metro station (line to the airport and the Expo Center).
Aksaray area is a colorful, Asian neighborhood, full of street merchants.
Taksim square is just 10 minutes driving if there is no traffic.

The room (309) was not spacious, but ok for one person.

Everything is brand new and nicely designed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giwrgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Planning our visit to Istanbul we found Meretto hotel. Description seemed promising (comfort location in Aksaray close to Lalely, tram and not so far from metro, sauna and pool in hotel), and price not so high but reviewers wrote about not friendly personnel so we decided to make 2 reservations to cancel the second in case the hotel could be really not so good. What can I say now after our visit: Meretto is really nice hotel with adequate personal. The room was quiet, bed comfortable, nice clean bathroom, compact but enough to swim after long walking day pool, good breakfast (much better than ordinary breakfast in city hotel). Absolutely no problems with personal. Even if one of them cannot speak or understand English well another one come to help (by the way, this is Turkey, not UK, so they just not have to speak English perfectly but some of them do). In case visit Istanbul again and need to stay in Aksaray, we will stay in Meretto again, with no doubt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Batlapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

The Meretto facade looks elegant at night. That's when we arrived at this hotel.
We were welcomed by men in black. They were all men dressed in black.
It felt like meeting the men from 'The Godfathers'.
They were not friendly at all. They wanted us to leave our passports and to get our receipt on the next day. We waited till they got the information from our passports. We didn't get our 2 euros change the next day. We missed our breakfast on the first day, receptionists said we can have breakfast for $10. We placed the do not disturb sign outside our door when we went back in shortly from breakfast. We were getting our things from the safe when the housekeeping staff entered and went to the toilet to do the cleaning. Although we said we will be ready in a few minutes and the dnd sign was at the door. Could it be just a miscommunication since the lady didn't speak English?

On our second day, we realized we didn't miss much on the previous day's breakfast.
The cook was eating inside the restaurant when we entered. He just observed us while we took our food. There was no bread toaster around. Some food was not fresh.
Coffee was very good.
Nobody served. It was like having a buffet breakfast in a cafeteria with new and nice furnitures. A few minutes later, two of their housekeeping staff took some coffee too.
There was bread (normal bread and Turkish bread with sesame seeds--very delicious), nutella, cheese, butter, cereals, apples, assorted cold cuts, apple and orange juice from the machine. The two paintings inside the restaurant didn't fit in.

Swimming pool was small but cozy.
Wifi connection was fast.
Room furnitures were new. I like their comfortable bed.
Cleanliness is okay, but the housekeeping staff did not seem to observe 'the do not disturb' sign. On our last day, we placed the do not disturb sign outside the door again. When we came back, the housekeeping staff left our hotel room door open while our things were inside
and they were cleaning the room next to ours. I was having a Skype meeting in the lobby when
one of their 'Godfather looking receptionist' interrupted me and told me that we have to vacate our room. We were suppose to have a late check in at 2pm, as we advised two of their receptionists. There was obviously no coordination between housekeeping and the reception.
Overall, hotel facilities and amenities were good, but their staff obviously need some training.
Hotel location is 15-20 minutes away from Hagia Sophia, but quite central.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rain028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

New hotel, very close to the tram station Lalita. Everything is new, with nice and spaces rooms. Breakfast is quite rich. The SPA with indoor swimming pool and hammam is small but well organized and clean. The staff is very friendly, unfortunately their English is not so fluent, but at completely disposal of the guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GIULIA2772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#80 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Glorious Istanbul Hotel
Glorious Istanbul Hotel
#436 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Hotel Istanbul Trend
#910 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Misa Hotel
Misa Hotel
#507 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Aspen Hotel
#1,015 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Grand Asiyan Hotel
#655 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meretto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meretto Hotel

Property: The Meretto Hotel
Address: Kemalpasa Mah. Selimpasa Sok. No: 25-27 | Laleli -Fatih, Istanbul 34780, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #443 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Meretto Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Meretto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing