We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only a roof for the night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old City Sultanahmet
Ranked #398 of 1,113 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is not worth 50 euro per nite,big deal before finding it.For this price you will get better deal not worth paying this money.This owner/staff was very cheeky for the payment,they were supposed to charge via bank but never took the money,at our arrival we were ask to pay after knowing they didn't charge,I ask him to take from bank as I use online a lot,I know it can be done,but he was dying to get cash just to escape his charges,he even said using his debit machine will cost extra charge on 10 lira...It's not fair when we had everything plan. After completing the entry we were not even asked for a coffee or tea,we arrive quite early as our flight was early,we were expected to get the room early after a long night on the airport,but the man made sure he don't allow us early in,after waiting 3 hour we got our room with the view which was garbage bin,and the Terrance which y I book was an emergency exit....the breakfast was barely nothing,you will get bread,3 type of olives,3 cheese,1 chicken slice and some biscuit with loads of sugar to get diabetes....the views is only the top of the blue mosque you can see and the sea,not much exciting.
I can't denied it's well in the centre and close to the tram,but there are lots of good hotel around make sure you check out well.soaps are not refillable. It's quiet a steep to go up and down the road.its not worth 200 lira for sure

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Holidaymarkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 144 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

Room was small but clean and accessible by a small lift. Restaurant is on 6th floor with decent breakfast spread and beautiful view of the marmara sea. The hotel is about 2 mins walk to Cembelitas tram station and the main street but quiet at night and 5 mins walk to major attractions like Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. Amazingly friendly and helpful staffs. Value for money and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the sea view at level 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wyew5125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was an excellent value for money accommodation in a perfect location for exploring the city. Clean and simple with regular housekeeping. It is situated in a quiet street just off the main street and only a 5 min walk from the Blue Mosque and other attractions. The Turkish breakfast was delicious and served in the roof top terrace with excellent views over the Bosphorus. The staff were extremely helpful and gave us a map and directions to various places.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sueypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The staff at this hotel are amazing and went above and beyond to assist me when I needed their help the most. I arrived to Turkey as my first stop on a 4 week trip and to my disappointment the airline had lost my luggage. Upon arriving at Old City Hotel I explained my situation to the helpful manager Baran. He called the airline for me everyday to chase up on the luggage and provided me with an update everytime he called. It took the airline 2 weeks to find my luggage and they found it long after I left Turkey. Baran called the airline every day twice a day even after I left to check up on the status of the luggage and let me know what was happening. He was the only reason I was able to know what was happening because the airline was shocking to deal with and it was lucky that he was able to speak in Turkish to the airline and let me know exactly what was happening. I will never forget how helpful and amazing the staff was towards me and how much he went above and beyond to assist me. Other than the amazing service the room was very spacious, well stocked and we felt very safe knowing we could ask for help from the staff at any time. I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone as you will be in the best hands with the best staff!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazzaaa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

As a number of reviewers mention, the staff here are excellent. In all truth, they need to be because the hotel is adequate at best despite a good location. To say the rooms are small is an understatement - the sea facing ones are miniscule and it would be difficult for two people with any luggage to be in there. The others are just slightly bigger and with bags in are cosy. The wifi is free, but barely functioning. In our room the toilet leaked incessantly. The sleep quality was average at best, small framed beds and poor light control not helping. Breakfast comes with a view but a very basic set of smorgasboard offerings, some of which appear the next day if unused. It is a tribute to the great staffhat they can have people tolerate all this: they are kind, helpful, friendly and outgoing. Well done staff

Room Tip: If you really want a sea facing room, travel light. If you have a bit of baggage, choose a non-view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brians1195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

this is not a luxury hotel...but the beds are firm and clean, the shower works, air conditioning works.... bathroom might be a bit tight for the traditionally built, breakfast is fine and lovely views from the breakfast room. And you are five/ten minutes stroll from everything. Wouldn't try the cafes either side, but the shop next door has water and coke and biscuits etc. Very convenient for Hotel Pierreloti Roof Bar. Happy to recommend for a holiday where you just want to sleep at the hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andypandyConsett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel provided great service and was quite comfortable for our 3 night stay. Our room view was quite special as we had a splendid view of the sea and the roof of the Sultanahmet Cami (The Blue Mosque). all the major attractions (Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Ayasofia) of the old town are within walkin distance. We would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are with a view to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daaride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#105 of 1,175 in Istanbul
2,735 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#841 of 1,175 in Istanbul
629 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#85 of 1,175 in Istanbul
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,175 in Istanbul
3,178 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#19 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,839 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#69 of 1,175 in Istanbul
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old City Sultanahmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City Sultanahmet

Address: Emin Sinan Mahallesi Piyerloti Caddesi #41 | Cemberlitas/Old City/Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #398 of 1,113 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $22 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old City Sultanahmet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old City Sultanahmet Hotel welcomes you with modern, clean and comfortable 18 rooms, Located at the heart of Istanbul's historical peninsula once was named as; Byzantium, Nova Rome, Constantinople, "Konstantinopolis, Dersaadet and Istanbul and with views of two of the most magnificent masterpieces of world architecture, Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, Old City Sultanahmet Hotel offers a unique experience to the guests. It is in the center of the Old City, within walking distance of most of the major sites such as Topkapi Palace, Archaeology Museum, St. Irene Church, Sultanahmet Square, Grand Bazaar, Egyptian Bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Old City Sultanahmet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing