We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Hotel and Friendlist Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old City Sultanahmet
Ranked #335 of 1,031 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint Hotel and Friendlist Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is situated not far off the main street of the tourist area of Sultanahmet - about a 5 minute walk from a tram stop. It is a short stroll to the Grand Bazaar, several Turkish baths (or Hamams as they call them), the Blue Mosque and the fabulous restarants of Sultanahmet. The staff are very friendly and honest (we overpaid for our airport transfers and they returned the overpaid amount upon discovering the mistake.) The room was clean and bright, the bathroom - although small - was clean and the shower hot and strong... Very important to a weary traveller!! One of the staff walked us to the Turkish bath to ensure we found it. I highly recommend this hotel and the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieFromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    27
    6
    12
    19
See reviews for
37
40
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great Value for money. It is a great location, not a far walk to the Grand Bazaar or the Blue Mosque. Fair enough away from the hustle and bustle but still in a lively area.

Room was great. The breakfast room is amazing with a stunning view and great food. The staff were unbelievably helpful. Cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlieee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

What a dissapointment when we arrived at the hotel. The positive reviews and pictures on this site about we found not to be true. Its a dated hotel, very dusty and in need of refurbishment. The rooms are very small and not enough space to open suitcases.Rooms were basic and simple and bathroom, well the toilet leaked and it didnt flush well at all and when it did, it made a whistling noise for hours. The bathroom door didnt close, the shower door broke. Very small. Small fridge in room, no kettle or anything. you can hear everything from adjacent rooms. the roof terrace is dated and dusty but beautiful views.Location is not far from a lot of things but its a small hotel and suitable for someone who is looking for a crashpad. Not child, disabled or elderly friendly.Two nice people there the cafe lady and one of the workers at the hotel but I wouldnt go back to this hotel. I can recommend hotel firoz/feroz which is in a perfect location.

Room Tip: Avoid 5th floor very noisy when breakfast begins. take kettle and iron with you as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAMILA i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I spent five fabulous days in Istanbul with my wife and ten year old son recently. Our main objective was to help our son experience history beyond the restricted view he had from his classroom. One of our prerequisites for a good place to stay was a very central location. The ideal accommodation would a comfortable to rest our weary bodies in but also be affordable.

We found our ideal base at Old City Sultanahmet. Just a short walk from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Place and the Grand Bazaar the hotel has clean compact rooms with a price tag that is very affordable. Breakfast on the rooftop watching the sun rising over the sea of Marmara is a big bonus. What sets the hotel apart is the quality of service. Led by Sinan Erdogan, the staff were attentive to all our needs introducing us to many experiences off the beaten track. It was truly a memorable experience. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank YohanAbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Old city "Sultanahmet" area has many historical / religious places:
- The Blue mosque
- Hagia Sophia
- Topkapi palace
- Grand bazaar
And many other iconic mosques & buildings.
The area has many hotels, shops and restaurants.
You have to spend at least one day exploring this area

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamadabd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
algiers
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

A nice hotel to start you visit with to Istanbul. Peaceful and very romantic. A nice overview on the Blue mosque and in the heart of the touristic zone of Sultanahmet. Kind personnel, especially Mr. Sinan Erdogan, who was very helpful. Thanks again for all

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halim-algeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmit, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Im a student who studies in england.I came to istanbul for two days and I stayed in this hotel.all of servants encounter with happyful and joyfull to their visitors.ı had a breakfeast towrds a panorama seeing the marmara sea.it has a terrace for visitors to relieve and drink.also every historical places are close to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atanurseker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
My Home Sultanahmet
#676 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#530 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#891 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fors Hotel
#576 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#454 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old City Sultanahmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City Sultanahmet

Property: Old City Sultanahmet
Address: Emin Sinan Mahallesi Piyerloti Caddesi #41 | Cemberlitas/Old City/Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old City Sultanahmet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old City Sultanahmet Hotel welcomes you with modern, clean and comfortable 18 rooms, Located at the heart of Istanbul's historical peninsula once was named as; Byzantium, Nova Rome, Constantinople, "Konstantinopolis, Dersaadet and Istanbul and with views of two of the most magnificent masterpieces of world architecture, Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, Old City Sultanahmet Hotel offers a unique experience to the guests. It is in the center of the Old City, within walking distance of most of the major sites such as Topkapi Palace, Archaeology Museum, St. Irene Church, Sultanahmet Square, Grand Bazaar, Egyptian Bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old City Sultanahmet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing