We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place in the heart of Istanbul”
Review of Oba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oba Hotel
Ranked #30 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Oba Hotel is a very good option to stay and visit beautiful Istanbul. The owner and staff is extremely helpful, and immediately made us feel at home. They arranged restaurants for us, trips in the city, transportation in private vans from and to the airport, among other tips about good places to visit. I stayed with 2 more friends in a triple room, that was very clean and comfortable, with AC, and daily mineral water for free. Finally, its location is very convenient, because it's a 10 min walk distance from the blue mosque, Ayasofia, and tram station, but in a quiet and calm neighborhood. I definitely recommend Oba Hotel to anyone that want to visit Istanbul.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 717 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

My friend and I travelled to Istanbul for the first time in September. We were pleased to have Ismail, the owner, give us the scoop on must-sees and even walked us around the corner to help us order some Turkish food since we arrived later in the evening and didn't feel like going out for a big dinner.

The rooms were clean, comfortable and had very nice bathrooms and the breakfast was good. We ordered eggs each morning. Great tasting coffee too!

Great location and close to metro line and major tourist sites in the Old City. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We (me and my wife) loved this charming place.
Placed in a uncommon area (not easy to find the first time) for hotels you can feel the old Istanbul part and observe the daily activities of the neighborood.
It's anyway very close to the Blue Mosque (5/10 minutes walking) and the others most visited spots. You can easily visit from here the whole Old Town area by walking.

Ismail, the owner and manager, is a great host. He speaks fluently english, he knows well his town and manages taxi transfers, boat cruises etc... So just ask him for any information and he will help you.
His wife and the rest of the staff are all very nice.

The hotel is very cute. Small and quite. All aspects are well designed and rooms are clean and well equipped. We felt at home.

Unfortunatly there's no view and the washing-car nearby is not the most suitable thing to have close.
But, as told, staying at Oba Hotel you can live the daily life of the area.
Totally recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilbiglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

absolutely excellent staff, very considerate household, who can speak perfect English, which is a precious treasury in Istanbul --90% of citizens cannot speak English; the location of the hotel is good since it is only 8 min walk to blue mosque and sophia church. as for the room itself, very clean, big double bed, luxury lights, making it like your home. by the way, facilities are new and easy to use, I am sure I will visit Istanbul with my wife and my whole family and stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xingkongwuyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Oba hotel was a wonderful surprise for us. It is situated in the very heart of the old city, almost next to the outstanding Sokollu camii (UNESCO monument) and less than 10 minutes walk to Sultanahmet metro station, Hagia Sophia and Top Kapi palace. Nevertheless, being the only hotel in the street it is unexpectedly quite. We had a comfortable room, furnished with style, with a nice and spacious bathroom, a real shelter after a tiring day's walk in a city full of life and action. The building is a typical Turkish mansion, wonderfully restored, situated in a picturesque neighbourhood. Owners and staff are so helpful and polite that they made us feel among friends from the very first moment. And last but not least, the breakfast... what an experience! There are traditional and continental dishes, with a little daily surprise, the best start for a day full of new experiences. We shall definitely stay there again, and we undoubtedly recommend it. (Sofia and Petros from Greece)

Room Tip: Maybe rooms in second floor are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sofita00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We spent 3 night in Istanbul were absolutely stunning. The location of Oba is excellent - just a 5-minute walk to the Blue Mosque and all other historic area. The service was also far beyond our expectation - Ismail (the Owner) helped us make reservations and gave us a very detailed view of what to do and where to go and how much will cost (very resourceful and speaks very good English).
Very clean hotel and very clean room. Owner of the hotel was always around and making sure you are having a good time and ready to answer any questions.
We will diffidently plan on going there again.

Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmahfouz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

we enjoyed our stay at oba hotel very much. it's really close to sultanahmet and all the old city attractions (hagia sophia, topkapi, grand bazar, suleymanye mosque (which i recommend much more than sultanahmet). The room was very nice (alas, no lift, but it was not a problem for us). everything was very clean and neat. we felt like home and the owner was a real friendly host. he recommended lots of things to do and visit. breakfast was served everyday on the ground floor hall, and was generally good, even though, it could be improved ;)
It's a bit hard to find though, we had to show the driver the map, and on the outside there was no hotel sign, just a travel agency sign. a small sign with the name of the hotel, wouldn't hurt :)
all in all, a very nice experience, and a place i would strongly recommend

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serbesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,171 in Istanbul
1,823 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#26 of 1,171 in Istanbul
856 reviews
Sultanahmet
Saba Sultan Hotel
Saba Sultan Hotel
#31 of 1,171 in Istanbul
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#7 of 1,171 in Istanbul
1,034 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#35 of 1,171 in Istanbul
762 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#17 of 1,171 in Istanbul
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oba Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mh. Ozbekler Sk. No.26 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $28 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oba Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Oba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing