We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oba Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sirkeci Mansion(Istanbul)
$180
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
$155
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$506
$405
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
$237
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$420
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$121
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (723)
Filter reviews
723 results
Traveler rating
582
122
13
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
582
122
13
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsottoman houseold cityblue mosquehotel ownergreat hoststurkeyhagia sophiano liftsmall hotela great place to staybottled watersultanahmet districtcall to prayerspent nightsgrand bazaarhome away from homewalking distance
Filter
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 723 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We spent 3 night in Istanbul were absolutely stunning. The location of Oba is excellent - just a 5-minute walk to the Blue Mosque and all other historic area. The service was also far beyond our expectation - Ismail (the Owner) helped us make reservations and gave us a very detailed view of what to do and where to go and how much will cost (very resourceful and speaks very good English).
Very clean hotel and very clean room. Owner of the hotel was always around and making sure you are having a good time and ready to answer any questions.
We will diffidently plan on going there again.

Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmahfouz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

we enjoyed our stay at oba hotel very much. it's really close to sultanahmet and all the old city attractions (hagia sophia, topkapi, grand bazar, suleymanye mosque (which i recommend much more than sultanahmet). The room was very nice (alas, no lift, but it was not a problem for us). everything was very clean and neat. we felt like home and the owner was a real friendly host. he recommended lots of things to do and visit. breakfast was served everyday on the ground floor hall, and was generally good, even though, it could be improved ;)
It's a bit hard to find though, we had to show the driver the map, and on the outside there was no hotel sign, just a travel agency sign. a small sign with the name of the hotel, wouldn't hurt :)
all in all, a very nice experience, and a place i would strongly recommend

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serbesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel, with my family and our friends in the middle of august (4 days). What can I say? I'll start with the owners: Tulay and Ismail. At any time be it early morning or in the middle of the night they was there to help us.
We arrived at midday - outside, the temp was 40 degrees. But in the hotel was cool, and they greeted us with cold water, juice and sweets. They gave us a all the info we need, a tram card to use - unfortunately I forgot it to me, but I'll get back soon :)) -, free water every daily, free WiFi and advised us for everything we needed in our trip.
First time, we stayed in a triple room on ground floor. Room was large, beautifully arranged in Ottoman style, with a double large bad and a sofa for our son. The first night I slept very well, but the second night, the neighbors above probably they tried a new dancing figure in Turkish style and we woke up - the hotel was an old wooden Ottoman house which has been renovated. Tulay, made changes on next morning and we moved in a room on the second floor - thanks again Tulay. Room was large, nicely furnished, beds were very large and good, a flat screen TV, several chairs, minibar, electric kettle, so on.
The breakfast was amazing and fresh with everything you could think of including hot pastries with cheese, omletes, eggs, crepes and stuffed vines and amazing home made jams and cakes, fruit, cheeses, cold meats dried fruits, juices and cereals. Something different every day!!!
The hotel is just a short walk from the Hippodrome and all the main sites are within walking distance: Blue Mosque, Cistern Basilica, Topkapi Palace and Agia Sofia. Close to the tram line and within walking distance to Grand Bazzar
We loved this place and definetly we love Tulay and Ismail. We felt like home! Amazing!
Thank you Tulay, thank you Ismail (next time we'll talk more about tricycle)!
Thank you for all! Definetly we will return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoruP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hotel Oba is a great hotel. The breakfast is really good, the room is very pretty and very comfortable, the staff are extremely helpful and do everything possible to make your stay perfect. The hotel is just a short walk from the hippodrome (including a very steep hill) and all the main sites are within walking distance. The hotel is very clean and very good value for money. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

After not being able to make a decision on some of the top rated hotels on trip advisor we came across Oba completely by chance through booking a goturkey tour over the internet to Ephesus. The company ran this hotel and suggested it as another option. As the price was half the price of the other hotels and we wanted to go on a few tours we booked Oba. So glad we made this choice! The personalised service whenever you need it, is the best I have ever experienced on all my travels. If you want to know where to go and how to travel this is the place to choose. At any time be it early morning or in the middle of the night the owners are their to help you. They gave us a tram card to use, helped my friend book the turkish baths, phoned us with wake up calls, gave us extra pillows, free water every day in the room, offered us drinks every time we entered, free access to internet and wiifi, packed us cake for trips, turkish delight and advise on everything we needed, they will also change money for you at the going rate. When i needed a chemist they even offered to get me the medication i needed!
We stayed in an upstairs room which was large and quiet and had great air conditioning its an old wooden Ottoman house which has been renovated so don't expect to find a lift as it is a house. The beds were firm and it had a safe in the wardrobe. Great shower and water pressure! I dont sleep well when I'm away so cant comment fairly on this aspect.
The breakfast was amazing and fresh with everything you could think of including hot pastries with cheese, omlettes, eggs, crepes and stuffed vines and amazing home made jams and cakes, fruit, cheeses, cold meats dried fruits, juices and cereals. Something different every day! We always looked forward to our breakfast.
I really liked the location as you are in a residential area infront of a small mosque and its quiet, calm and very friendly, no cars can drive on this street. On my last morning I watched an old lady throw a rope out of her top storey home and a neighbour attached fresh bread and hoisted it up. At night when its cooler you see a couple of families sitting out on their steps catching up with each other. The walk up to the old part of town to the blue mosque, cistern was very short about 5 minutes to the hustle and bustle. It is uphill on a cobbled road which would be problematic for those with mobility issues but otherwise very close to the major attractions. I loved this place, we only had four full days and we experienced so much in this time with thanks to goturkey tours. You felt as if you were part of an extended family and felt safe. Amazing.
Thank you to Oba and for all your help and the top rate service! From Carmen. x

Room Tip: The house is wooden so its a little creaky. We stayed in number 403 on the top floor twin room, great bathroom, spacious with a view onto the back of the mosque and happy seagulls!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizCathy, Owner at Oba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Carmen,

Thank you so much for your nice thoughts about our hotel/your home in Istanbul.
Awesome review!

We will try to do our best with our guests supports.
We are glad to know many people all around the world.
Some of our guests come here few times in a year, we miss them when they are away.
We try to be friends and chat with our guests during their stay. We really enjoy every moment.

Thank you for smiling every moment that we look each other during your stay.

Cheers,

Tulay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews