We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely would recommend this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oba Hotel
Ranked #27 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definitely would recommend this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were only able to stay one night here this time, but the owners were very friendly, the hotel was lovely, clean and comfortable, and breakfast was delicious. We hope to make it back to Istanbul and if so, would gladly select this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaltimoreTraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizCathy, Owner at Oba Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you,

Hope to see you again here...

Tulay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    118
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
158
305
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

It was a nice surprise to enter this family hotel, well located in the old part of Istanbul, walking distance from the main places. Very quiet although located nearby a Mosque but this was very pleasant to listen too as well ! More than a Hotel, this is a friendly place where you feel at home with nice people and a proactive team to make your stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizCathy, Owner at Oba Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much Sabine.

We hope to welcome you guys again in your home in Istanbul: at OBA.

Regards for your husband and you...

Tulay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
703 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Spent three nights here (room 201) on a recent trip to Istanbul. Hotel is small (and a little difficult to find), in a nicely restored house in Sultanahmet. Owners have experience in the travel/hotel business in the U.S. and it shows in some small but telling ways (e.g., French toast for breakfast one morning, which was a nice break from the norm). Our room was large, nicely furnished, with a flat screen TV, wonderfully large/firm bed, several chairs.

Downsides: bathroom was ridiculously small, not even large enough to open the door fully; shower leaked badly, flooding the bathroom floor and staining the (nicely) polished wood floor of the bedroom; little sound insulation (so we could hear our upstairs neighbors all too well); and (though it's certainly not the hotel's fault) there was serious construction on the street right outside our window that went on until well past midnight our last night ... making a good sleep before the early a.m. flight home all but impossible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMOverby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizCathy, Owner at Oba Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are aware of the shower. We ordered the half shower glass. But it takes time; it will come
within few days.

The room is a nice and large one. Some of our rooms has small bath but large space in room. That room is like that. But some of our guests loved staying there. And they asked for the same one for further stay.

As you know, it a wooden house because of that we have a little bit isolation problem.
We still search for a resolution but without a renovation again we may not solve it.

Sorry about the neighbor construction noise. We and others warned them and complained about it.

Here, with cleaning, breakfast and all of services, we try to do our best to feel our guests happy and comfy.

With your helps, we will go better and better.

Thank you for your understanding,
Regards,
Tulay AYDIN CALISKAN
(Mrs.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The three days & two nights spent in Istanbul were absolutely stunning. The location of Oba is superb - just a 5-minute walk to the lively Blue Mosque; however, it has still managed to get remarkable peace out of the active old city. The service was also far beyond our expectation - Mrs. Tulay helped us make the reservation of our intercity bus and our Bosphorus Cruise and offered nearly all ranges of information about almost everything. Talking to Mr. Tulay, who constantly offered us yummy drinks, was extremely interesting with his insightful views about Turkey haha... Thank you guys!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizCathy, Manager at Oba Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We are happy to meet you guys.

Hope to serve you again....

Thank you for your review.

Tulay AYDIN CALISKAN
(Mrs.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel was very close to all the major sites in Sultanahmet. Staff were very helpful and looked after us well. Could not fault it. Great for a budget place. We would not hesitate to stay here again if we returned to Istanbul. Thanks, Ismail and team.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Small_Cute_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizCathy, Owner at Oba Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for your nice review.

We hope to welcome you/your friends&family in the near future.

Please get in touch directly for reasonable prices at hotel or tours and helps/informtaion about Turkey:

info@obahotel.com
info@goturkeytours.com
info@istanbulbosphoruscruise.com

Oba Hotel
Osse Tours
Tulay AYDIN CALISKAN
(Mrs.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great B&B right in the heart of the old city (5-8 min. walk to many of the major sites). The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean, nicely furnished, and well decorated. Wifi was free and fast. Breakfast was good. i highly recommend the Oba Hotel if you are looking for a place in Sultanahmet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bangla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

It's a very nice little hotel near the most famous places of Istanbul, but the area is not too much touristic, so it give you also the opportunity to see the real life of Istanbul. We spent there a week and we enjoyed it a lot. The staff was very kind and friendly and the owner gave us many usefull advices about restaurants and places to visit. The only problem may be the poor sound isolation (you can hear some noise from the street and singing of the muezzin early in the morning). The breakfast was fine (cheese, ham, homemade jams, some fruits, bread and cornflakes, tee and coffee), but no brioches or patisserie (that would make it perfect!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galantirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizCathy, Owner at Oba Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hello Irina,

Thank you for your nice review.

We are glad to meet and serve you.

Everyday we have different cake and cookies (salty).
And it hot pan, every day we different things, such as menemen, scrambled eggs or boiled eggs, boreks, doughts, tea breads, sort of cookies etc. All of them are home made by our staff and me. :)

It is bizarre that you did not have.

Hope to serve you again....

Tulay AYDIN CALISKAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#34 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#44 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#21 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#31 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oba Hotel

Property: Oba Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mh. Ozbekler Sk. No.26 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oba Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Oba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing