We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely friendly, outstanding helpful, perfect location, nice rooms - real value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elanaz Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #8 of 1,047 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich area, Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Extremely friendly, outstanding helpful, perfect location, nice rooms – real value for money”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Hotel Elanaz is comfortably situated right in the center of ancient Istanbul next to “Sirkeci” train station. Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace are located within foot walking distance.

On our arrival we got lost in the maze of Sirkeci. We called the Hotel Elanaz for directions, instead of explaining they sent someone to pick us up. Being welcomed with tea and lots of advice for our sightseeing program made us feel at home at once.

The rooms are rather small, very clean, modern and stylish. Take the Bosporus view rooms: You will get a nice view on the Golden Horn and the Bosporus. We are a family of four and got the two only rooms on level 5. We felt like living in a small apartment. It is not the quietest place, but hey what do you expect in the middle of the historic town?

Breakfast is delicious and substantial – and is served until 10.30 (!).

Mr. and Mrs. Gökmen, the general managers, both speaking German and English fluently, were extremely kind and helpful at all times. So for example Mr. Gökmen helped us avoid the cue in front of the ticket box of the Hagia Sophia by ordering the tickets via internet. The rest of the staff of Hotel Elanaz was very considerate and friendly too.

We enjoyed every minute of our stay at the Elanaz.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dichterdran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    46
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
65
178
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
447 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We loved the Elanaz for its size and personal service from each and every staff member and manager. From arrival to late check out everyone went out of their way to help make our stay memorable, opening doors, fetching tea, providing useful information and loaning things such as guide books and an Istanbul pass for public transport.
The location is excellent, five minutes from the main sights of the Historic Peninsula, trains, trams, ferries and buses but there are dozens of hotels nearby so this is not unique. What is unique is the quality of the accommodation and breakfast, the cleanliness, and the people.
You do not expect to get a mini bar, branded toiletries/ note paper/ pencil/ maps/ bath robe/ slippers in small establishments like this but at the Elanaz they have thought of everything.
The only downside which is outside the control of the hotel is the construction work nearby which brought cement mixers down the street until late at night. When this is complete the street should be quite quiet at night.
We would recommend this hotel most highly and can't imagine ever going elsewhere if we returned to Istanbul.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laNyonsaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Very helpful staff. Made our Istanbul Trip. Great comfortable, value hotel at a Perfect location. The only gripe may be the size, but there is good space management. Environment respect there too. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RastogiRishav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Elanaz Hotel for 6 days with our 2-year-old son and could not have asked for a better experience. We had many wonderful chats with the lobby staff over fresh-brewed Turkish tea and coffee in the comfortable chairs at the rear of the lobby; the staff were genuine, warm, and had a ton of great recommendations for child-friendly activities (including visiting the Istanbul Aquarium). The cleaning lady, who is also the breakfast lady and provides a superb breaksfast, was super sweet and extra loving (as was the rest of the staff) toward our son.

Our room was on the top floor and had a partial view of the Bosphorus: flooded with light, very spacious, extra bed for our son, large bathroom, plenty of surfaces on which to put our belongings, and great closet space. One reviewer suggested hanging a hook or two on the door: I like that idea.

There is a little convenience store right across from the hotel, which we frequented every night. My husband also went to the barbershop across the street and liked it.
In addition to the service, the location cannot be beat: close to the tram, to Hafiz Mustafa for sweets/coffee/tea, the sights are all within walking distance.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlejandraSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall, england
Level Contributor
183 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Like other reviewers, we booked the Elanaz Hotel in Istanbul having seen other feedback on Tripadvisor. Nevertheless I remained a little skeptical that a hotel could be so perfect. As new visitors to Istanbul we opted for the offer of airport transport, straight to the hotel. Organised by, but separate from the hotel management. Our holiday went like a dream from the outset. The car was there to pick us up and dropped us at The Elanaz. Staff and management were just as others describe. Friendly, efficient and without doubt go that extra mile to be of assistance and sort out any issues. Fantastic, thank you. Breakfast was plentiful and varied. This is not a hotel for those in need of vast lobbies and the faceless efficiency of large, chain hotels. The Elanaz is bijou, modern, clean and extremely efficient. We don't need anything more when most of our time is spent sightseeing around this fascinating City, the hotel being ideally situated for this either on foot or local transport (great tram system). It goes without saying that we would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our Bosphorous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 622billy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The human touch of the small hotel in the centre of the old city gives a wonderful high quality feeling. Next to a tram station, 5 minutes walk from the main mosques. Lovely breakfast, nice rooms, superior service and information to the guests

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kees S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My sister and I had a great time at the Elanaz Hotel. The staff at the Elanaz exemplifies great customer service. The staff was helpful, accommodating and solicitous. The room was comfortable and clean. I received heart shaped cookies and a flower for Valentine's Day. Breakfast was good, fresh and had variety. I enjoyed crepes, waffles, orange juice and homemade pastries just to name a few items.

The customer service at the Elanaz is genuine. After booking my reservation, I had a change to my travel plans. The company that I booked my hotel reservation through was not very helpful in modifying my reservation after I missed the cut off date for changes or modification. I contacted the Elanaz Hotel via email directly and communicated with Mr. H. Erdem Gökmen. He was gracious and kind. Although he was not obligated to, he sold the dates that I no longer needed and saved me money for nights that I would no longer be staying at the hotel.

I am so glad that I was able to stay at their hotel at the beginning and end of my trip. Staying at the Elanaz Hotel was the best accommodations that was encountered during my vacation! They are a short distance from the tram, the water, shopping and many restaurants.

I would gladly stay here again.

Job well done!

Thank you, from Valerie and Rosemary.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor and experienced very little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vbkny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#6 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,963 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,893 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,041 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,141 in Istanbul
3,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elanaz Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elanaz Hotel Istanbul

Property: Elanaz Hotel Istanbul
Address: Orhaniye Cad. No. 34, Sirkeci, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 1,047 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elanaz Hotel Istanbul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elanaz Hotel is a family hotel in the heart of the old town İstanbul. It offers a very warm athmosphere with a boutique touch. You can enjoy your stay with a beautiful view of the old city and Bosphorus. You may drink your coffee with homemade pastries. Elanaz is different because it is built and designed with elegant taste for your precious time spent in Istanbul. It is different because its only concern is to make you to look forward to your next visit. With our turquise hospitality, we are here to welcome you in our hotel. We are family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Elanaz Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing