We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Letter of complaint not responded by Hotel Manager”
Review of Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Opera Hotel
Ranked #107 of 1,050 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Letter of complaint not responded by Hotel Manager”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Letter of complaint not responded by Hotel Manager!!

Dear Tamer Cansever,

We are writing to lodge a formal complaint about our stay at your hotel. We have just returned from holiday and Istanbul was one of our destination where we were guest at your hotel.

We are frequent travellers and hold privilege cards with the major reputed hotel chains. But our most recent stay at your property turned out to be a nightmarish experience as we were treated with utter disrespect and we are deciding to take this matter to the various federation of Hotels and resorts if required.

We checked in on 25Th December at 8 pm, intending to stay for 4 nights and presuming that the room would be cleaned and ready for our check in, but this was not the case. The room had a very bad smell/odour and the sheets had strands of hair on them. We requested for a room change and the room shown to us were either smaller or the beds could not be joined together. The receptionist (after repeated) requests sent the house keeping an hour later to spray an awful and unhealthy spray on to the air conditioning vent which left us with a nausea and feeling breathlessness all night.

Upon reporting the matter to Engin Yilmaz the next day, we were given another room and were told that it is a larger and ‘upgraded’ room with no bad smells and odours. We requested to check out but Engin apologized for our inconvenience on the first night and stated that he would check with yourself about having our first night waved off. He did not get back to us on this and we are adamant that this has to be refunded as we do not expect this level of service from a boutique hotel such as yours.

During our entire stay we requested to speak with you but none of your hotel staff was willing to put us through to you, stating that you are busy.Please do get back to us on how you would like to take this matter. We are yet to post reviews about your hotel to tripadvisor.com,lastminute.com, booking.com, hotels.com and the rest of the review sites based here in the U.K.

I have attached pictures of the hair we found in the bed.

Thanks,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pavankr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    77
    28
    7
    15
See reviews for
21
86
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed in this hotel last week for 7 nights with my wife, we have had a very good experience with the Front Disk Staff, they were so kind and helpful specially one staff called Mohammad.
The rooms are well decorated and the view is nice overlooking the Phosphor, but there are some points has disappoint us totally. I can conclude it on the following 5 points:
1-Room service never made their job perfectly, one day they forgot to replace the bathrobe although it was on the bathroom floor and they never replace it till we departed the hotel. Then on next day they forgot to return the trash bins on their right place so when we entered the room we thought that some kids was playing with the bins.
2-We was not able to use the balcony chairs since it was too dusty along with the table. I have reported this to the house keeping from day 2 but no one has made any thing.
3-Our room was designed to have in connecting door and it was locked all the time and the next room to us was occupied by 2 families on 2 deferent time, but unfortunately we was able to hear their breath even since there was no sound protection.
4-The breakfast was included to our holiday package and the daily breakfast time was from 07:00 to 10:00 but the kitchen staff was starting to collect the buffet items from 09:55 without any excuse even the pot you are scooping from!!
At the end I can say that I feel sorry for the owner since he decorated his hotel in a very modern boutique style but the service is lower than the expected one.
Four star feels like 3..

Khalid Yousuf

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BinKally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent our honeymoon here and splashed out on the queens room with spa bath over looking stunning views of the Bosphorous river. We could not fault the room other then an overpowering smell that either came from the drains or air conditioning system. After 5 minutes in the room we got used to the smell and it was always immaculately clean so we didn't complain.
The location is fantastic if you are young and fit like us and keen to explore everywhere by foot! We turned left out of the hotel one day for the old city and the next day turned right and explored the Bospherous bridge and Dolmbache Palace.
The Topaz restaurant is only a stones throw from this hotel and is well worth a visit if you want to splash out on a fancy meal.
Finally, if you plan to stay in the Opera Hotel, splash out on the queens room for breath taking views from both the balcony and spa bath but maybe pack a nice smelly candle to disguise the room smell.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thirtycountriesby30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay . The hotel was cosy and clean, the beds very comfortable, staff were very nice and helpfull , the breakfast was excellent , the view was fantastic. The location superb . We shall stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gztn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

by this beautifully located hotel nearby Taksim square in Istanbul, they don't succeed in giving high quality service as it is supposed to be given paying €250 per night. Unbearable stinky rooms(we have slept with fully open windows the three nights), not well cleaned and general unkind approach by the staff. The only surprise is the SPA which saved our stay there, super comfortable matress and the STUNNING view over the BOSPHORUS...amazing!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivalitalia69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I discovered this hotel for a recent business trip to Istanbul. It's definitely a gem near Taksim Square. The hotel is small, which is great because the lobby was never too busy. My room was comfortable and clean - small, but enough room to move around.

Breakfast was OK, but the location more than makes up for this. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from Taksim Square and Istiklal Caddesi, a busy street known for its shops and restaurants.

The fitness centre at this hotel is also fantastic!! I was definitely impressed and will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenAsh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A friend and I recently did a stopover in Istanbul on the way home from climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro. We chose the Opera Hotel for its modern look and great location near Taksim Square. This newly remodeled hotel did not disappoint. Although the lobby areas were a bit dark/gloomy, the rooms and other public spaces were spacious, sleek, and comfortable. Staff members were professional, helpful, and had a good command of the English language. We were upgraded at no charge to a corner room with excellent views of the Bosphorous. Particularly given the reasonable price paid, I would highly recommend the Opera Hotel and would not hesitate to stay here again on any future trip to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Bosphorus are best, particularly on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Mercure Istanbul Taksim
Mercure Istanbul Taksim
#80 of 1,147 in Istanbul
685 reviews
Beyoglu
InnPera Hotel
InnPera Hotel
#505 of 1,147 in Istanbul
342 reviews
Beyoglu
CVK Park Bosphorus Hotel Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Nidya Hotel Galataport
Nidya Hotel Galataport
#333 of 1,147 in Istanbul
226 reviews
Beyoglu
CVK Hotels Taksim
CVK Hotels Taksim
#353 of 1,147 in Istanbul
363 reviews
Beyoglu
Ramada Istanbul Taksim
Ramada Istanbul Taksim
#308 of 1,147 in Istanbul
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Hotel

Property: Opera Hotel
Address: Inonu Cad. No: 26 | Gumussuyu, Taksim, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 1,050 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We appreciate to introduce to you our Opera Hotel, which was put into service on 2011 in Taksim – Istanbul and has present Skyview Lounge Bar & Restaurant in its terrace and Mozart Restaurant in the lobby floor within. We expect you to our Skyview Lounge Bar & Restaurant for unforgettable birthdays, elegant & boutique wedding ceremonies and cocktails.In Skyview Restaurant Lounge Bar & Restaurant, we like to change day by day: our Saturday Jazz Nights are getting to be a phenomena and the Sunday Brunch in the heart of the Bosphorus now is another resaon to wait for the weekend.Meanwhile, if you look for the comfort and elegance for your business meetings and organisations, contact our professional sales team and let’s open our doors to you!Please have a look at the pictures in the attachment and see what we offer to you in Opera Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing