We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Opera Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$383
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$107
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sultania(Istanbul)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$387
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$128
$125
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Eresin Hotels Topkapi(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$77
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$619
$448
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$178
$155
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveler rating
84
82
32
7
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
82
32
7
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaksim squarebosphorus viewqueen roomstandard roomroof restaurantnice hotelrooms are bigold townturkeystayed here for nightschoose this hotelmini barnice breakfasthotel is locatedkabatasgymterrace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 222 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed only one night but the whole experience from beginning to end was perfect. Comfortable room with good air conditioning, great staff who were extremely helpful from start to finish. Fabulous rooftop bar and view. We loved it and will definitely stay again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I arrived after a long night bus trip from Thessaloniki to the beatiful city of Istanbul. As we didn't get much sleep that night we headed straight for the hotel, hoping that although check-in was at 14:00/2 PM they would have a room for us already at 10.30 AM. The hotel is by the way located pretty close to the Taksim Square in Istanbul, also near the "main" shopping street in the city. The helpful and serviceminded girl in the reception told us that there was unfortunately no rooms ready, but that they would have one at noon ready for us. At the same time, they approached us with a cooling drinking that was just terrific as we were both very hot from the walk we had to the hotel. As we were not that eager to explore Istanbul after the long night ride, we sat down for a coffee instead. Just 20 minutes later, another staff member approaches us and tells us that there's a room ready, but that we now were upgraded. That was the first, and very best encounter we had with this hotel.

Following this encounter, we entered our room and found that some soaps/shampoo were already open (i.e. housekeeping had forgotten to replace these). Also we found stains on the bedspread, there was something broken with the drain from the shower (but it worked well) and as a couple, the sliding door to the bath room did not take consideration for needs of privacy that you still might want to have. But, to balance that a bit, everything else in the room was great - it has a stylish decoration/interior, air condition works great and so on. We had a view towards the street and not the river, so there wasn't that much to look at.

The second evening of our stay we explored the hotel's restaurant situated on the top floor. It gave an amazing view over the bosphorus, but that night winds were quite strong and as those winds made it a bit chilly, we decided to sit inside. We ordered a salad and a pasta, accompanied by sparkling water. The food was what you can expect in a considerably cheaper café, and ingredients listed on the menu in the dishes were sometimes not in the dish we got served. Taking in the prices for the food and the sparkling water as well as quality, this is not a good value for money. Service was just terrible (even with turkish standards) in every way (from being seated all the way to payment) and we noticed that we weren't the only ones to think that as another couple seemed very frustrated with the waiters as well. I would definitely not recommend this restaurant from any other standpoint than the view.

The same night as we visited the restaurant, we also thought of giving the SPA a try. 1 ½ hour before closing time, we went down there to check it out first. Nobody was in the reception, and the only staff we could identify was intensively surfing on a computer in the gym (this has been brought up in other reviews of this hotel as well). Also, the SPA area was not that inviting (we didn't check out the pool though) so we decided not to try it out.

Throughout the rest of our stay, service was just a notch better than the service in the restaurant and the SPA. It's like that first encounter maybe was a one-time thing, as the other parts of our stay did not give the same impression.

Lastly, the hotel breakfast was good, really good. Although it's a bit heavy on the sweeter side of a breakfast, it contained most things you can wish for (in a turkish hotel breakfast). Also, the breakfast area has a good view of the bosphorus if you decide to sit outside.

All in all, my feeling is that Opera Hotel either tries to be some sort of fancy and luxurious but just can't reach that, or that the hotel who once was fancy and luxurious now have started to cut back on expenses and therefore lost some of its touch. But with saying that, with the rate we were given it was still good value for the money, so if you can live by cons I've mentioned I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MagnusWr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have been one day for business trip to Istanbul and I didn't know this hotel before and you have first impression that its small hotel but actually when get inside you can have everything you need if you are looking to practical hotel, rooms are very nice and chic designed one of my favorite things that I like to have very strong water pressure in the shower and amazing view from room balcony,if you like gym you can find very good and well equipped and after long day of work you can have the best time having nice drink in the roof bar outside in the terrace with wonderful view for Istanbul at night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moudy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very pleasant hotel - it is clean, pretty, has all the luxuries and has good views particularly from the top floor restaurant. The rooms are very comfortable and the decoration is stylishly done. The breakfast buffet, which is included, is of high quality and has a strong local flavour. One piece of criticism only: the hotel does not adequately air-condition public areas (lobby, restaurant etc).

Room Tip: The higher the better for the view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danieljsmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We chose the Opera Hotel based on other reviews on tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed. We paid a little more for a room overlooking the Bosporus, and it was worth it. I sprained an ankle the first full day in Istanbul but being able to watch all the activity below helped compensate for the loss of a day. The room was large and both the room and hotel are beautifully decorated. The roof top lounge and bar are very modern and also have a terrific view. The staff were very helpful. The only criticism was the location requires a bit of walking to get to the better restaurants and sites. We did walk to Dolmabahce Palace from there.

Room Tip: Get an upper story room facing the Bosporus.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews